We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ooty Trip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sinclairs Retreat Ooty to your Saves list
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Ooty
Pune, India
1 review
“Ooty Trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Following are things I experienced:-
1. The room service was very good. I had booked a Premier Suite but was not very much impressed by the room. The room was small and had very less vacant space. When we checked into the room, the toilet faucet was leaking badly. We called up the housekeeping who fixed it promptly. The room was equipped with a double bed, a TV, a dressing table, a Cabinet, sofa and a locker for valuables. The interiors of the room were very good.

2. Overall upkeep of the resort was good. The Resort is located on a hill top and provides a fantastic view of the valley. The Resort has a lawn which is very beautiful. We took some photos in the lawn. The lawn has a dining space which was not utilized.

3. The TV had lot of Tamil channels and very few Hindi and English channels.

4. The hotel staff was courteous

5. The view from our room was good but we were told valley view which was not the case

6. The Hotel was accommodative of our check in and check out time. The checkout time was
10.00 . We checked out at 2.30 pm and were charged a half day’s room rent.

7. The food was really good. But was very spicy for my wife. They can make it a bit less spicy.
On the first day, we ordered the breakfast in our room. the la-carte breakfast was very expensive(2 masala dosas, 2 plate idli and 2 coffee cost us 900 bucks)
Also due to less occupancy, Buffet was not arranged for the first 2 nights. But the a-La-Carte was good. They have a bar which was ok. There are not many options in hard drinks and it is charged separately(not a part of the package). Tandoori items like Chicken tandoori takes a long time. But it was yummy. The options in desserts were really good. The breakfast had lots of options . The Chef was very friendly and courteous. He came across every table and inquired about the food.

8. The Hotel travel desk was really good. They arranged for my pick up from Bus stand, Drop to bus stand and sight-seeing .

9. Due to less occupancy the SPA and health club was closed during our stay.

10. On our last day, the check-out was very quick and hassle free

Things to improve:-
1. The La-carte breakfast needs to be a bit reasonable
2. Wi-Fi connection was chargeable. Given the premium we paid for our stay, we expected this bare minimum service.
3. SPA should be open every time irrespective of the amount of occupancy in the hotel.
4. Simple things like bottled water were charged. Given the premium we paid for our stay, we expected this bare minimum service.
5. The Resort can arrange for a bon fire when the number of occupants is more.
6 Hot water facility was available from 6 to 11 in the morning and 6 to 11 in the evening. This should be available 24 X 7.

Overall feedback:-
A very good holiday destination. Will really enjoy the stay and food. Value for money.

Room Tip: Swimming pool was not available . SPA was closed during our stay due to less occupancy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Prashant,

Thank you for your detailed review after your stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. I would like to comment on your suggestive improvements.

I am sorry to hear that you weren't happy with the a la carte breakfast. Due to low occupancy on 12th June, we did not serve buffet breakfast, and you ordered room service. Our room service menu is limited.

Please note that WiFi is chargeable, irrespective of any type of room booked you, however, now we have started offering WiFI service on complimentary basis.

Due to some staff issue, our Spa is closed down. Please refer to our website for this.

2 bottles of bottled water is complimentary everyday. Anything over this is chargeable.

We do arrange bonfires but only on special requests.

Due to water constraints in Ooty, hot water is available only during specific hours.

Anyhow, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you faced, and I hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs with a hassle free experience.

Please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    79
    32
    18
    19
See reviews for
104
72
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

First impressions are what set the tone for a stay at any hotel. It took us over an hour to check into our room. But other than that the rooms were average. The bathroom fittings are loosely fitted. Rooms weren't cleaned thoroughly as when extra bed was put in you could see dirt on the floor. Food was okay. No complains. But cleanliness needs work and maintain your bathrooms.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Dhruv,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We apologise for the inconvenience you faced during check-in and for the maintenance issue in the rooms. I have raised your concerns with the housekeeping staff, and they shall make sure that this problem is rectified.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food at our restaurant.

We are looking forward to your visit once again! Please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

As a family we were looking for a getaway away for a quiet weekend away from city and this was spot on !!
The view of the valley from the room was wonderful.
Food (specially breakfast) was worth mention. Looking frwd to going there again

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Jyoti,

I appreciate you take the time out to post your feedback after your recent stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on this public forum.

