We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in the mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sagar Holiday Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sagar Holiday Resorts to your Saves list
Sagar Holiday Resorts
Valley View,Grand Duff Road, | Lovedale Post, Ooty 643003, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Heaven in the mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

A very well maintained and very nice property in ooty. I really liked it. The nature will give you feeling on too far from city, though it is too close from city. Kids fest too nice. Spacious rooms and restaurant has made our trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    69
    22
    5
    11
See reviews for
59
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The view from resort is really good. The rooms are well maintained. Need to work on providing quality food. Breakfast is fine. Not many options available for lunch and dinner. Overall it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

It was very great experience. The view of the mountains from the hotel is out of the world. The step valley cottages can be viewed from a long distance. If you are planning for a trip to Ooty, then it is the best place to stay.....

Room Tip: Rooms at the top will be a good option to enjoy the scenery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I went here with my parents in May 2014. We stayed for one night and took the ooty sight seeing package..They organize tours of the city... there are 3 packages...It cost us 1800 for the package, where we saw ooty lake, botanical garden in ooty and sims park, lamb rock and dolphin nose in conoor. we passed through military memorial in conoor as well.. the hotel cost us 3800 for a night for 3 of us and we stayed in room no 402.
The best part about the hotel was the amazing scenery and view from the hotel and the fact that you could see the toy train pass by from your room balcony. Each of the 36 odd rooms has a private balcony.. It's located in Valley view area of ooty, which is 3 Kms from the main ooty town.. The food was nominally priced.. And the complementary breakfast was OK (Not too many options...we had dosa, idly, vada, bread toast, coffee/tea--> this wasnt the best, so not worth a try)..They should improve on room service, but i dont have much to complain apart from that.. We longed for a coffee early in the morning, standing by our hotel room balcony and sipping hot coffee amongst the clouds is an amazing experience..:),,, Overall had a GREAT Time at this place...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The highlight of this hotel has to be the view. Each room has a balcony as big as your average room, with an unobstructed view to the valley below. In fact, you can hear (and see) the train to Coonoor chugging along along the side of the mountain. Nothing beats standing on the balcony in the morning with a hot cup of tea with the entire expanse of the valley spread out in front of you.

On the facilities, do not expect 5 star accommodation. Decent room with clean mattress and bed, good bathroom (though the walls definitely need a paint job), courteous staff and housekeeping is what you can expect. My father considered it a little expensive for the cost (3500), but my wife and daughter loved it. I guess the rating would depend on your definition for "value for money".

It is tucked away from the town, and during season, it will be a good 30 mins drive to the city, as the traffic block will start 2-3 km away from Charing cross.

Food was surprisingly good (the Indian fare, specially the coconut fried chicken), but I would give the Chinese a miss. Buffet breakfast was limited in spread, but was tasty.

Overall, look at this place if you have your own transportation, and are looking for a quiet place to relax without having too many things crammed into your itinerary.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing steps, then choose a room at nearer to the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Sagar Holiday Resorts is a little distant location from the heart of Ooty town. A place ideal for those who want to take a break from the regular hustle & bustle of life. The place presents a splendid view of the nearby mountains and the valley in front. Each room has a spacious veranda opening to the valley. Just step into a room and the view from the veranda will fascinate you.

The hotel lobby is where one can drive to, then it is a climb down to individual cottages. The cottages are built on gradients on hill.

Following is my summary of positives and not-so-positive aspects of this resort:

Positives:
- Great location and splendid view to enjoy from each room/cottage. You can shoot as many photos as you want without even stepping out of the cottage!
- Room tariffs are fairly reasonable and its worth the money.
- Room service is not extra-ordinary, but honestly decent.
- Place is quite relaxing and gives some sense of living with nature.
- Maintenance of the place is good, although there is enough room for improvement.

Areas where things could improve:
- Quality and variety of food could really improve. Considering the fact that it is a resort a distance from the heart of the city, there is no eatery nearby. One has to drive 4-5 km to reach any decent restaurant, so getting good food becomes very important inside the resort. If you are a foodie then you might end up being disappointed with the quality and variety of food served at their restaurant.
- Too many flies inside the room. During late evening, it might just appear like a menace. Keeping the doors open could be a bad idea here.
- The cat nuisance could spoil an evening party on the veranda
- Not much activity to do during the evenings.

The place is decent and I am sure most of the visitors will enjoy their stay. Expenses here are quite reasonable. This place could be ideal for honeymooners.

If they can improve the aspects like food and take care of all those flies, then I can rate it as 5/5.

Room Tip: Try getting a room at greater height. Will give a better view and will also be closer to the hotel l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We had planned our trip in November 2014 and had booked our room in another hotel. We had to cancel our trip due to some unavoidable circumstance and planned for this april, This time we booked room in sagar resort. It was a very good experience. located on a hill slope with 36 cottages with balcony and a garden below, it gives very good views of the valley and sunrise. This resort is located 3km before the city. For senior citizens, they have provided a winged lift for going up and down. rooms located near the main building will be more comfortable . If you are in rooms located near the garden you will have to climb up and down, if the lift is not working.

It is a beautiful place. Next time also, we will stay here.

Room Tip: Book rooms in the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sagar Holiday Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagar Holiday Resorts

Address: Valley View,Grand Duff Road, | Lovedale Post, Ooty 643003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sagar Holiday Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagar Holiday Hotel Ootacamund
Sagar Holiday Resorts India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagar Holiday Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.