We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That was a lovely stay....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gem Park-Ooty to your Saves list
Gem Park-Ooty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“That was a lovely stay....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed in Hotel Holiday Inn Gem Park for 4 nights. That was one of the best trip. We have been to Ooty many times but this visit was different and Holiday Inn made that difference. The rooms are calm and quiet. Restaurants serve a variety of mouth watering foods. One thing I like was that while serving the food they will tell you what dish they are serving and after the food, the chief steward will come and ask how was the experience. The band would play instrumentals of old Hindi songs. The service of Hotel staffs are also very nice. Overall its a lovely place to stay and next time if go Ooty, I would prefer to stay in the same place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    132
    52
    23
    17
See reviews for
149
91
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We visited During the independence day weekend.The hotel was fully occupied and the town was bursting at its seams.We read lot of positive and negative reviews about this
hotel earlier,but did not experience any inconvenience at all.The rooms were fine,staff were
courteous,though needed little more smiles,food was good,and any kind of problems
arising out of overcrowding was not visible.Hotel even organised flag hoisting too.Shortcomings are that there is nothing for children .When there is such occupancies,
Hotels should organise extra activities like bonfire,barbecue nights and some such thing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raju2362, General Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your review.

It will definitely help and assist us to serve you better and we have noted the comments you have made with regard to facilities for kids.

For your information, during the period of stay, we did organize a Cartoon Film show for Kids in Aliens in the afternoon and definitely we will organize more of such activities in future.

Thank you once again for your valuable inputs and we assure you of our best service at all times.

With best Regards
Raju Shrestha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011 via mobile

Hotel is in excellent location. We had 2 rooms overlooking the Doddabetta peak which was amazing. Service both at the restaurant and room was top. We were disappointed by the lack of basic facility in the hotel. Ac was non-operational and no central heating. On complaining of cold room we were provided with heaters which made you think if this was holiday inn or some guest house! There was a foul smell in the toilet which thehousekeeping tried unsuccessfully to remove. The television was another issue. We had 2 kids with us who were unable to watch any of the children channel as those all had tamil voice-over! The hotel was unable to do anything about it which we had 2 irate kids to please all the time given the fact that the kids room was also in poor condition and cold! Swimming pool was another grouse - we had specifically boked the holiday inn for the indoor pool facilitywhich was supposed to be temperature controlled. What nobody mentioned at the time of booking was the fact that the pool was temperature controlled only on saturday! All in all not a bad place to stay and i'd recommend the excellent service but the hotel could do a bit more by behaving like the start rating it claims!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

wonder how did the hotel get associated with a brand like Holiday Inn.. there is no trade mark professionalism of Holiday Inn Visible
- I ordered for a Martini Drink..it was served to me in a Ice Cream Bowl!
- The bathroom showers didnt work and i tried to do someting about it and cut my fingers
- There is no AC in the rooms..when i asked for a fan i was given one which had a loose plug.all night i had to vigil the plug.

when i took this up with the hotel manager i was put in an exec room but the sour taste remained..
you can go to this hotel but dont expect too much!..
Price is really very exorbitant..you may want to visit it probably if someone is sponsoring your stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrissur, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We had been to Holiday inn gem park ooty during may 2011.It was family trip with my wife and 2 kids.we stayed in a deluxe a/c room.the room was good with an excellent view of the city.The hotel had very good lawn and well maintained garden .bathroom and the room was kept tidy and the staff were keen in responding to the call.
Food in the hotel was good.all together our stay 4 two days were enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raju2362, General Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Gem Park Ooty!

We thank you very much for your review and feedback, really appreciate.

With best regards

Raju Shrestha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The staff at the Reception, Housekeeping and Restaurant were very courteous and helpful. The buffet breakfast was great. However, the Room service menu had very little choice for vegetarians andd the items were also costly. The room flooring and some furniture items showed signs of aging. They could not provide a bucket even on request.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

it was a wonderful experience to stay in this resort .The food was fabulous and there was a lot of variety to choose for.the rooms gave us full luxury .i am very happy with this experience in ooty .we thought that ooty would be too conjusted but it was a shocking experience to see this wonderful city "THE QUEEN OF HILLS".the sight scene organized by ICWA was wonderful.THE nightclub was also nice but among these the best was the borne-fire it was really shocking.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raju2362, General Manager at Gem Park-Ooty, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your review and comments.

We look forward to welcome you back at Holiday Inn Gem Park Ooty .

With best regards
Raju Shrestha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gem Park-Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.