We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Well Maintained” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sinclairs Retreat Ooty to your Saves list
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location, Well Maintained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

+ points:

This hotel has great location overlooking the entire Ooty town. The gardens/lawns are well maintained and are a good place to relax and unwind. Food variety for buffet breakfast/dinner is good but, but food seems to be bit overpriced. The lobby has a very good viewing area.

-ve points

The rooms lobby area id too narrow and not properly lit. The bathrooms are too small. Heaters although promised to be switched on after 9:30 PM were never turned on, in fact it is expected that heaters are always on and to be controlled by individual room occupant based on his choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you were happily satisfied with your stay, especially with the location and food quality. Our staff strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel

Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve our services and provide our valued guest a memorable experience. Therefore, I thank you again for having shared with us your experience.

Please note that we have central heating in our rooms and we also provide additional heaters on request. We are sorry that you still face inconvenience regarding this.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty once again.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    83
    37
    19
    20
See reviews for
114
76
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Visited Sinclairs with family during the weekend of Oct 19th 2013.
The rooms were fine since they were recently renovated.
Room service/Housekeeping is average, and had to remind a couple of times.
The bed was not sturdy, and kept moving :(

Food is PATHETIC. Our package included breakfast for 2 mornings. On both days, bread toast was the only item I was able to eat. Idli and dosa batter tasted stale, upma and puri was not cooked well. Also the service was very poor; items were not refilled, and we were made to wait almost 15-20 mins for coffee/tea.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you indeed for taking the time review us on Tripadvisor. All guest correspondence is read with true interest and all matters are shared with our management team with the aim of improving the services we offer. Therefore we thank you for your constructive comments and suggestions.

We regret to read that you did not enjoy the food at the hotel. Please note that we have appointed a new chef which has worked wonders! Everyone is now appreciating the food, which we are extremely glad for.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you that the food at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is meeting the expectations of all our guests. We hope that you will very soon be part of the very happy guests which have made our reputation.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I checked in last week. Toilets are not working. Limited food menu to choose and the available food is horrible to eat and they charge exhorbitant price. Not value for money. The price what they have charged me is net 5000 rupees inclusive food.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having shared the feedback regarding the visit at the Sinclairs Retreat Ooty on Tripadvisor.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience which you experienced because the toilets not working. Kindly be informed that your comment is shared straight away with the management team in order to avoid such reoccurence in the future.

I am happy to inform you that we have been working on the improvement of the food and have appointed a new chef which is very much being appreciated by all our guests.

I sincerely thank you for having shared this concern with us which of course will allow us to work even harder to make sure our guests leave happily.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for another Sinclairs experience, for a better serve of course.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had booked 2 rooms & stayed for 3 night & 4 days at the sinclairs retreat, ooty. Our stay at hotel was memorable. The hotel is locate at very good location away from the town. The outside view from our rooms was very beautiful. My two kids enjoyed playing at their indoor kids play zone which is very safe for kids. The food at restaurant is very good the service is excellent & the staff is very polite. We miss those beautiful moments spent at the hotel. We recommend this beautiful hotel to those who are planning to visit ooty in holidays.

Suggestions to the management:-

1) There are very less options in food for Vegetarians. Should add more Veg items in the menu.
2) There is no 24 hours hot water facility in the bathrooms. Its only 3 hours in morning & 3 hours in evening.

Parag Parikh
Bangalore

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Great ambience..excellent hospitality..good room service...grrt food at the restaurant with a friendly n attentive chef...value for money..has a play area with indoor badmintin court n pool table.the view from the hotel lawn is wonderful..ample parking space...walking distance from the tea museum and a view point near tea museum is worth a stroll in evening...eqi distant from the main city and dodabetta peak ..so a great desicion to stay hete if you want to utilize your time well..so plan to visit this hotel..you wont regret!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are glad that you have not only enjoyed your stay with us immensely, but also appreciated it. It's been a boost, with the last few reviews pointing out downsides.

Delighted that you enjoyed the amenities and made full use of them. It's always proactive guests like you who make the best of their holiday! Your comment regarding your satisfaction with the friendly and attentive chef brought smiles to the faces of the hardworking service staff, thank you for making their day!

We at Sinclairs genuinely wish our guests return with a uniquely memorable and joyous holiday with us. Hope you will return soon to enjoy yet another holiday with us.

Best Regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

When we entered the hotel all tired and exhausted, the hotel room and ambiance made it all go away. The staff is very cooperating and did not even hold us up for the paper work. There were around 17 of us including children booked into 5 rooms around room 309. Our driver's accommodation and food was complimentary. Weather was fantastic. We were using room heaters in June.

Room Tip: Rooms 309, 310 and 311 are the ones with best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your compliments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

We were very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you basically enjoyed the hotel and it's services on offer.

We have shared your compliments with the entire team, and feedback such as yours serves as an encouragement to all of us.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to Ooty and please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

Sincerely,

Balaji Royal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Booked 2 deluxe suites (for 2 nights) after actually visiting the hotel in advance - they looked nice indeed, very new.

SHABBY STAFF: greeted by reception staff with crumpled brown 'suits', the guy at the front who seemed to know most things had a pen stain on the lapel of his jacket-thingie. They did smile though, which was nice.

COLD: When we reached, the rooms were super cold: and a/c could not be adjusted - they said it was centrally controlled and heaters would only come on at 10pm....

TERRIBLE SERVICE: I asked for a heater more than 3 times before threatening to leave - only then did they scurry one in - they didn't bother about my parents in the other room. Spare bed and pillows also required 3 repeated insistences by me before they came.

HARD BED, SANDPAPER LINEN: the "Kings size bed" was two conjoined- standard thin rock-hard things they call mattresses (floor was softer - I tried). Bed sheet was rough - a first for me!

LEAKING SHOWER ROOM: the shower room was not sealed, so the entire floor was flooded every time someone bathed.

PARTY ON: forget it being nestled in a god-forsaken beat-up road, our hopes for a peaceful scenic holiday were dashed by a concert band organized one floor up - which to their credit ended 30mins after they said it would end.

COLD BREAKFAST: we finally fell asleep and woke for breakfast a tard late: reached our 'complimentary buffet' breakfast, which had turned cold for all the half-emptied dishes of south indian 'cuisine', and bland characterless drip coffee. The kind chef asked if he could serve us an omelette....

We left that very morning, and cancelled the next night - thankfully we weren't charged an extra 24,000Rs for that either. Also to their credit, they sensed my disgust and asked me to honestly fill in their feedback book...

How disappointing - to think I actually was fooled by my prior reccee.

Room Tip: Save cost and don't go for the suites - they have new furniture in old finishing that spoils eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located exactly where the "Queen of Nilgiris" was discovered, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is the highest located hotel in South India and unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty. The hotel has 79 rooms and suites, and two villas with interiors that are modern and charming. The luxurious rooms are equipped with tea/coffee makers and cable TV. The valley view rooms offer stunning views.The resort is equipped with an array of facilities. This includes a Wi-Fi enabled reception area overlooking a three level-landscaped garden, Deluxe, Superior, Premium Suites and Deluxe/Honeymoon suite, conference and meeting facilities; three halls - Regal, The Windsor and The Summit and an open area - The Terrace. Fine dining at Pine n' Petal, a multicuisine restaurant, The Portico, a coffee bar for beverages and snacks, and High Point Bar, a stylish bar and a cool cocktail lounge.The highlight of the property is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis, board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. Moreover, the hotel comprises of a fitness centre with gym, steam, sauna, and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.