We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sinclairs Retreat Ooty to your Saves list
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Kottakal, Kerala, India
1 review
“Brilliant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my grown up son for one night, The location was nice and quite, we had valley facing room, which was excellent. Staff at hotel were very welcoming, helpful and cheerful. Food was excellent, specially the staff and chef who looked after us very well. My son enjoyed his stay playing pool, carrom board game & made him cheerful inspite of suffering from a bit of cold. I would definitely advise anyone to stay there. Views on trip advisor was very helpful and meant what was said.

Room Tip: Did not see many other rooms but the valley view room is definitely good although it is a bit more e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words, and for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and your expereince was brillant. Our aim is to ensure high guest satisfaction, and we are happy that you remained satisfied with our location, food and service.

As a valued guest we would like to invite you to visit our our hotels in Siliguri, Darjeeling, Chalsa (Dooars) Port Blair and Bengaluru. We hope you visit us soon!

Meanwhile, please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with all our offers and promotions.

Regards,

General Manager
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    83
    36
    19
    20
See reviews for
114
75
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This place is about 1 km above the hill station of Ooty. you would need some transport to go to ooty town, bus stand, etc. But the view that comes with the altitude is to dye for. Its a bit expensive place with great buffet meals and a good bar. Nice place to laze around, enjoy the cool breeze of the mountains and unwind. Very nice food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

However, we have noticed that the photos you have posted of Sinclairs Ooty are before it was renovated, which was last year. Infact, our hotel was shut down for a year as it was getting refurbished.

Anyhow, it is always nice to read positive aspects of our hotel and we are pleased to have made your holiday enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty in the near future.

Best Regards,

NG Kumar
General Manager
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Sinclairs is a nice hotel
ambiance was good
The view from the hotel room was amazing.
The location is good and away from noise of the town.
room service was good
food was worst..
and wash room was quite small but clean

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Neha,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Sinclairs Retreat Ooty on Trip Advisor. It is such a pleasure to read complimentaty feedback on guest stays. We are delighted to hear that you liked the ambience, service, views and location of our hotel. I will certainly pass on your grateful appreciation to our team at Ooty.

Thank you for your suggestions for the things that we need to improve upon and we will take those points into consideration.

On behalf of everyone in the team we look forward to welcoming you back to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty in the near future.

Regards,

NG Kumar
General Manager
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stay here for 2 nights. The place had amazing views of ooty. The were so happy with the service. The rooms were decent but comfortable. The food was amazing. The quality of food prepared for us could beat any 5 star hotel in India. Loved the hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor, and sharing your experience with our readers!

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our well appointed rooms, delicious food, and impeccable hospitality. We pride ourselves on our wonderful staff who represent the spirit of the hotel so well with our guests.

As a valued guest we would like to invite you to visit our our hotels in Siliguri, Darjeeling, Dooars (Chalsa), Port Blair and Bengaluru. We hope you visit us soon!

Meanwhile, please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with all our offers and promotions.

Warm Regards,

NG Kumar
General Manager
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I chose this hotel after reading reviews online. And boy i wasn't disappointed. It's a real gem of a property. The location is a definite USP(overlooking the valley). The rooms are well appointed and beds comfortable. The food at the restaurant is tasty. They have a good play area(badminton, table tennis, gym, playstation/nintendo and children's play area) to keep the entire family occupied. They also have a day spa. The icing on the cake is the politeness of the staff(Mr.Kumar the General Manager and his staff's concern is definitely heart warming). Would surely recommend this property to all. Only thing is that you need a vehicle if you want to go to ooty town but hey you just need to ask and they will get it arranged for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Amit,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We are delighted your visit was such a wonderful experience. We have shared your comments with the staff who pride themselves in
caring and tending to our every guest.

Valley view rooms certainly enjoy unique experiences as do our premier suites which have a private deck facing the forest. Infact all our guests appreciate the splendid views.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the food and service. Our play area - Tic Tac Toe, is packed with activity possibilities, and guests will find it easy to engage themselves with one thing or the other. It is a vibrant place for indoor games and kids often indulge themselves in the play area!

If you happen to visit Ooty sometime soon, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Regards from the Sinclairs Family,

NG Kumar
General Manager
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Sinclairs is located away from the din and dust of Ooty city, and overlooks the ooty valley.

We stayed here for 5 nights and were given a Valley View room, which has an excellent view of the valley. The staff was extremely cordial and very helpful.The rooms were very good, and the property was very well maintained even during the off season period.

Minor drawbacks - the bathroom was a bit small, and at times the room felt a little bit stuffy. Nothing major, especially compared to the dramatic views the room provided and the helpful hotel staff!

Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a Valley View room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a lovely 5 star review and I am delighted that all the staff were able to assist you with your needs during this stay. All I can say about your enthusiastic comment is that we are really happy and I'll personally praise the team for the great job! It is always nice to read positive aspects of our hotel. We are pleased to have made your holiday enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty in the near future.

Sincerely,

NG Kumar
General Manager
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

we made a trip in probably the most off season of the year- the rains. but the hotel service and the staff were excellent. not many guests were there but the staff was on its toes. the boiler and the wi-fi were under maintenence but even after that it was made sure we and our driver got hot water on time. apart from a special mentoin has to be made about the restaurant staff who seemed to be on an exclusive service for us. they provided us with excellent food in little time. the manager and the staff of the hotel gave us personal attention every time we stepped down from our rooms. it seemed to be a royal treatment exclusively for us. the room was well maintained and spacious. the washrooms were although not dirty but definitely not the best; but then we cannot underscore them as maintainence was going on and they had certain renovation plans as well.
all in all good stay. helpful and coordinated staff. and of couse very very courteous.

Room Tip: the deluxe suites are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. The team is glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words will go a long way in motivating our team to provide the best levels of service at all times.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay on Tripadvisor.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located exactly where the "Queen of Nilgiris" was discovered, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is the highest located hotel in South India and unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty. The hotel has 79 rooms and suites, and two villas with interiors that are modern and charming. The luxurious rooms are equipped with tea/coffee makers and cable TV. The valley view rooms offer stunning views.The resort is equipped with an array of facilities. This includes a Wi-Fi enabled reception area overlooking a three level-landscaped garden, Deluxe, Superior, Premium Suites and Deluxe/Honeymoon suite, conference and meeting facilities; three halls - Regal, The Windsor and The Summit and an open area - The Terrace. Fine dining at Pine n' Petal, a multicuisine restaurant, The Portico, a coffee bar for beverages and snacks, and High Point Bar, a stylish bar and a cool cocktail lounge.The highlight of the property is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis, board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. Moreover, the hotel comprises of a fitness centre with gym, steam, sauna, and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.