We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anmol Cottage review” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Anmol's Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Anmol's Cottage to your Saves list
Anmol's Cottage
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   134 / 22, Elk Hill Road | Near HMT Gate, South Wick, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 80 Ooty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Anmol Cottage review”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Was at Ooty to attend the school day at Lawrence school. Booked it because on Tripadvisor the location was shown as being on Onslow road adjoining Hobart Road that's close to Lawrence School Lovedale. That turned out to be wrong.
Took a lot of time to locate the place... Google maps showed the address correctly and the owners son came down to pick us up when we reached close by.
The room is a typical home stay. Hardly a B&B.
It's located in a congested locality on Elk Road. It's in fact the owners residence as well. Room is as shown in the gallery. However is badly maintained.
There's no service. One has to plan ahead and ask for service which could perhaps be met. They were unable to arrange an early breakfast for us.
The cleaning was not upto any passable standard. Same is the case with the toilet. As all kind of muck lies around. One window opens onto Elk Road which is just 3 ft away. Forget sound sleep... You will be woken up every time any vehicle passes by! The other window opens into a neighboring site... Which is full of garbage.
The toilet is in bad shape. Not been cleaned. Leaking and stinks.
Owners should have been forthright and called their place as Home Stay rather than a B&B.
People beware many of the fancy sounding cottages are similar and are in the neighborhood.
I would not stay in this or similar place again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjay s, Owner at Anmol's Cottage, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thanks For Booking Anmol's Cottage.

As per your requirement ,you asked for extra 2 bed sheet, that was given . on second day we asked for a room key for cleaning and changing bed sheets , towels you said NO.

So sir plz tell me how can we do room and toilet cleaning. with out Room Key.

since you used the toilet and take the pic it will come unclean only.

As you asked for Early Break Fast i.e Morning 7 am. since it was not possible for us so we said very frankly we cant give .

the plot beside to my cottage is not my, so plz tell me how can we keep that plot clean .

as you said only you want to park your car in parking place we kept reserve for you.

Thanks & Regards.
sanjay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
30
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed with my family here for one day during our Ooty visit.
This property is a home converted to B&B run by a family. Sunil and his son Ansh was very helpful during the entire stay, We enjoyed home cooked food in the morning and they also provided sleeping place to our driver.
All in all comfortable B&B and would recommend it if you are looking for a budget place in Ooty.
My suggestion is not to expect Hotel experience as this is a home setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Amazing place.. Good food... Lovely decor given to each and every room with good detailing. Awesome host Mr Sanjay and his young son Ansh. A 3 time repeated customer and I can assure you its worth every single buck to stay at this place.

You will love it !!!!

Room Tip: Worth every single penny for this wonderful vacation rental
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My experience was very good. The best part of the stay was the hospitality of my host, Mr. Sanjay and his family. It felt like home and all were very accommodating.

The food was excellent and by my experience the best from any homestay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

It was very wonderfull trip to ooty. Especially the people(Mr Sanjay and Family) in the cottage were treated us as their family members, It was good hospitality. The rooms are also very clean and well maintained.

We had wonderfull food in the cottage, was very tasty.


Special thanks to Mr Sanjay and Family,
SrividyaPavan

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This homestay in Ooty is perfect to spend a few days in Ooty. The Family is so nice and sooo helpful. We didn't really organised anything before so the owner helped us to organize our trips. We also had breakfast and dinner there: south indian food which was very tasty and soo much we couldn't eat. ;)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anmol's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anmol's Cottage

Address: 134 / 22, Elk Hill Road | Near HMT Gate, South Wick, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anmol's Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We introduce ourself as Anmol’s Cottage, a leading holiday destination. We welcome the guest to have a royal hospitality at an incredible value and have the flexibility of creating your own paradise. Now for a limited period you can stretch your holiday without stretching your budget. With Exotic Vacations in Ooty enjoy the magic of the Green Mountains. we offer luxurious stays at budget prices. Located in the Queen of hill stations - Ooty. Our cottage is situated in the Hills of Ooty and we are very close to the Rose Garden, commercial market area and to the sightseeing spots. We have well furnished rooms with 24 hr hot and cold running water, satellite LCD Television, Laundry service, Travel desk, doctor on call. Wi Fi system. Our Cottage greets you with hill station luxury and charm. Anmol’s Cottage the place you’ll want to come home again and again. Here our guests can enjoy the peace and tranquility of our surroundings, while being within walking distance of Ooty’s commercial areas. The warm, friendly atmosphere at the cottage is just right for a light caused meal or that special celebration. An exciting place to relax, breathe fresh air and experience pleasant weather. Service : We have well furnished rooms and we ensure that your stay will be comfortable and enjoyable. All Guest Rooms are furnished with Satellite television.Our Friendly and courteous staff will ensure that you feel at home, in luxurious ambiance at very affordable prices. All of our spacious and luxuriously designed rooms will ensure that your stay will be comfortable and enjoyable. Facilities & Features: 24 Hour Hot & Cold Water, 24 Hour Room Service, Laundry, Doctor on Call, Travel Desk, Internet Browsing, LCD Television, All Major Credit Cards Accepted, Spacious and Secure Car Parking, Bonfire can arrange on request, Horse Riding available, Candle light Dinner Available, Special Honeymoon Decoration on Request, Car Washing Available, Trek to Scenic Places Available on Request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Anmol's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anmol's Cottage India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anmol's Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.