We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woodberry - choose it when you think of Ooty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodberry Residency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woodberry Residency to your Saves list
Woodberry Residency
Old Employment Office Road, Behind to Sacred Heart Church, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Woodberry Resorts)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Woodberry - choose it when you think of Ooty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Woodberry is the most recommended place for stay in Ooty. Moderate pricing, excellent services with most humble staffs around, I cant say any single word which goes in the negative list about this resort. Nice new rooms, good view of the Nilgiris from the balcony, good food, excellent arrangement regarding your travel requirements and so on .. I stayed in the resort with my wife and son during April,2013 for 3 days on a vacation and vow to stay again whenever next time.. I wish the resort managing team a hats-off to make my vacation a memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    68
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
105
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

First of all, its not a resort. We went to Ooty in January 2013. We booked Sagar Holiday Resorts prior travel. After the poor experience at Sagar we went to see the 2nd most ranked hotel in ootty. To our surprise, what we saw was a 3 floor building with drainage water leaking at the basement, some construction works going on in some rooms. The manager told they don't have a kitchen. If you need break fast or any other meal we have to inform them 4 hours earlier.
Conclusion:-
Avoidable

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodberryresorts, General Manager at Woodberry Residency, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Will you be kind enough to give the details as, in which name the room has been taken and the exact date of stay, as even after a thorough search in our guest records, we could not find any guest in your name stayed in our place at any time. This will help us and other travelers to clarify the authenticity.

Thanks & Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

After a night's stay at Woodberry Resorts in Ooty over the last weekend, I realised why it was rated the 2nd best hotel to stay at in Ooty. In my opinion, however, I think it deserves 1st place, especially for the nominal amount that they charge for their rooms.
ROOMS: We travelled as 4 adults and a toddler and therefore chose a 2 bedroom apartment. Our rooms were on the first floor and overlooked the botanical garden (though all we could see were the tree tops) and the hillocks around Charring Cross. The rooms on the 2nd floor had a much better view. The bathrooms had all the basic amenities with branded fixtures. There are no fans in the rooms, but after about 4 trips to Ooty at various parts of the year, trust me...you don't ever need one.
Check-in and Check-out: The room was kept ready and we were able to check in as soon as we reached. No check-in formality. The bill, during check-out was settled withing 5 mins thanks to the super efficient and helpful girl and the reception.
*Car parking is available for about 6 cars
*No power back-up ( However, the GM had an emergency light which he gave us in case the electricity went off)
*The hotel is situated off the botanical garden road, on a hillock, barely a 5 min walk to Charring Cross-the main shopping area in Ooty.
*Thick quilts are provided in every bedroom
*Every bedroom has an LCD TV with a cable connection.
*The resort/hotel is fairly new so they don't have a restaurant, but they have a menu where you can place an order for food about 3 hours before you'd require it. We ordered a couple of items for dinner from them and were not disappointed. Pricing is very reasonable.
*Since we were just 4 adults sharing a 2 bedroom apartment, we were given complimentary bfast which was another major plus point.
*Coffee, tea and bottled water are available throughout the day at a nominal rate.
*Good option for people travelling with small children as the management is very accommodating with special requests such as storing or warming up kids' milk/food.
*The best part of the stay was the helpfulness of the GM - Mr George. We ran into some problems during our stay in Ooty - the 1st day our car engine overheated, and the 2nd day, our car had a flat tyre. Mr George offered to send one of his boys to the center of town to pick up coolant for the car, and the next day, he personally helped one of his men change our flat tyre and then got the flat repaired. All this when he had some other commitments.
Overall, the perfect place to stay in Ooty. It has everything one looks for in a hotel - clean, spacious rooms and bathrooms, good proximity to the center of town, value for money and a very efficient management team.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room have a better view. Opt for 1st floor if travelling with elders or children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I visited this place on 18th April . Very clean chic spacious rooms. Nice location near to garden coffee day cut road. Friendly people. Especially Ismail I liked 'his smile' and friendliness. On seeing the photos on trip advisor I was hesitant and didn't expected much from this property and also didn't impressed me much on arrival as it look liked an apartment but all scepticism vanished within few minutes.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The cleanliness and the hospitality of the staffs really surprised me... They realy did it well...eventhough i visited ooty for many times, then also I could say that it was a different experience this time... Only bcoz i selected woodberry... Thanx to them...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Nice location, Nice, clean and big size room
Room service is lighting fast. we stay there for 4 nights 5 days,
my one year old son enjoy like home.
they required in built restaurant, and need to improve/add more north Indian dishes. need to improve good reception interior to make it more attractive,
it's in the heart of the city, so you can reach in market by walk.
in our Gujarat we say "ATITHI DEVO BHAVA" Guest is our god, and they prove it.

Thanks a lot to woodbarry staff to make our stay comfortable

Room Tip: Front side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Good location good service very peacefull location all important places are near to wood berry resorts only walkable distance botanical garden and market inside the hotel very neat and clean room services and food verry good

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodberry Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodberry Residency

Address: Old Employment Office Road, Behind to Sacred Heart Church, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Woodberry Resorts)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty
#1 Family Hotel in Ooty
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the heart of Ooty, but in a serene place where you can restore your souls. A brand new haven in Ooty which provides you a tranquil stay away from all the disturbances of the city. You can find your inner peace while staying in our place.Our motto is to give maximum service to our customers to retain the loyalty for the future.Woodberry Residency....where you can live completely. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Woodberry Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodberry Residency India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodberry Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.