We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a cafe in Ooty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willy's Coffee Pub

Willy's Coffee Pub
KCR Arcade | Walsham Road, Ooty, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 72 Restaurants in Ooty
Cuisines: Eastern European
Restaurant details
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gem of a cafe in Ooty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a very small cafe located in Charring Cross in one of the by-lanes. You have to walk up a tiny flight of stairs before you come to this quaint cafe. It has a very nice ambiance. It is the ideal place if you want to sit and read a book while sipping on some hot coffee or latte. The owner is extremely friendly and makes you feel at home. We were 3 of us and ordered pizzas, ice cream, burgers and even coffee which came up to around Rs 400. Extremely reasonable for the quality of food served. Must visit for everyone who visits Ooty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampi, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“cosy , cheap eats , book readers haven !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A nice lil cafe tucked away in a small street off charring cross , the cafe is well hidden , up a set of stairs ,so it may be hard to spot but worth finding .
A really nice warm environment,kinda like a bookshop cafe, plenty of reads to borrow while sipping a cuppa and enjoying a lil treat .
Willys serves sweets and savouries, savoury menu is fairly priced with value for money snacks, Willy himself is really warm and welcoming , its a really nice place to relax for a while and escape the cold .
Snacks from 20 rps to pizzas, wraps, fries, burgers 40 rps to 70 rps.... cakes, icecreams 50 onwards, coffee, tea around 25 rps.
Nice lil place, glad we got to try it out !!! Pizzas are minni but yumbo :-):-):-) our fave on the menu !!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A well placed Cafe with amazing prices and one lovely surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Tucked away on a tiny street on the first floor of a building is this lovely little haven called Willy's Coffee Pub. A library with a game corner and light bites that are light on your pocket as well! It was my first visit to this place with Family and Friends, even though I have been a regular visitor to Ooty. A pleasant refreshing surprise for all I would say, they have puzzles and board games for all ages! A must visit for the bookworm, the board-game fanatic or the coffee pot!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Best value cafe in India!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We found this place in TA and I am glad we did because we walked by three time without seeing it. It is up a flight of stairs down a back street and when you walk in you first think you have walked into a library. In fact they run a lending library as well as the cafe. The place was full of locals, but they made room for us and we had two excellent pizzas brimming with topping.
We first thought that for the price we would need an extra one but one each was plenty. The meal including lime sodas was under $5 - unbeatable value. There was a great friendly atmosphere

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooty, Tamil Nadu
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A fantastic bargain of a cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Willy's is wonderful! Great for grabbing a toastie or a yummy piece of cake (the banana cake is excellent!). The food is so reasonable and they have a good range of drinks - I love the fresh lime slush and the little cups of Masala tea. This is a fairly difficult place to find if you don't know Ooty but well worth it if you are after a snack or lunch. The staff are really friendly too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willy's Coffee Pub also viewed

 

Been to Willy's Coffee Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willy's Coffee Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.