We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage Simplicity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ooty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grange Hotel
Save
You added The Grange Hotel to your Saves list
Coonoor Road, Glanton Hall, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Heritage Simplicity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We ended up in Ooty without a Booking in the Peak Season of End May with absolutely no expectations of finding a descent Hotel Room. After hunting for an hour, we ended up at The Grange which happens to be right at the corner of the Main Circle and a 2 minute walk from the main Market area, but is surprisingly Isolated.

The Property is a Beautiful Heritage Bungalow with 16 Rooms, a few of them added recently. The owners claim it was built in 1956. Though it has been majorly revamped, it still holds its Old World Charm. with The Lavish Room sizes and Vintage Furniture and a Fireplace. We ended up taking one of the Best rooms with 2 Double Beds and a Huge Bathroom which was very comfortable for us and our 2 kids. I think its wrongly named a Hotel, considering it does not have any facilities to offer, not even a restaurant. Even the Teas and coffees can be ordered on a chargeable basis. They claim to be coming up with a restaurant soon though.

All in All a wonderful experience, Lavish Rooms & Bathrooms, Nice Staff & proximity to the main market area. For people who love to enjoy Out of the Box experiences, definitely not for those who prefer Bed Tea and a Breakfast spread.

Room Tip: Room no 104 with 2 Double Beds if you are with Kids or in a group of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This trip to ooty made a remarkable stay Excellent hospitality, rooms & services.
The rooms are very nicely furnished and in excellent condition. The rooms are well kept, bright and airy. Exceptionally good and thoroughly enjoyed the stay with my family. Most importantly you feel safe, secured & comfortable with your family in being at such type of hotel. The restaurants , Shopping centers are just in a walkabout distance.The hotel staff are polite ,calm, helpful and guide you for any shopping..
They are already working on restaurant at their premises which will be done sooner..
You would feel as though you are staying at your Home....I would always choose to stay here whenever I go to OOTY....I have visited ooty 4 times and this is my Best stay I have ever had.Thanks to the Staff and Owner Nishanth...Keep up Keep going ...will meet soon.

Room Tip: If you are more than Four Adults try choosing the Twin room were you have a Private Sit-out...dinnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Majestic beds, tasteful woodwork and attention-to-detail service is what I take back from The Grange Hotel. The name of the hotel is quite apt, with beautiful farmhouse like interiors straight out of a novel.

The property is new and the effort put in to beautify the place is there for all to see. Restaurant is yet to come up, but with the property being at a central location and with friendly room service, it did not cause us too much discomfort.

Comfortable stay, spacious layout and the soothing weather made for a truly relaxing holiday. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Different rooms available for different requirement. From rooms with furnaces to String of identical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Visited The Grange in the last week of March this year, amazing place to stay right in the heart of Ooty(2 min walk from Charring Cross). All shopping places and restaurants are at walking distance. It is also close to some famous places in Ooty like the Botanical gardens etc.

This place though located bang in the middle of Ooty has a serene and calm interior, the staff is very hospitable and the hosts are just amazing :)

They are in business from a short time and that's the reason the restaurant is not yet ready. Well that would be the only short coming of this place.

All in all whether you travel as a bunch of friends/ couples / families... everyone will surely enjoy their stay here.

Kudos!!!!

Room Tip: Carry warm clothing to Ooty, we went in the peak of summer and it was freezing there !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Address: Coonoor Road, Glanton Hall, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange. The name, which means a farmer’s bungalow, is inspired by the family’s traditional occupation – agriculture. From renovating the wooden flooring to layering the house with exceptional antiques, colourful Athangudi tiles and handcrafted stained glass from Chettinad, they have balanced the finer details of luxury with a deep sense of history. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Grange Hotel India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.