We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace in Tranquility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gem Park-Ooty

Save Saved
You added Gem Park-Ooty to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gem Park-Ooty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 70 Hotels in Ooty
Bangalore, India
1 review
“Peace in Tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

The Hotel has very good ambiance, good food and excellent location. The hotel is Ideal for leisure and relaxation. The view towards the valley makes one happy and rejuvenated. The spa adds to it. But the spa location and design could still be better if there is a view of the valley from each spa room making one more relaxed. The old model of the car and the mural behind which leads to the grand reception lobby makes one feel more welcoming with the landscape lighting in the evenings. The flower arrangements at highlighted corners attracts more attention leading to the landscape outside.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    126
    51
    22
    17
See reviews for
143
86
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Holiday Inn Gem Park - Ooty : Dec 16th 2010

We booked this hotel as part of our honeymoon package through SOTC.
The hotel has a beautiful garden and restaurant "Toda Cafe" where our buffet breakfast and Lunch were arranged are awesome.

The view of the hotel at night is beautiful and the comforts provided by the hotel and the hospitality of the staff is worth appreciating.

There is a home made chocolate shop inside the hotel which provides amazing chocolates and there is a shop inside hotel which provides very beautiful kashmiri shawls and bedsheets at a reasonable price.

This hotel is in the heart of the city and you need not go very far for sight seeing. Ooty is a beautiful city and the hotel added charm to our trip.

Amazing place and worth visiting again and again if you are in Ooty!!

Thanks for making our stay wonderful!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Changed my reservation from Taj Savoy to this hotel on our kids insistence only because this hotel had a swimming pool and some activities for children. From the very beginning i am totally disappointed with this hotel. On 7th may when we reached the hotel after a very tiring drive there was not a single person available to remove my luggage from the car. I managed to carry the luggage to the hotel lobby , yet no response from any one. Finally I had to personally tell to on duty manager to look into it, the reason given was that there was a wedding going on, so was it my fault. Finally we were made to wait in the lobby for about 45minutes then managed to get a room.The food served at Toda cafe or the Jade garden was nothing to write about. Out of the three days we stayed we were served murg methi and fried fish in tartar sauce for two days. They cant even change the menu. For the price they are charging not at all value for money. The gym and the kids zone was poorly lit. Most of the gym equipments were poorly maintained, the table tennis table was broken, carrom was rough in short avoidable. Only saving grace was the location and cleanliness, though we found a spider in the bath tub and a small cockroach in the Toda cafe. When we wanted to buy tea packets from the hotel shop they could not locate the keys and finally when we checked out they were not even able to give us a bill as their system was down. Well so much for a 4 star property.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

This is the best hotel to stay in ooty and its panoramic view from most of the rooms is amazing you should experience it. The chinese restaurant food is excellent. Toda cafe the restauarant is good. All rooms, restaurant have the panoramic view of doddabetta and the valley. In short its a world class hotel preferred by tourists from india and overseas

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

It's a rather tired hotel. Amenities and facilities are good, but very very aged and the rooms show it. Rooms are well maintained but the age shows on the linen and curtains, towels aren't exactly new either. Furniture show their age as they've had multiple coffee and food spills on them with nothing more than a wet clean without any cleaning agent or polishing after. The common areas are a lot better maintained, but the rooms and bathrooms could do with a renovation. Service is ok, but sub par compared to any other 3-4 star: It took me two whole days to get them to remove the room service tray from the front of the room that the previous occupant had left behind!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I read about this place from my fellow TripAdvisors and was a little apprehensive of booking my trip. I had to make sure that it was the best place for the trip I was making as it was my Honeymoon. I was low balling into another place when she confronted me to book the rooms in this place.
I can tell you that she did the right thing by forcing me to book this place. It was absolutely fantastic. Right from the check in to check out, everything was a breeze. The room that I got was very very spacious and comfortable. Though, the management could have done better job on keeping the carpet area and sofa a bit more clean (Thats why 4 stars)
The view from this room was truely something that I am coming back for. All the rooms probably have a valley wide view and the hotel is located at the perfect location. I can assure you that you wont hear a speck of a sound (even if you stay all day long in the room). The price that you might have to pay for the location could be your commute to the downtown (city area) which is 3 kms from this hotel. If you dont have a cab, you wont find a rickshaw (the cheapest mode) and the front desk cannot assist you with this due to the policies (The hotel has a good cab that goes for a decent price per hour). The internet here is quite expensive and I wouldnt really suggest carrying your laptop (unless you are on a business trip).
The food in this hotel is on a bit higher side (though for me, it was ok because it was cheaper than any thing that I could find in US) and you can get a meal at a small premium cost. The morning tea is the best part. It was really great.
If you are planning for a leisure trip, then my tip would be to save some money and spend on this hotel because its worth every penny and you will love it all the way :)

Room Tip: Before you take the keys, inspect the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

This hotel is situated in a spectacular location in the Nilgiri Hills surrounded by tea plantations etc. The rooms and restaurants also enjoy spectacular views across the hills which are really mountains. Not to be missed if you are in Southern India. Ensure you dont miss the train journey even if you only manage a few stations and get off and return you won't be dissappointed. Everything about this hotel and it's location can only be experienced if you take the time to visit.

Room Tip: Eat in the restaurant and enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gem Park-Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Park-Ooty

Address: Sheddon Road, Ooty 643001, India (Formerly Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Park-Ooty 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiri Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Gem Park Ooty has kept itself well with the spirit of the beautiful and picturesque city. It is located in the heart of the town, minutes away from key tourist attractions and major shopping areas. With its convenient location and fine service, the hotel has aptly gained favor of all business and leisure travelers who throng the city throughout the year. The hotel welcomes you to a stunning beautifully done up lobby with impressive Indian art on the walls. It is the spotlessly attired staff, ever ready to do the most to make you comfortable that makes the stay an experience for a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Gem Park-Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gem Park-Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Holiday Inn Ootacamund
Ootacamund Holiday Inn
Gem Park-Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gem Park-Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.