We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location & property ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sinclairs Retreat Ooty to your Saves list
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved the location & property ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

As a family we were looking for a getaway away for a quiet weekend away from city and this was spot on !!
The view of the valley from the room was wonderful.
Food (specially breakfast) was worth mention. Looking frwd to going there again

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Jyoti,

I appreciate you take the time out to post your feedback after your recent stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on this public forum.

Great to hear that you enjoyed the location and the property, as well as the food.

Hope you will visit us soon!

Regards,

Balaji Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    83
    37
    19
    20
See reviews for
114
76
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Me and my wife celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary June 8, 2014 (3Ds & 2Ns) a superb experience (a royal treatment). A place to be in. A full comfort zone. The best place to enjoy Ooty's nature. Food was excellent (everytime i licked my fingers, the indian way...lol, couldn't help it, so tasty n yummy). Chef and staff members were very humble (Shoban, Balaji, Utpal). Mr. Chatterjee (CGM), a superb dynamic personality, truely down to earth. All took great care of us. Felt homely and a first time visit, had fun and gala with the staff members, all carry a smiley face and ready to help always (kirti, prasant, la pak, and two guys from UK, uttrakhand, lol), thought of extending the days of visit to enjoy more of their company and hospitality and the food. And for site-seeing the cabby (Arvind, has taken a great care of us, handsome chap took all the snaps for us, got us to the right locations to enjoy the view, we hav booked him for our next visits to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty). A beautiful hotel and everything maintained to its perfection. A memorable stay (A Perfect 10-on-10) a peaceful and soothing place from the hustles and bustles of city life. Will be visiting Sinclairs again n again, whenever time. Next, trip to Sinclairs Port Blair soonnnnnnnnnn...

Room Tip: Everything maintained to its perfection...we went for a deluxe room to get thru the basics of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Sambit,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! I am extremely delighted to hear that you enjoyed every bit of your stay with us. It's great to hear that you loved the food, our hospitality and our property.

I hope you will visit us many more times, to celebrate the special occasions in your life! Please join our Facebook and Twitter page to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

It is an excellent place to be especially the location and the service is to good, Rooms are very clean and tidy and no noise pollution proper parking facility and One important i would all remember to tell is about the Chef Mr Sovan is a very friendly and fantastic cook who prepares yummy and delicious food any trips to ooty iam definitely going to stay in hotel Sinclair and i will also recommend my friends as i have personnel experience about the hotel

Room Tip: They can organize lot of other entertainment for the groups and Rooms are all well maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Rao,

It's great to read your five star review of Sinclairs Retreat Ooty! Thank you so much for appreciating the food, service quality and our hospitality. I am glad that you also enjoyed the food.

I'm looking forward to your next visit.

Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were there our company's business conference trip. Best location in Ooty, best hospitality, best food. The hotel GM Mr. Balaji took very good care on us. Made us felt no less than a royalty. And the staff highly trained.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Dhiraaj,

Thank you for your 5 star review!

I am glad your company had a successful business trip!

Please recommend us to friends and family and I hope you will visit us again soon.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had a bad experience during our stay in this Hotel. In the Deluxe room there is no Microwave Oven, Mini Fridge, No Hair driers, Bathroom water was clogging and felt uncomfortable to take bath. Very small rooms and high price.

Room Tip: Rooms exteriors are good, poor rooms and room services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Karthik,

I am extremely sorry to hear about the complaints and the hassle that you faced during your stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

Your negative feedback will give us the opportunity to improve, and we have taken your points into consideration.

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor, and I hope you will visit us soon.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My family had a wonderful stay for four nights in Sinclairs, Ooty. The property is away from the maddening crowd of the town and gives a great view Ooty town from their rooms and their portico - delightful to watch during the day as well as in the night. Lots of fresh greenery and a variety of indoor games.Excellent food with a wide variety of south indian, north indian and chinese cuisine. Chef Sobhan gives personal attention and is too good at his work. Good hospitality by the entire staff, with special mention to Mr. Balaji and Mr. Mohammed. Non-operational spa was the only down-side.

Room Tip: Rooms in the third floor, just below the lobby, have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Ragaas,

Thank you for your lovely review about our property and the hospitality. It's such a pleasure to read your kind words.

The views from the hotel are wonderful, and with such good weather, it makes it even more beautiful. Thank you for appreciating the food and the facilities.

Please recommend us to friends and family and I hope you will visit us again!

Regards,

Balaji Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We travelled as a group of seven couples with little ones to Ooty and stayed in this property for a weekend. My friend booked seven premier rooms through net. But to our dismay, during check in there was a confusion regarding availability of rooms. Once that was sorted out we had asked them to tidy up the rooms. We took nearly an hour to finish our lunch but still the rooms weren't ready. So we had to simply wait in the room sofa for the housekeeping people who came dilly dallying. This is our check in experience.

PROS : Good location.
Spacious property.
Has nice play area for kids and adults.
Breakfast spread was good.
So nice of the chef to get what the kids required even if it wasn't in the menu.
CONS : Under staffed.
Poor coordination among staffs.
Poor communication by receptionists.
Rooms were clean but the edges of wall were peeling off.
Evening snacks never came in time. They took more than 1 hour to prepare and serve coffee after repeated requests.
Camp fire arrangement wasn't upto the mark.
No Spa.

During check out when we went through the bill they had added some random bills to our account. After questioning the manager tallied it and deducted the excess amount. He apologised for the clerical error. We had a mixed experience while checking out.

Overall a good property which lacks a good management.
Though the property appeals with three star quality don't expect for a professional hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Sathiya,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. Its so nice to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and also the food.

However, I would like to apologise for the delay in service. Please note that our Spa is temporarily closed because of some staff issue.

Sorry for the confusion in the bills, I have made a special note on this and informed our staff accordingly.

Please do visit us again and we promise that you will have an enjoyable experience at our hotel.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located exactly where the "Queen of Nilgiris" was discovered, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is the highest located hotel in South India and unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty. The hotel has 79 rooms and suites, and two villas with interiors that are modern and charming. The luxurious rooms are equipped with tea/coffee makers and cable TV. The valley view rooms offer stunning views.The resort is equipped with an array of facilities. This includes a Wi-Fi enabled reception area overlooking a three level-landscaped garden, Deluxe, Superior, Premium Suites and Deluxe/Honeymoon suite, conference and meeting facilities; three halls - Regal, The Windsor and The Summit and an open area - The Terrace. Fine dining at Pine n' Petal, a multicuisine restaurant, The Portico, a coffee bar for beverages and snacks, and High Point Bar, a stylish bar and a cool cocktail lounge.The highlight of the property is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis, board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. Moreover, the hotel comprises of a fitness centre with gym, steam, sauna, and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.