We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In place like Ooty, Holiday Inn could do much better ! Below expectations!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Save Saved
You added Gem Park-Ooty to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gem Park-Ooty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 70 hotels in Ooty
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“In place like Ooty, Holiday Inn could do much better ! Below expectations!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed at Holiday Inn just after Christmas for a couple of nights. It has a good hill top location. We felt that it was a bit over priced for what it provides. Whilst we had had no check in problems, the Reception could be improved with both ambience and service. The staff could certainly do with some training in soft skills.

The hotel has some fantastic views of the valley and tea plantations.

The lobby and the restaurants had been poorly decorated for the Christmas, perhaps cutting down on their costs but we felt it certainly had a scope to do better and offer better service. Being in the Travel/Hospitality sector, we have travelled extensively world wide and wanted to explore the Southern Region of India for potential market. What we look out is for both ambience and good hospitality. Sadly, we were much disappointed when we were declined to dine in the main restaurant as we are strict vegetarians and would only order on ala carte per our diet whilst the main restaurant served on buffet basis and therefore we had to dine in one of their other chinese restaurant where they had no guests dining. We felt segregated and felt very uncomfortable despite they catered for our diet. Having travelled worldwide, we have never had problems with our dining and have never experienced anything like this before. We enjoy mingling with other travellers/guests and like a buzz when dining rather than being shunned in an uninviting atmosphere. In fact, they were suggesting we dine in our own rooms but honestly the rooms were not too brilliant to have our dinner in-room.

The rooms and general services were average. Staff could be a little more friendlier and surely lacked efficiency. We bought some tea on sale at a counter set up in the breakfast room and had to wait ages before we got our change.

Suggestions for the management were briefly put through to the Asst . front office Manager, Mr Vinod Kumar, who kindly listened. Unfortunately, we did not have enough time to meet up with the General Manager.

As for the Spa/swimming pool , it was being maintained we were told , so we could not experience it.

They had a chocolate counter in the lounge which was never attended.

Room Tip: If possible view the rooms beforhand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    118
    49
    20
    16
See reviews for
133
86
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

On a long week end me and my family took off to ooty on 13th aug. We stayed in this hotel and had a very good relaxed holiday.the location of this hotel is superb and has a very good view of mountains.We were greeted very well by the hotel manager during check in .we booked 2 rooms and both the rooms were very good and had a good view facing the hotel gardens.This hotel has a big staff to take care of the guests particularly in the restaurant section.The quality of the food is very good and u can get pampered by the chef and the rest of the soft spoken staff. The best part of this hotel is the heated large swimming pool and a seperate section for parties/disco. Had a very good time. If i have to visit ooty again,i have no choice but to stay in this good hotel.

Room Tip: u can opt for room 515
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed in Hotel Holiday Inn Gem Park for 4 nights. That was one of the best trip. We have been to Ooty many times but this visit was different and Holiday Inn made that difference. The rooms are calm and quiet. Restaurants serve a variety of mouth watering foods. One thing I like was that while serving the food they will tell you what dish they are serving and after the food, the chief steward will come and ask how was the experience. The band would play instrumentals of old Hindi songs. The service of Hotel staffs are also very nice. Overall its a lovely place to stay and next time if go Ooty, I would prefer to stay in the same place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We visited During the independence day weekend.The hotel was fully occupied and the town was bursting at its seams.We read lot of positive and negative reviews about this
hotel earlier,but did not experience any inconvenience at all.The rooms were fine,staff were
courteous,though needed little more smiles,food was good,and any kind of problems
arising out of overcrowding was not visible.Hotel even organised flag hoisting too.Shortcomings are that there is nothing for children .When there is such occupancies,
Hotels should organise extra activities like bonfire,barbecue nights and some such thing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raju2362, General Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your review.

It will definitely help and assist us to serve you better and we have noted the comments you have made with regard to facilities for kids.

For your information, during the period of stay, we did organize a Cartoon Film show for Kids in Aliens in the afternoon and definitely we will organize more of such activities in future.

Thank you once again for your valuable inputs and we assure you of our best service at all times.

With best Regards
Raju Shrestha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011 via mobile

Hotel is in excellent location. We had 2 rooms overlooking the Doddabetta peak which was amazing. Service both at the restaurant and room was top. We were disappointed by the lack of basic facility in the hotel. Ac was non-operational and no central heating. On complaining of cold room we were provided with heaters which made you think if this was holiday inn or some guest house! There was a foul smell in the toilet which thehousekeeping tried unsuccessfully to remove. The television was another issue. We had 2 kids with us who were unable to watch any of the children channel as those all had tamil voice-over! The hotel was unable to do anything about it which we had 2 irate kids to please all the time given the fact that the kids room was also in poor condition and cold! Swimming pool was another grouse - we had specifically boked the holiday inn for the indoor pool facilitywhich was supposed to be temperature controlled. What nobody mentioned at the time of booking was the fact that the pool was temperature controlled only on saturday! All in all not a bad place to stay and i'd recommend the excellent service but the hotel could do a bit more by behaving like the start rating it claims!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

wonder how did the hotel get associated with a brand like Holiday Inn.. there is no trade mark professionalism of Holiday Inn Visible
- I ordered for a Martini Drink..it was served to me in a Ice Cream Bowl!
- The bathroom showers didnt work and i tried to do someting about it and cut my fingers
- There is no AC in the rooms..when i asked for a fan i was given one which had a loose plug.all night i had to vigil the plug.

when i took this up with the hotel manager i was put in an exec room but the sour taste remained..
you can go to this hotel but dont expect too much!..
Price is really very exorbitant..you may want to visit it probably if someone is sponsoring your stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrissur, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We had been to Holiday inn gem park ooty during may 2011.It was family trip with my wife and 2 kids.we stayed in a deluxe a/c room.the room was good with an excellent view of the city.The hotel had very good lawn and well maintained garden .bathroom and the room was kept tidy and the staff were keen in responding to the call.
Food in the hotel was good.all together our stay 4 two days were enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raju2362, General Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your review and feedback, really appreciate.

With best regards

Raju Shrestha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gem Park-Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.