We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berry Hills Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Berry Hills Resort to your Saves list
Berry Hills Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   333 Old Ooty | Stone House Hill Post, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 81 Ooty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kozhikode, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful location..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

When we decided to visit Ooty last week we searched internet for a nice place to stay in Ooty ..we wanted to avoid hotels within the city.its when we came across reviews about Berry hills resort.

we booked a Superior room,from reading the reviews i had some idea about the location. i found the resort on the side of a hill just below tea museum. but could not find the way to reach up.called the friend desk ,they immediately send a person on a two wheeler down to us and he showed us the the way.

I knew that the aproch road to resort is not in good shape from the reviews..but it was more than what I expected .Nearly one kilometer of winding very narrow steep climb.but i enjoyed it as our new Duster effortlessly took us to the resort.

Its a new property maintained reasonably well. The staff were courteous, they even allowed us to change our room to one with more beautiful view. previous reviews I found many people mentioning about problem with hot water availability,which i never had.The night view from the room is spectacular with all the city lights seen from that height.Our room had 2 huge windows with glass which enabled us to enjoy the view from our bed. Only thing i want to suggest is to provide a cot for the extra person, they provided mattresses with blanket only.

they have a nice restaurant .Good food .complimentary breakfast should include more to choose from.

since the resort was clearly visible from the parking lot of boatanical garden. i would suggest a neon sign board which will make it more attractive. also there should be a sign board on the entry of approach road.

Room Tip: ROOM 302 very good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing Berry Hills Resort in Trip Advisor.

It is heartening to know that you enjoyed your stay in Berry Hills. We are also happy to appreciate your gesture in giving us some valuable suggestions. Also special thanks to have mentioned about the hot water which was earlier an issue but now things have been taken care by installing additional heating systems. Special thanks for mentioning about the view from the room you had stayed.

Looking forward for your next visit.

Team Berry Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    36
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
57
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

One of the best resorts in Ooty. Amazing stay and overall a wonderful trip. Located in the top most part of the hill, the climate was so cold that gave the real feel of Ooty climate. Rooms were well maintained and clean. Reaching the place was little difficult because of the road, but once we reached there we felt we have made the best choice to book this resort. I and my wife completely enjoyed the trip. The place was simply superb away from traffic and pollution, only freshness all around. We got a fantastic view of the city from the room balcony. Will definitely recommend others and also visit the same place on my next visit too.

Room Tip: Take room at first floor, you have a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing Berrry Hills In Trip Advisor.

We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in berry hills. We shall definitely pass on your apprecaition about clean rooms to our house keeping staffs . It is reviews like your that keeps us motivated in giving the best experience to our guests. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I loved the building. It is on a great location with a fantastic view of the city. They have a hilly landscaped park. The interior design is grand & you can see money has been spent in setting this place up. We Stayed on 13th and 14th of April 2013.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Sir

Many thaks for your review inTrip advisor. It is really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Berry Hills. Thanks for your appreciation about our decor and maintainance.But when I read terrible maintainance , we thought it to be negative but we found that you were happy about our maintainance by looking at your five star rating for cleanliness. Looking forward for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I saw so many reviews and after all that, decided to book Berry Hills resort. But to say that I was disappointed is an understatement. I have lost trust on Expedia as well now.
For starters, the resort is unknown to any auto wala in Ooty. So, the only way to reach the "resort" is call up the reception and pay 200 for it!
Next, the room wasnt cleaned at all. Hot water wasnt available. When asked repeatedly, we got a bucket of hot water.
The superior room is charged additional money for the "wonderful view from the balcony". But from my room, I could only see the hotel staff standing. So, couldnt open the door at all.
The TV has a very unreliable cable connection, contrary to the hotel's claim that it has satellite connection.
The so called resort has nothing but rooms. This coupled with trecherous access to the hotel makes it a very poor and a very low value for consumer option.

Room Tip: No rooms are good. Keep away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks fro reviewing our property in trip Advisor

Firstly we appologise for you to have carried so many negatives from our property. however this also gives us the responsiblity to clarify a few things from our side.

1 . Since our property is new not many auto drivers know about it. Also not many of our guests use auto to reach our property. The resort would have arranged for a cab to pickup for the same price.

