We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem Park - a Gem among hotels in Ooty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gem Park-Ooty to your Saves list
Gem Park-Ooty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gem Park - a Gem among hotels in Ooty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here with my family for a few days during our recent trip to Ooty. The hotel overlooks the serene Nilgiri mountains, giving us many picturesque views. As we checked in, we were greeted with hot lemon tea and warm smiles by the staff. The check-in was swift. Very special thanks to Subramani - Reservation In-charge, who confirmed our booking promptly and made sure that we get the best available room. The room was really clean and over looking the valley. The food was absolutely delicious and service was fast and efficient. The staff was really cordial and they went to great lengths to make us feel special. Rajaraman and his food and beverage team led by Pradeep did an excellent job. A professionally managed hotel with extreme personal touch. Thank you Mr. Khan, Pradeep, Vinod and Chef for making our stay memorable. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay, and providing feedback. It is GEM PARK'S goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    155
    58
    27
    18
See reviews for
177
106
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We read some rather negative reviews of the Gem Park, but didn't have much choice about going there, thanks to booking late at a busy time. But we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the hot sweet lemon tea offered to us on arrival and several times afterwards was a nice touch. The bedrooms are clearly not brand new, but ours was perfectly clean and the views from the picture window were great. The beds were very comfortable and the gorgeous fluffy soft feather pillows were a real treat. Ooty itself is rather scruffy, but the tea-growing,hilly countryside around is lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your review/feedback, which is really very encouraging and helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back at Gem Park Ooty in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

on my 9 wk tour of both India & Sri Lanka - whilst enjoying the tea, coffee, cardoman plantations, historic buildings, nature, walks & drives through beautiful Tamil Nadu & Ooty I had the privilege & joy of guesting @ this delightful, quaint yet cosmopolitan hotel - set in the most lovely hill top location overlooking tea plantations, gardens & a fabulous indoor swimming pool - the staff, rooms, restaurant, grounds all made my visit here so very happy & memorable..... Including being invited to a traditional Indian Wedding party one evening :-) - quite delightful.... Namaste & Danuvad/Shukria to one & all...... Marion.

Room Tip: overlooking the lovely gardens of the hotel & tea plantations valley is so beautiful....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay, and providing feedback. It is GEM PARK'S goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip!
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

we went along with family, nice place....rooms are quiet large and good......food is also nice,,,,,only thing as kids playing room are in bad phase....so i requested to hotel management also as after evening there is not too much for tourist to go out and kids want to do something extra as dont want to just sleep in room...for them there is nothing to do...much........rest staff are cooperating........but one thing ...there swiming pool area is very noce and maintained.....

Room Tip: room facing ooty city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was here for a friends wedding. The service here is extremely efficient and the staff takes good care of you, however the rooms are dated and a real let down. Though the stay was really comfortable, the ambience was disappointing.The food was pretty good and nothing to complain about here. Overall an ok experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodgempark, Front Office Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Vasudevan,

Greetings from Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your review and definitely it will help us to serve you better.

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel has be renovated with 25+ rooms and approximately 20+ rooms will very soon go under renovated with the all modern amenities.

We look forward to welcome you in future

With best regards
Vinod
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I visited this hotel with my family - brother, mom, dad and aunt. This place is hard to reach on foot and one will need private conveyance even for travelling to close distances and sight seeing which is a must when you visit ooty. The hotel is big and one gets a feeling of grandness at the entrance. A great place for people who wish to break away from the daily lifestyle and relax with family or friends in nature's lap and moderate luxury. We booked two rooms which were quite big and connected with a doorway and had amazing views.
My family loved the grandness offered by rooms and the hotel. The rooms had small televisions and did not offer great value with limited channels. The bathrooms were big with bath tubs and with most bathing accessories. I enjoyed the long relaxed bathtub bath. The beds were cozy and comfortable and I had a comfortable sleep. The amazing view from the balcony from our rooms at 2nd floor were unbeatable and are the best feature in this analysis. I fondly remember the musicians who played guitar and tabla in the evening. lovely relaxing music.
Totally recommend this for a family trip or a group trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palakkad
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I lost 27k for booking this hotel through my travel agent, i went there, took a look at this hotel and found the pathetic condition, even though i lost the money, Since I dint stay here, dint loose my good holiday ... i think its no more a holiday inn hotel...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ooty
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gem Park-Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.