We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Avalanche

Sanctuary Avalanche
Nilgiri hills, Ooty, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 48 Attractions in Ooty
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Gurgaon, India
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We visited Avalanche lake today. It took us about 1 hour to reach to the Forest Office, Avalanche from Ooty. There is no advance permission required for visiting this place these days. Private vehicles are not allowed inside the reserve area. Jeep safari has also been stopped. Forest department mini bus is available for the tour (15 and 26 seater), which operates at interval of 2-3 hours. We missed the 12 noon bus by 10 minutes. We had to wait for 2.5 hours for the next bus.There is no fixed time of departure of these buses.It depends on number of tourist available. Generally buses operates at 10, 12 and 2 PM. Forest officer asked us to pay for minimum 10 seats incase no fellow tourists are available for the trip. Finally few people turned up after long wait. Per person bus trip charge is Rs 150/- (kid above 8 years are charged full amount). Overall great experience, it was very sunny but breeze was cool. We trekked along with children from road until the lake to feel the shiny clear water of the lake. Road to lake passes through a very dense forest but we could not see any animal. Further you get to see great view of tea and carrot plantation on the way to Avalanche from Ooty.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    30
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The road from the check point to the starting point of the safari is good. Animal sighting is minimal. However, the forest is dense and thick. A good experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Avalanche Lake Bus Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We took a bus out to Avalanche lake. The lake and scenery were beautiful, but the bus ride was very rough. I would still recommend it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Avalanche Jungle Safari & Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Avalanche Jungle Safari is located 1 hour away from Ooty. Once you reach here by your own cab, you have to buy tickets for Jungle Safari Bus, which will also going to have Avalanche Lake in it.

This is around 2 hour Safari, however chances of seeing any animal is very very less - Not even a single butterfly. However you should go for this safari, as it goes through nice views / sharp jungle roads of Avalanche Jungle.

Be aware of Monkeys. Lot of them in the car parking, so do not eat food in open.
Last view point of this Safari is “Avalanche Lake”, which is Wow experience. The lake looks like, lake shown in last in the famous Indian Movie "Three Idiots".

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrissur, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“avalanchi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

it is a unforgetable experience in staying avalanchi very very cold in night you must stay in night there you dont visit only in day time but getting permision to stay in forest reat house is very difficult permission issued by forest south nilagiri offfice we get by the help of artd forest employ while using water in bathroom my first experience most cold i cant forget in that staying jaleeel mash tirur

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanctuary Avalanche also viewed

 
Ooty, Tamil Nadu
Ooty, Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Sanctuary Avalanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Avalanche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.