We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my grt trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Save Saved
You added Gem Park-Ooty to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gem Park-Ooty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Ooty
Coimbatore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“my grt trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

its my gud experience in ooty. . wre i'm d 1 who luv traveling & i was 1st tym 2 ooty. . but 2 b frank i luved ooty & i luved gem park holiday inn vry much. . specially bar service. . & d 1 named vivek who works in vally bar was vry FRIENDLY. .and help full 2 me. . in my travling experience i ave never met a person like him. .& s d room servies s k. . its my grt privilege 4 me 2 b in gem park and thanks 2 mr vivek

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Mr. Karthi,

Thank you very much for your review and comments.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty .

With best regards
Vinod
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    126
    51
    22
    17
See reviews for
143
86
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cobham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I shall say no more than this hotel was, by far, the best we have stayed in, in the Hill Stations in Tamil Nadu, service, food, facilities, perfect.
The staff were immensely helpful.
There were two restaurants which, while we were there, were not popular - but probably shgould have been since all served veg and non-veg, and as a westerner you could even get a G&T.
If there was any complaint, orders took quite a while to arrive and seemed to arrive in any sequence ... but a kind smile and a `this before that` to the waiter resolved the problems for the next sitting.

Room Tip: You will find all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Mr. David,

Thank you very much for your review and comments.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty .

With best regards
Vinod
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

the service of the hotel was gud. the buffet breakfast was initially poor. when they asked for suggestions i have suggested for a better breakfast and they have arranged a gud breakfast the next day. overall worth the money and gud service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Armaan,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your review/comment/feedback, which is really very helpful.

We have noted the problem you have mentioned on service and the same has been rectified.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

Thank you
Vinod
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colintraive, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

There are no great hotels in Ooty. Ooty cries out for an Oberoi, a top-end Taj or an Ista, instead there is the Gem Park, which purports to be a Holiday Inn or the Taj (which calls itself the Savoy!) We plumped for Gem Park as it calls itself a Holiday Inn and has a pool. On both counts this would seem to be only a loose association.
The Gem Park is fine as an hotel. The room was good if tired, we paid a little more for a suite and had plenty of room and great views. Bits of the shower were falling off but the bed was clean.
The restaurant was patchy but on the whole fine, they could not poach an egg but the vegetable biriyani was very good. There is also a nice bar with an extensive and extended happy hour. Once the waiter from the adjoining Chinese restaurant had come in and taught the bartender how to mix a gin and tonic we were up and running. In fact we could not work out how the hotel would run without the Chinese waiter who seemed to be everywhere and do everything!
The main problem is the pool. DO NOT GO IN. I think it must be a health hazard. The pool has green water, a slimy green bottom and green furry steps to the ladder. There is only one ladder and it does not reach the bottom. The surrounding floor is dirty with peeling paint The plaster is coming off the walls and the roof looks suspect. The changing rooms are just old store rooms with rummage sale furniture and the showers down there did not work well. A whole tap section came off in my husband's hand! I repeat, do not go in. Best idea might be to level it and put up a marquee thing for weddings.
Yet, despite all this we had a good time and liked poor old Ooty.

Room Tip: Pay more for a suite, it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Bridgetlna,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!!!

Thank you for your review regarding your stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Thank you
Vinod
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If there is a name to define customer maniacs in Ooty.. It has to be the team at Gem Park!

Right from check-in until you depart, its all about customer's convenience. Despite a load on both, check in and check out, I was out of the reception desk in less than 10 minutes. The awesome valley view, comfortable seating spaces, expansive lawns, climate controlled swimming pool, comfortable rooms - are what I had seen on the website while requesting the booking. But I was astonished by the level of commitment and service deliveries by each and every employee at the hotel. Responses to my email requests were prompt and crisp. All that I had requested was available when I arrived. Rooms were ready and promptly setup as desired.

Porter service is the best I have seen in recent times. Service at the restaurants was excellent too. Shekar & Magesh the two F&B managers are available all the time, you just have to look up from your plate and they are by your side to assist!! All this, while being non-intrusive and you are made to feel at home.

Highly recommended place for those who seek efficient service levels besides the great comfort and food on a holiday!!

Room Tip: The 7th floor.. any room... oversee the Ooty city valley and wake up to the sun shining from behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Mr. Mehta,

Thank you very much for your review and comments.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty .

With best regards
Vinod
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is good and has easy access to the town, we were greeted to a very refreshing cold lemon tea ( the best one i had ever tasted) and hot steam towel with sweet and friendly staff. the room was neat, clean, with all modern and essential stuffs, the room with a balcony with valley view was just great. the bed and pillows were very very soft and it felt very warm and cozy. The hotel has a discotheque ( which doesn't look like one in any angle :) ).
The lift door closes in a hurry, even the staff was clueless about it. Live music is played in the lobby and in the restaurant in the evening. The indoor swimming pool is good. parking in the basement wasn't a good experience. But overall a very clean and well maintained hotel, Good Value for money and special mention to Ms. Ranjitha for taking care of every bit of our stay.

Room Tip: valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Mr. Kuder,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your review/comment/feedback, which is really very encouraging and helpful.

We have noted the problem you have mentioned with the elevator and the same has been rectified.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

Thank you
Vinod
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was here in June 2004. Well mannered professional staff. Good food. We arrived at the hotel at noon and relished some hot creamy soup. The front desk even arranged local sight seeing. Room service is quick. I had booked King Bed room with an excellent view of the valley.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Mr. Mohammad,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your review/comment/feedback, which is really very encouraging and helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

Thank you
Vinod
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gem Park-Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.