We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovation , not value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gem Park-Ooty to your Saves list
Gem Park-Ooty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Needs renovation , not value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

I stay here for 3 nights and 4 days with my family. The location of the hotel in very good. The view from hotel , from main dining room and  our room no. 607 was awesome. The garden made by hotel is also nice and quit refreshing . Swimming pool is big and clean. Quality of breakfast and dinner is very nice and lots of option for selection. 
                 Rooms are also big but very old  style. Whole hotel is became very old. Renovation is needed for all things. 
     Service also I got is very bad From all department , from housekeeping they take 45 min. For water botle delivery . At breakfast and dinner there in no help full staff , not satisfied from there service. Even I told them to make parcel of 6 bread toast they said there is no parcel system, it is  very surprising . 
              Overall average exp. 
           Only 5 star for location , views and quality of meals and breakfast . Not for property and service

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Sagar-shah,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I am pleased you liked the location. I was disappointed to read that some aspects did not meet your expectations. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    129
    51
    23
    17
See reviews for
145
90
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Poor cleanliness. Rooms in shambles. Broken beds. Carpets that were cleaned a decade ago. If you have to spend this kind of money, you can find much better and much cleaner options. Only saving grace is the staff that tries to be courteous. In short - dont go for Holiday Inn. It is a Gem Park Hotel. Nothing Holiday Inn about it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear manevm,

Thank you for staying with us and your kind words about our staff. It is always nice to get a compliment.

I just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day.

I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

For a chain hotel from the Holiday Inn stable, this was a bit surprising.... the property needs a lot of upkeep.... needs a fresh look. Whether its the lobby, restaurants, pool, rooms etc. a lot of loose ends need to be tightened. While, they still strive to maintain the service levels, its still difficult when the freshness is missing...... especially not worth when compared to the price you are paying....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear RahulRangnekar,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I'm sorry you were not satisfied with the hotel conditions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

its high price, services do not meet the tariffs. Bathrooms were choked.I requested for change of room which was done, still another chocked bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Tabassum N,

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, specifically our bathroom facilities. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.


Sincerely,


Orlando A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hotel is located on a quiet hillside minutes from the center of town. There are stunning views of the valley and mountains beyond from much of the property, the main dining room and some guest rooms.

The hotel must have been very nice when it first opened, but now it is showing signs or wear and tear. The public areas, while spotless, do need some upkeep and my room had worn stained carpet, sink and bathtub. As well the hot water in the shower varied between off and scalding. However the room was massive, with a separate seating area and lovely valley view. My room windows opened, a nice change from most hotels.

I experienced excellent service at the front desk, the bar and in the main dining room.

The food was good, and there was sufficient variety. Alcohol is available but it is very expensive so brace yourself.

I was there midweek in March, and the hotel was very empty. Only one of two restaurants were open – Toda Café was open for all meals. They had quiet live music at dinner which was a nice touch.

If you are considering this hotel I strongly recommend you call to check on the status of what you require. During my stay the pool was closed, I was told it was only heated in Saturdays. There is supposed to be wi-fi but it did not work on Apple devices. I used the business center instead, which is actually one old PC in a stuffy room, and it did not work well, requiring re-booting a couple of times. I did not attempt to use the spa or gym, so I have no comments on those facilities.

I’m rating the hotel as average, but the valley location and view is five star.

Room Tip: The higer floors have nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear wheres-fluffy,

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced

I was disappointed to read that some aspects did not meet your expectations. I am pleased that our staff was able to off set this displeasure with great service. I was glad to hear you were able to enjoy our views which are spectacular!

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

a very good picnic with my team mates was indeed good. We made the stay at the Holiday inn resorts. Hotel is located in a silent locality, a few kilometres away from the main town .We made bookings from Antilog Vacations online as they give good hotel rates & cheap packages as well for sightseeing etc,the first night there a corporate .party was going on so very good place to enjoy

Room Tip: view with back hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siemens Ltd.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

A short trip to ooty with my team mates was indeed good. We made the stay at the Holiday inn resorts. Hotel is located in a silent locality, a few kilometres away from the main town .We made bookings from Antilog Vacations online as they give good hotel rates & cheap packages as well for sightseeing etc.Taking booking from hotel is highly priced and you also don’t get the required service

The resort facilitated fine services. The staff was polite rather than friendly. We had a drive from cochin to ooty via our tour operator. We were a bit disappointed for not being served welcome drinks. But the beauty around the resort made us compromise that little part. .From the room one looks either into the mists and fog or surreal beauty of a green oasis depending on what the day brings. It is a good property with great views. It is not newly constructed but have been maintained well. It has indoor swimming pool & maintained garden area.

We ate in both restaurants (Indian and Chinese) and had excellent meals. Breakfast provided a wide choice from the buffet. Bedroom had 2 queen beds and a lounge area with good views. Room decor is of a standard 3 star hotel. Old style TV ( though we did not watch the TV, some would prefer a good one). and the wooden flooring has started to show the age.

Bathroom was adequate. Air con did not seem easy to adjust. The rooms were well appointed and were always clean and the plumbing worked well. The Maharaja of Mysore's summer palace is near by which also offers accommodation but best for a visit for coffee or evening drink with a return to the absolute comfort of the Inn. And the car parking priority was for the cabs and buses coming in with tourists, rather than for people staying. This was a matter to be disliked as we were not properly served the parking facility though our agent managed it .

The band would play instrumentals of old Hindi songs. The service of Hotel staffs are also very nice. Overall its a lovely place to stay and next time if go Ooty.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Anand M,

Thank you for your recent stay, and providing feedback. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip!

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gem Park-Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.