We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and OK value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sapphire Garden View

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ooty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sapphire Garden View
Save
You added Hotel Sapphire Garden View to your Saves list
North Lake Road | Opp Railway Station & Bus Stand, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
West Harptree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Great location and OK value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had booked into Reflections Guesthouse just up the road but found that the rooms were very poor for 700R's. It was meant to be a sociable place, which was what we were looking for, but the rooms were small, dark, old beds, no furniture and generally dank & uninviting. We passed Sapphire on our walk from the bus stand so decided to go back and take a look.

Rooms started at 800R's, we chose one at 1000R's, and we were very pleased with our 'upgrade'. We had room 505:
it was bright with the sunrise coming in early through the huge window
it overlooked the train station just 5 minutes away
It was a 5 minutes walk to the bus stand
It was quiet
Big well equipped room with wardrobe and table and soft chairs
A huge bed (the mattress could have done with replacing)
Good hot shower in the morning,
TV (No English channels)
Staff who really wanted to please
Bar and restaurant.
Parking if you need it

I get the feeling that Ooty has more than it's fair share of poor gueshouses so giving up the social aspect of Reflections in exchange for a decent room in Sapphire for me was a no-brainer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed here for 2 days during trip and I was not quite happy about the stay here.

This place is not worth for price that we spend. only good thing about this place is closure to bus stand.

Hotel is maintained okay. One should see their requirement and decide. Service is good here and also they have their own travels for site seeing which is good.

I say this place is okay but not great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Its very nice hotel to stay for couples. They have wel maintained and cleaned rooms..
Inside decoration and arrangements are so romantic....
Service Staff is also cooperative..
Its very close to lakeside from where you can see nice view.
They also provide the food as per our requirement...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Its good and nice hotel, food also good, but price is more. other than food price this hotel is very good.
Its good and nice hotel, food also good, but price is more. other than food price this hotel is very good.
Its good and nice hotel, food also good, but price is more. other than food price this hotel is very good.
Its good and nice hotel, food also good, but price is more. other than food price this hotel is very good.
Its good and nice hotel, food also good, but price is more. other than food price this hotel is very good.
Its good and nice hotel, food also good, but price is more. other than food price this hotel is very good.
Its good and nice hotel, food also good, but price is more. other than food price this hotel is very good.
Its good and nice hotel, food also good, but price is more. other than food price this hotel is very good.

Room Tip: I stayed in room no 404 and 405, these rooms are very good. I dont know about other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sapphire Garden View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire Garden View

Address: North Lake Road | Opp Railway Station & Bus Stand, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in a picturesque location at the heart of the city just opposite to the Children's Park and very near to Ooty railway station and Central Bus Stand. Important tourist places like Children's park and Boat House is at a walkable distance from our Hotel. Our Multi Cuisine Restaurant serves most delicious vegetarian and Non-Vegetarian food.We make your trip to the city more interesting and enthusiastic as we provide the best services in a cozy and soothing environment.You can feel the cool breeze of the Garden from the balcony of the hotel. We offer the best accommodations,tasty food, friendly and cordial services. We have very luxurious executive and deluxe type rooms. We provide excellent room service and all these you get at a very economical rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Sapphire Garden View India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sapphire Garden View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.