We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elegant stay in ooty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Willow Hill

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ooty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willow Hill
Save
You added The Willow Hill to your Saves list
58/1, Havelock Road | ooty, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“elegant stay in ooty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

we visited ooty in mid june. the hotel service was decent. rooms with beautiful interiors. clean bathrooms. good garden views. away from the noise of main city but still accessible. they have a restaurant in the premises (tiffiny) which offered good food. complementary breakfast was decent too. only curtains need to be washed..they lining was very dirty. ..otherwise perfect

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
20
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in this resort for 2 days with my family , the location is very good, But It was not the best of the place to stay in Ooty, Service need lots of improvement. the food was ok the staff dysfunctional taking 45 minutes to deliver coffee.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradeep, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had booked two adjacent deluxe rooms (nos 123 & 124) for our stay at Willow Hill in May 2014. The scenic view of hills and Ooty town from the rooms is fantastic. One can spend hours in the room itself, gazing out of the full-sized windows, particularly so during darkness hours!
Willow hill is located about a kilometer or so away upwards from the hustle-bustle of Ooty town main commercial areas. As such, the location is clean and tranquil and allows one to savour the cool climate and beauty of ooty at ease.
The in-house restaurant Tiffinys serves delectable food in a nice setting.
The hotel staff was good and manager Mr. Murli is enthusiastic in attending to all guest requests.
We found Willow hill a lovely place to stay in at Ooty to enjoy the hill station in an unhurried manner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

On 31/05/2014 i had dinner with my family at the restaurant of hotel willow hill, ooty. The bill no is 1002.
In that bill, the total amount is mentioned as RS. 2190 + 219(taxes) but when i was reviewing the bill by adding the individual items after coming back to my home in Mysore, the final amount is coming at Rs 2015 and tax should be Rs 201 on that amount.
so you people have charged Rs 93 more. This is not about only 93 rupees but about ethics and customer service.
Also your waiter took cash separately for 5 mineral water bottles (1 litre each) at the rate of Rs 35 and also took Rs 18 as taxes over it but i am pretty sure that the tax amount will go to his own pocket.
Let me know how you people going to correct the above 2 mentioned unethical activities rectify you misdeeds.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamAlankar, Owner at The Willow Hill, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Respected Sir,

Thank You for bringing this to our attention. We are looking into this issue and will get back to you as soon as possible. We are very sorry for the unpleasant experience that you have faced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Well, we had booked a deluxe room requesting for room 123/124 going by some of TripAdvisor recommendation. After booking the rooms through one of the travel website's, I called them to check the room that was blocked and was told that 124 has been blocked for us for 3 nights.

As we reached and asked for the room keys , they allotted room126 :( not the one I had expected -still a deluxe room. They told me that some one had occupied the room and would vacate it the next day. Without pondering over it. We headed to the allotted room. It had a good view. Good amount has been spent on wood - considering the flooring and half the wall covered with it. Gives a very cosy feel. Though could be maintained better.

I went to them on day 2 to check if we could be shifted. Then the person at the reception told me that he din't tell me the "reality" the previous day that the plumbing was broken and we cannot be shifted. I was disappointed !!! Alas!!!!

The bed-sheet was quite damp and smelled. Didn't wanna walk up and start complaining immediately.

Suggestions : It would nice if the sheets are changed just before the guests arrived.
Also could have some potpourri / room freshener to ward off the damp smell inside the room.
The flush system in the toilet must be fixed.
The toiletries should also have tooth paste & tooth brush.
Paying as much, least an electric kettle & a bottle of water must be kept in the room.

The breakfast option is limited and doesn't taste good except the juice [small quantity :( ] .
And otherwise too, the food was bland & not all that enjoyable. ( lunch / dinner )

The service is alright and people are friendly.

There is a lot of scope of improvement considering the money charged for each room.Its Just not with Willow Hill, but almost the whole of Indian tourism.

The accommodation is atop a hill : If you are traveling on your own - ask for monarch Hotel / Gem Park ( landmark through Stephens church)

Its close to Charring cross for your visit to the botanical garden or shopping or other restaurants.

Room Tip: You want a view? Then the deluxe rooms. If with kids, then the lower rooms, as they are closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

the complimentary breakfast was quite a turn-off. Apart from that, the place is bful and very cosy!
the rooms are beautiful and very cosy! The room with the garden is definitely a recommendation! had a great time with friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

15 May 2014
We stayed in willow hill for 2 nights. It was really a superb place .staff was courteous and helpful . Great hospitality.
The room and bathrooms are very clean.delicious food.-The Complemntary breakfast should be buffet. room with garden view was really beautiful..Overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Willow Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willow Hill

Address: 58/1, Havelock Road | ooty, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Willow Hill Hotel Ootacamund
The Willow Hill India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Willow Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.