We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gem Park-Ooty to your Saves list
Gem Park-Ooty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Awesome stay and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The hotel is well placed . Had a very friendly staff . The only thing they need to improve is on the breafast menu , The menu was repetative with no Non Veg items in it .
Else would recommed this to everyone as the best hotel in ooty.The rooms are quite spacious and well manintained. The lobby and the facilities is top class and are kept very neatly .

Room Tip: Opt for a valley facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    134
    52
    23
    17
See reviews for
151
91
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

been there in the last Christmas time. It was pretty coslty (5k/night) but booked it as i didnt get any other hotel. Went there with big hopes and the reception was looking good and we checked in as soon as we reached there. But the happiness was not there for long time as the room was looking ordinary. It was ok room but not up to the level to Holiday inn compared to other location. We were forced to take the Christmas eve dinner which was almost 2k/head but it was pathetic :( The breakfast was descent. The hotel itself is very old and i think it really needs a good makeover.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raju2362, General Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your review and definitely it will help us to serve you better.

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel would be renovating approximately 30+ rooms very soon as early as in December 2011, which will have all modern amenities.

We have noted your remarks on Christmas dinner menu and will take necessary corrective actions this year.

With best regards
Raju Shrestha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We went for the long weekend to Ooty and stayed at here. The location is beautiful and is a longish walk (15-20 mins) to the city. we had driven down so this wasnt an issue. ON the plus side:
1. Nice rooms - though they show their age
2. Service is good - the staff is courteous and helpful
3. Breakfast - we liked the breakfast buffet - large spread and sumptious.

Stuff that we felt could be improved upon:
1. The lunch/dinner buffet wasnt up to the mark for the price (Rs 450 + Taxes. )
2. We ordered some room service. Though the service was prompt, the food wasnt great. Eventually we decided to stick to the breakfast at the hotel and dine out
3. They claim to have a night club - we thought we'd give it a shot - but its deserted and is pretty sad.
4. The internet never worked for me - this was a big bummer!
5. The rooms are nice overall - but they're starting to show their age. In One corner of our room the carpet had frayed totally and looked like the wood below had rotted through...nitpicky I admit - but one assumes that a Holiday Inn would take care of details like these.

Room Tip: Try and a get a valley view room and check with the hotel so that you get a room where the trees don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed overnight on a recent trip. Beautiful views, excellent service and very helpful people. Will definitely visit again on a leisure trip and enjoy all the facilities.

Room Tip: Choose a valley view room for excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed in Holiday Inn in Ooty in August. Yes, it was not the warmest weather outdoors but we were just freezing in the room!! Internet was not working and various attempts to get hold of any assistance failed. You'd be waiting for hours to get anything done in the room. Bathroom was quite bad as well.

The worth was the travel desk. I ordered a taxi to pick me up from the train station in coonoor but cancelled it two hours in advance, they still charged me for it!!!! I was leaving the hotel in a terrible mood, with a running nose and a promise to myself never come again.

The only positive thing was the friendliness of staff in the restaurant but that's about it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Good rooms, quality food, quiet environs and scenic location all at a decent price. Great place to be if you have own transport or do not mind the 15 min walk to the town. Please book online for advance purchase rates which are heavily discounted. difficult to get bookings on long weekends and festival holidays so plan early. Try dining options nearby (kings cliff, Sinkows)

Slightly slow service and some niggling issues. There was a problem with water drain in the bathroom and were promptly shifted to another room.

Room Tip: Take rooms in higher floors for Valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raju2362, General Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your review/comment/feedback, which is really very encouraging and helpful.

We have noted the problem you have mentioned on drainage system and the same has been rectified.

We look forward to welcome you back at Holiday Inn Gem Park Ooty in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

Thank you
Raju Shrestha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is a top notch hotel to stay in. The rooms are large, comfortable, well maintained and very inviting. Clealiness is top notch.

Room service is excellent, the staff are very friendly. Facilities are adequate, though when I travelled the swimming pool was under repair.

The food's excellent and a decent value for money. Location is pretty decent too.

Though on the costlier side, this is a good value for money too

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have better views of the Valley and Ooty town
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raju2362, General Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your feedback and encouraging comments, which really encourages us to do better in days to come.

We look forward to welcome you back in Ooty in near future and we assure you of our best services at all times.

with best regards
Raju Shrestha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gem Park-Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.