2. We object to your review about cleanliness , since we have a very good feedback about our housekeeping and ealier reviewsa are a testimony for the same. Also you have failed to mention that you had a early checkin which we accomodated you though we aere not obliged to do so.

3. We appologise for the hot water issue , since there was a problem in the water line leading to your room . Thanks for mentioning hot water was provided to you. However we would have appreciated if you had also mentioned that the issue was resolved in 15 minutes time from the time you complained.

4. With regard to the view , all the guests who had been alloted the same mountain facing view near the lawn have appreciated the view so far.

5.We also feel sorry for you to have mentioned that none of the rooms are good when you have not had an oppurtunity to see any other room . Also you had stayed in a good room and earlier reviews would justify our point with regard to the rooms, cleanliness and service of our staff.

However thanks for giving us an oppurtunity to explain our point of view in this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had planned our Ooty trip quite quickly and were looking for a hotel to stay. I found reviews for Sherlock and King’s cliff and wanted to book that, but they were sold out. We then decided to book this hotel for two nights.

The approach road for the hotel is in bad shape. So you have to drive 1-2 km at a steep incline and narrow and bad road. But once you get to the resort, you do get a good view of the city. The room was spotless clean and there was ample parking space. We enjoyed the sunset view from the balcony with a cup of tea. For me, that was the highlight of the trip.

The geyser does not have enough capacity. It cannot cater to 2 people 1 after another. The 2nd guy will have to wait a while for the water to get hot.The breakfast was included in the package it had good Indian breakfast items with coffee/tea and some fruits. However, when I requested some eggs to be made I was told that it would be charged separately. I think eggs are quite an integral part of breakfast and should be free of charge, but anyways.

The staff was very hospitable and took care of us. However, I think it’s a little overpriced for what I experienced. It’s a good 3.5 star resort.

Room Tip: Take rooms 304 or the one adjacent (305 or 306 not sure). It offers good views of the ooty city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Sir

Greetings from Berry Hills Resort

Many thanks for taking your time to review your stay in Berry Hills. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the view , cleanliness and service in our resort. With respect to the access , it is 900 metres from the main state highway (Dodabetta Road) and the steep climb is only 150 metres and we are in talks with the local authorities to do up the road which they have promised but would take some time. Your suggestion about the breakfast is considered. With regard to geyser, it takes 20 minutes to warm because of the weather. It is good to know that you enjoyed the food served. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The place is a must visit,the view is breathtaking,the service is great,food was ok,overall a good experience.The approach road was a bit bumpy .The rooms are clean & neat.The only negative feedback is about the food,it was just about ok,nothing much to rave about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly my thanks to you for taking your time in reviewing your stay in Berry Hills. It is a oleasure to know that you enjoyed the facilities in our property .Thanks for your kind words about the cleanliness and service. Our appologies to you if the food served did not meet your expectation.if you had informed us during your stay we could have catered to your taste. Looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is a blessing for people who likes a serene surrounding.
- The view from the hotel is amazingly beautiful.
- Rooms are above expectation.
- Food is Excellent
- Staffs are friendly and responsive.

Would highly recommend this place.




  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berryhills, Owner at Berry Hills Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Berry Hills resort ooty.

Many thanks for your review about our property in trip Advisor. It makes us feel really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our property . We are also elated to know that our quality and service met your expectation. Looking forward for your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berry Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry Hills Resort

Address: 333 Old Ooty | Stone House Hill Post, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Berry Hills Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berry Hills Resort Ooty is an ideal leisure destination suitably located facing the picturesque ooty town and the blue mountains of the western ghats .The Resort is craftfully designed with mordern luxury and colonial antique style.The luxury resort is affordable and scenically located though not far away from the city centre. The resort is situated on a pristine environment on one of the many slopes of Dodabetta ( the highest peak of south india).The cool and calm surroundings of the lawns of Berry hills and the variety of birds to watch for makes a stay in Berry Hills a memorable one. The wooden flooring and private balconies from the superior rooms with amazing view of the western ghats as a complement would be a dream come true for an avid vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Berry Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Hills Resort India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berry Hills Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.