We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to spend 2 nights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sunshine Inn to your Saves list
Sunshine Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Coonoor Road | The Nilgiri, Ooty 643001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decent place to spend 2 nights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Beautiful spacious room, cooperative FO staff and a very calm and quiet Inn. Only issue I had was with the room service. Late night there is no staff to assist with query. Its winter and we wanted hot water for drinking but our all calls went unanswered. The whole inn is so quiet in the night that you will not even find a single staff to attend your needs. My husband went down to reception but was surprised to see a complete deserted dark reception. Next day when we checked with FO, we got to know that they don't operate in the night which was bit surprising as being a hotel they should have at least a attendant for emergencies.
If you plan for a short trip, place is good to stay as its near to almost all the locations of ooty but not recommended for more than 2 days stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    18
    9
    29
See reviews for
38
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

A budget hotel decent stay without charging too much on the pocket...Seeing at the hotel it talks about history...you will feel that it was a good hotel in the past....Room service was not so good...Cleanliness needs attention. Food, better not to try here. They have a long way to go to get back the credential they used to have I feel.
Only thing that I liked about the hotel was the view that you get from the balcony. You should really enjoy a steaming cup of tea/coffee in the morning to leave the name of the hotel...Stay away from the travel desk they charge you way too much rather try to get a car booked from the nearest car rental, they will provide you better price and service both. Nothing more to say just an average experience.

Room Tip: Take a room which has a balcony look up to the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dilipkrsharma2003, General Manager at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying with us and also for such encouraging feedback. We look forward to serve you and your friends in future.

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nainital, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

this is our first tour to ooti as my friend recomended me to stay at Sun shine Hotel i was with my parents and kids we stayed 3 nights,the service and cleaning of the hotel is good,food is excellet front desk statt is helpful,my kids like this hotel very much.we will visit again,
thanks to staff and management.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshineinnooty, General Manager at Sunshine Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sunshine Inn for your recent stay in Ooty.

We’d be grateful if you would review us on TripAdvisor. It’s the world’s largest travel site, helping millions of visitors every month plan the perfect trip.

Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' reviews before booking their own visits. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Sunshine Inn the next time you're in Ooty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel has been hopeless and mismanaged. No hot water, no morning tea/breakfast up to 7.45am. Lifts are not working. Direction signs to Hotel Sunshine Inn of Ooty are missing. Prices on Cleartrip web-site are the lowest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

It was my first stay with my friends I this hotel which make me too feel lot I this whole trip it's average hotel but too much you want to pay, and the location was near to conoor main road but u have to do a stunt to reach hotel , very poor hotel service that I had ever and also they adding tariff based on persons better you avoid and go for better one

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

we stay for 02 night very good experience,clean rooms,amazing food,good location,staff also very courtious.enjoyed a lot.very good weather.you must bring woolen cloths.value for money.management of hotel sun shine is very helpful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamnagar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

hotel sunshine inn , its nicely located... the view of ooty look wonderfull... a little far from commercial road , its on small hill... but accutally the location n service is very good of it.... we stay 2 nights der...
3 floor underground and 3 upper....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#27 of 71 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.9 mi away
Astoria Residency
Astoria Residency
#7 of 71 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
0.9 mi away
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Address: Coonoor Road | The Nilgiri, Ooty 643001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunshine Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunshine Inn, Ooty - Vascoda Hotels & Resorts, a Three Star Hotel with 70 well appointed rooms with goodviews,Multicusine Restaurant, Banquet Hall, Travel Desk, Internet Browsing, Hot Water, Satellite TV channel, Doctor on Call, Ample Car Parking, Separate Kitchen for self catering groups etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunshine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Inn India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.