Great to hear that you enjoyed the location and the property, as well as the food.

Hope you will visit us soon!

Regards,

Balaji Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Me and my wife celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary June 8, 2014 (3Ds & 2Ns) a superb experience (a royal treatment). A place to be in. A full comfort zone. The best place to enjoy Ooty's nature. Food was excellent (everytime i licked my fingers, the indian way...lol, couldn't help it, so tasty n yummy). Chef and staff members were very humble (Shoban, Balaji, Utpal). Mr. Chatterjee (CGM), a superb dynamic personality, truely down to earth. All took great care of us. Felt homely and a first time visit, had fun and gala with the staff members, all carry a smiley face and ready to help always (kirti, prasant, la pak, and two guys from UK, uttrakhand, lol), thought of extending the days of visit to enjoy more of their company and hospitality and the food. And for site-seeing the cabby (Arvind, has taken a great care of us, handsome chap took all the snaps for us, got us to the right locations to enjoy the view, we hav booked him for our next visits to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty). A beautiful hotel and everything maintained to its perfection. A memorable stay (A Perfect 10-on-10) a peaceful and soothing place from the hustles and bustles of city life. Will be visiting Sinclairs again n again, whenever time. Next, trip to Sinclairs Port Blair soonnnnnnnnnn...

Room Tip: Everything maintained to its perfection...we went for a deluxe room to get thru the basics of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Sambit,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! I am extremely delighted to hear that you enjoyed every bit of your stay with us. It's great to hear that you loved the food, our hospitality and our property.

I hope you will visit us many more times, to celebrate the special occasions in your life! Please join our Facebook and Twitter page to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

It is an excellent place to be especially the location and the service is to good, Rooms are very clean and tidy and no noise pollution proper parking facility and One important i would all remember to tell is about the Chef Mr Sovan is a very friendly and fantastic cook who prepares yummy and delicious food any trips to ooty iam definitely going to stay in hotel Sinclair and i will also recommend my friends as i have personnel experience about the hotel

Room Tip: They can organize lot of other entertainment for the groups and Rooms are all well maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Rao,

It's great to read your five star review of Sinclairs Retreat Ooty! Thank you so much for appreciating the food, service quality and our hospitality. I am glad that you also enjoyed the food.

I'm looking forward to your next visit.

Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were there our company's business conference trip. Best location in Ooty, best hospitality, best food. The hotel GM Mr. Balaji took very good care on us. Made us felt no less than a royalty. And the staff highly trained.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Dhiraaj,

Thank you for your 5 star review!

I am glad your company had a successful business trip!

Please recommend us to friends and family and I hope you will visit us again soon.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had a bad experience during our stay in this Hotel. In the Deluxe room there is no Microwave Oven, Mini Fridge, No Hair driers, Bathroom water was clogging and felt uncomfortable to take bath. Very small rooms and high price.

Room Tip: Rooms exteriors are good, poor rooms and room services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Karthik,

I am extremely sorry to hear about the complaints and the hassle that you faced during your stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

Your negative feedback will give us the opportunity to improve, and we have taken your points into consideration.

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor, and I hope you will visit us soon.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located exactly where the "Queen of Nilgiris" was discovered, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is the highest located hotel in South India and unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty. The hotel has 79 rooms and suites, and two villas with interiors that are modern and charming. The luxurious rooms are equipped with tea/coffee makers and cable TV. The valley view rooms offer stunning views.The resort is equipped with an array of facilities. This includes a Wi-Fi enabled reception area overlooking a three level-landscaped garden, Deluxe, Superior, Premium Suites and Deluxe/Honeymoon suite, conference and meeting facilities; three halls - Regal, The Windsor and The Summit and an open area - The Terrace. Fine dining at Pine n' Petal, a multicuisine restaurant, The Portico, a coffee bar for beverages and snacks, and High Point Bar, a stylish bar and a cool cocktail lounge.The highlight of the property is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis, board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. Moreover, the hotel comprises of a fitness centre with gym, steam, sauna, and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.