We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel at the Hill Top” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gem Park-Ooty to your Saves list
Gem Park-Ooty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Hotel at the Hill Top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

It is a nice Hotel in the mountain. The rooms in the higher floors are good. Ample parking space is there with gardens around the hotel. The hotel is having a nice swimming pool. The hotel is about three kilometeres from the Charingcross junction and in the mountain, private transport is a must.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the higher floor which are well maintained compared to those in the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    139
    53
    24
    17
See reviews for
156
93
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We reached the hotel on 8th early morning & booked to double bed rooms. Rooms were not clean & heater were not working. After telling multiple times somehow got the small external heater in the evening & got the room cleaned. But wasn't up to the mark. Heater was so small that couldn't heat up the room & when asking why the central heater is not working, the excuse was that we are under maintenance, That was really a lame excuse. We were charged hefty & the service was pathetic. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone with the service i got.

Room Tip: I would suggest to go for some good home stay & do read the review before booking any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this beautiful hotel.

Good view of city from Restaurant located on top floor.

ver all the entire hotel is good, food is excellent, room service is good, location is first class.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirupur, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Well I as a Travel Agent when many times to ooty. this time i and my family member planed for ooty after 1 year period. we found gem park ooty. when reached ooty they welcomed well with good manner. also upgraded us for compliment diamond suit . it was wonderful expereinced we received from hotel. thanks to team member. Night dinner buffet and morning breakfast was a complimentary. it was nice and excellent food we had in ooty. it is heart of ooty . very easy to come and go arounds . gardens and swinmming pool was very nice. also chines restrurant and bar also nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I got a good discount at cleartrip and the hotel was really a good stay for that cost. Rooms are very neat.prompt room service and you get hot water round the clock.Food menu was very expensive so didn't even try any food. Tea or milk cost Rs.130 but 100% worth, because they give four full cups for 1 portion tea or milk and its very good. Kids play options not so great. Gym average. Need to have car to commute to main bazaar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The hotel is very well located, with a great view from the rooms. It feels a bit outdated, as if it used to be great ten years ago. The restaurant is ok, but nothing special. The pool was closed for maintenance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gem Park-Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.