We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Garden Manor to your Saves list
Garden Manor
16 F1, F2, Ottley Road (Near Botanical Garden), Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 77 Ooty B&B and Inns
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Place to Stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stay 2 nights here.
Place is very near to Botanical garden.
Staff is cool & caring.
But room size is comparatively small , which i felt.
All things are almost accessible except food :)
They don't have in house Kitchen, i guess they are trying to do so.
Also for local sight seeing ,Please get the cabs from garden manor itself, its really affordable as compared to others.

overall good place to stay.

Cons:
1) Food options are very optional :)
2 ) Room size is somewhat small

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    74
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
58
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We booked Garden Manor for our four-day trip to Ooty because it looked like good value, and we weren't disappointed.

For a budget-price guest house the service was very good and the rooms were smart, clean and with modern fittings and appliances. There was hot water (although it didn't always last the whole length of the shower, and it's cold in Ooty in winter time..!) Our room had a small balcony, with a nice view, and everything else you'd expect - wardrobe, dresser, mirror, plasma TV, nice bathroom. The bed was smallish but really comfortable and we slept really well each night. The corridors were a little echoey and loud mid-evening (due to the high ceilings, as much as anything), but it was all quiet overnight and in the morning.

The place looks pretty at night, lit up with tasteful lanterns. Up on the roof there's a pretty terrace where we had breakfast in the mornings. At the moment they're still finishing off the restaurant area, so I would probably up my rating to 'excellent' once that's fully functioning. We were still able to get a basic breakfast - omelette, bread, jam, coffee - and the hotel orders in food for guests at their request at the moment, but we ended up eating out for our lunches and dinners. I'd go back.

Location-wise, it's towards the edge of town, which is good because you're out of the busy commercial parts and it feels quieter and more laid back. There's an auto-rickshaw rank just up the road, nearby, or you can walk into the centre of town, which takes 10 minutes or so, via the Tibetan market and past the entrance to the Botanical Gardens.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 1st floor at the front, with a small balcony, and we were happy with that, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I had received a very good service from Garden Manor staff, they really valued customers. Location is wonderful and it is note worthing to say that it is near botanical garder. Room which i have stayed is kept clean and near and also it had decend interior decorations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I really had a very great experience in this hotel with my family, hotel room's ambiance is very nice and attractive.Hotels guyz are so supportive and so caring, Rooms neat and clean.
Special thanks to Mr. Anthony the "managing person" of this hotel really a nice and humble person.Hotel is much near to Botanical Garden and Bus Stand.
I suggest to people (Specially couples) to reach garden manor if they want a hotel in a acceptable budget.
Please get the cabs from garden manor itself, its really affordable as compared to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Had a short trip and impressed me with the location, Very close to botanical garden and Service is fantastic and staffs where caring too had a Comfortable stay.Rooms are neat and clean and the interior is good.Special Thanks to Mr. Antony who is the leader of this hotel was very courteous.Am sure anyone who stays here will have a great time & money’s worth.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is very close to Botanical Garden about 200 meters away.

positives:

* Lovely Rooms. what you see in Website is what you get. Rooms & rest Rooms give you a feel of 3 star resort. Bed Quality, Lighting are Just about Perfect.
* Service Staff: Excellent staff who service with you a smile.

Couple of things to keep in mind for Booking

1.Restaurant: There is no restraunt available here. But Service staffs can buy you Breakfast and Dinner from Near by resturant. Personally this was of no issue to me yet would like to point out.

2. Please bear in mind this is not a resort. what you get is fantastic rooms at a decent Price.Also location is as such don't expect any romantic views!

I would very strongly recommend this hotel if you are not looking for resort.

Room Tip: Any rooms on top floor for the little view you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I visited Ooty in November 2013. Garden Manor hotel is a excellent place to stay. It located near to botanical garden (Walkable distance). You can access any site seeing place easily. Worth for money and hotel staffs are very helpful. Neat and Cute interior. 24 hrs hot water is available. Excellent and nice place to stay and worth for money.

Room Tip: Take a room in second floor with balcony. I will be good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Manor

Address: 16 F1, F2, Ottley Road (Near Botanical Garden), Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary structure with an excellent elevation, Garden Manor Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful town. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. The Glass house Roof Garden restaurant is very exclusive and provides an excellent view of the town and surroundings areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Garden Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Manor India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.