We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at glyngarth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glyngarth Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Glyngarth Villa to your Saves list
Glyngarth Villa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golf Club Road, Finger Post | Finger Post, Ooty 643005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“stay at glyngarth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

we stayed here for 3 days and enjoyed every minute of it. lots of old world charm, the wood house is newly built but doesnt seem out of place. staff is great, ready to help. nicely located away from din and hustle of the town. would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    45
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
68
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Reached ooty with peak expectations how our trip will go on.But after seeing the glyngarth i was completely fell in love with it Though it looks old, it is very good place for all types of tourists who come to ooty. very good staff, good serving and helping. Good maintainace of the hotel, both interior and exterior with good facilities.

Totally good place to hang out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

we found the place by fluke. we were on the way to Ooty looking for a good home stay. i loved it at the very first sight , the ambience was amazing.. very nostalgic. Though it was close to the city , it felt as if were way away from all the noise n the crowd. the staff took very good care , no doubt.. overall.. worth the stay ! Thanks :)

Room Tip: if you are a couple, go for the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirupur, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My visit to glyngarth was perfect.... my friend recommended the place when i planned a to visit ooty. Just booked room for one night, in a doubt in my mind. while booking they recommended wooden cottage as we were newly married couple.
When I reached it was early morning, since i travelled from Coimbatore. The room was kept ready on that time even though my checkin time was only by 12 noon. The tea they gave at the time of arrival was very welcoming it took of the travel tiredness,
When I enterd the room just got amazed with the interiors and arrangements my wife was really happy. The rooms was well maintained, the bathroom was spacious and very clean, the matress was very comfarting. the staff was very hospitable took care of each & every need.
The food was good... I just extended my stay for another two days in glyngarth..
Well recommended for a perfect holiday with family...

Room Tip: Stay in cottage if you are a couple, If with Family Stay in Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollachi, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The atmosphere and the service is excellent.Rooms are clean and tidy.The place is a pollution free area.the service and everyone are polite and helpful.Food is like home made and food can be even prepared to suit your choice.Book your rooms in advance and everything is given to you at the right time..

Room Tip: All the rooms are worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

our experience in the villa was good. the service offered by the staff was very good. we played cricket in the lawn. this place is away from the city and very quiet. the villa has nice interiors. i would like to thank the managger and the entire staff.the manager( mr karthik) always has a smile on h is face and is very cooperative. this place is very good for a family.

Room Tip: it is a quiet and enjoyable place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A trip down nostalgia lane to a hotel creaking with memories of the old colonial days (well if you're British anyway). Do take time to talk with the staff, they are good, friendly and I believe trustworthy, that is, ask how they may help you and I think you will find easy answers to your needs. The hotel is without alcohol, but no problem go out and buy it and enjoy it in the wood panelled living room or dining room on its long table with tour friends or other guests.
We enjoyed this hotel and we have the photographs as testimony. One piece of advice, Ooty appears to close down completely after 21:00 and then without taxis; either make arrangements or be back at the hotel before this time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glyngarth Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyngarth Villa

Address: Golf Club Road, Finger Post | Finger Post, Ooty 643005, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ooty
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glyngarth Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst the Blue mountains, in the south of India is the unparalleled 'Queen of Hills Stations', Ooty Here touching the heavenly clouds the magnificent 'Glyngarth Villa' surrounded by boundless tranquility and splendor ... This Heritage Home, built in the year 1880 by Sir Walter Mounde in the colonial style, just outside Ooty town, has been home to many a rich and famous persons ... including the former Prime Minister of India the late Jawaharlal Nehru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glyngarth Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyngarth Villa Hotel Ootacamund
Glyngarth Villa India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glyngarth Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.