We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and sightseeing services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount 'n' Mist

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mount 'n' Mist to your Saves list
Mount 'n' Mist
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kalhatty Ghats, Mysore Road, Ooty 643005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 81 Ooty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
“Excellent stay and sightseeing services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had booked for standard room for 3 nights through makemytrip site. The hotel is really nice and rooms are very good. The owner, manager and the staff were really friendly and helping nature. They made us feel like staying home rather than in a hotel. We would like to stays here again if we happen to go to ooty in future. The only drawback we felt was the corner rooms have windows and you can't keep them open during night due to intersects flying inside. If the windows could have the net then nothing like it.

The breakfast is good too. Lots of varieties and different menu each day. They also have car services for sigh seeing and surprisingly they are willing to accommodate to fit according to your schedule. We did only ooty darshan 1 day and coonnor on the next day. They gave us good discount and made sure we are happy. Nice gesture of the manager and the owner.
Their airport pick up and drop off service is also very good. Cheaper than the airport taxi or any other services. Just call them advance and they will come to pick u up from the airport

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Mount n Mist and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    116
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
188
129
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

It was really an xclnt xperience being in this place it feels like heaven i recommend evry1 to visit this place xclnt service xclnt views mangement supportive i love to b there. Service is ausumn the chef had prepared the food just for us at the middle of the night. Xclnt people n staff

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Mount n Mist and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had booked a twin cot room for our family and the room was quite a cosy one and we were quite comfortable. The owner, manager nd staff were all very cordial in their welcome and very friendly. We have stayed there or 4 nights n 5 days and felt it like a second home. The staff very ever ready to help. We had been fishing one day and since my 6 yr old son wished to get his catch of 7 fishes fried, he made a small request and thy had made a delicious fry that night. It made it a cherishable experience for us. The owner Mr Ravi encouraged us go trekking and arranged for a guide to trek and also bonoculars. Although we had spotted some bisons only, the anticipation made it quite adventurous. They also lent us their jeep the day we visited the avalanji dam recommended by Mr Ravi. My hubby really enjoyed driving the jeep. My kids had a nice time playing with Tony, a pug that belongs to the owner and they still speak of it. The ambience was very good. The place has been well maintained. Overall, this was a very calm, serene and homely place and we did not feel we were in a hotel at all. I would surely recommend the place and will choose this one on every visit to ooty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Mount n Mist and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was my first visit to ooty and I really enjoyed every bit of my experience in mount n mist .. the place is situated in a very calm and beautiful place. . MR RAVI the owner of the place is very pleasing and his trust worthy words made us completely depend upon him .. he ended up giving us complete satisfaction .. the place is very clean and well mantained , it has lot of activities like trekking, fishing etc .. a must visit place

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Mount n Mist and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stated from Blore by road and reached Masinagudi. Stayed in Mount and Mist for a day on the next day of our tour. We were 3 couples and had booked the King Suite. We had a lovely day der. Mainly the place is very calm and peaceful. We had a great time there. We even were entertained by the Owner and he asked us for anything which we want to change during our stay. I must say we had an awesome time der.

If you are among the one who wants to do nothing, den yes this is the place to stay. Will revisit the place pretty soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are having same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Mount n Mist and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at Mount n Mist over the last weekend for a day [apr 13, 2013]. The place was really nice. We were a family of 4 adults and 2 five yr old kids. We stayed in one of the twin bed rooms. The room opened to a huge balcony and the view was sureal in the mornings. The kids had fun running around the place. The food was homely and simple. The service excellent and hosts courteous. Will definetly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Mount n Mist Ooty ...

Thank you for posting your review.

We strive to make your experience at the Mount n Mist one you will remember forever.

Once again special thanks to you for your kind words for the resort .Your continued patronage and suggestions are a vital part of our growth. And for that, we are most grateful.

We value your trust, and we will do our best to meet your service expectations even more in future.

Thank you again for the opportunity to have you as our guest.

We look forward to your return in the near future.


Thanks & Regards
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We chose this hotel for our peaceful stay in Ooty as this is the most recommended hotel on Tripadvisor.....but unfortunately everything went wrong with us that day.......though there was a descent manager,good staff,neat food (u can say it tasty and delicious also up to some extent),awesome nature surrounding the hotel,clean n hygenic ambiance,We both returned back to Bangalore remembering only that small room with no ventilation ,delayed check in procedure and delayed exchange of room by hotel staff( initially they gave us a small part of queen suite, it was just 8*10 room with no window ), unavailability of fireplace for us,loud and irritating noise by drunk group of some stupid gals n guys( who were Walk in guest,not check in guest) for almost two n half hours i.e. 8 pm to 10.30 pm (I think that was a perfect time for us or any guest in the hotel to get relaxed n have some chats n enjoyment which was spoiled by that drunk group n ultimately by hotel management who allowed them to occupy that garden) .....the place was best but time/fortune did not allow us to enjoy.............anyways that was not our day.......but it can be yours........so u can try once..........all the best:-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Mount n Mist, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure check-in issues are not repeated.

Regarding guest who enjoy facilities and activities at our resort we never allow walk-in guests
enjoy the facilities.They were in-house guests at the bon-fire with DJ Music.But still we regret
for the inconvince cauced.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mount n Mist, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours
Team Mount n Mist
09443002000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount 'n' Mist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount 'n' Mist

Address: Kalhatty Ghats, Mysore Road, Ooty 643005, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount 'n' Mist 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mount 'n' Mist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount 'N' Mist India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount 'n' Mist, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.