We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty to your Saves list
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77, Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Porvorim, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The property Taj Savoy is very well kept . The service there is really great . Nice place to unwind for few days .

They made sure that our food was to our liking and since i mentioned i prefer Chicken legs they made sure each chicken dish we ordered had the same .

They constantly enquired if we needed anything apart from what was there on menu . It made the stay great .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Nama,

Greetings for the day !!!!

Thank you very much for posting your experience at The Savoy Hotel Ooty on Trip Advisor and for appreciating our hotel

The team and I are delighted to read your positive review of our product, food and facilities.

Also we are happy to notice that your preference in the chicken dishes are met as you like

Thank you once again for your recognition and we hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel. Please feel free to write to us as savoy.ooty@tajhotels.com if you visit Ooty again. We will be glad to have you once again with us

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    224
    71
    19
    10
See reviews for
217
181
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were here to celebrate our Dad's 75 th birthday with our whole family. We stayed here for 3 nights , our family experience was very good and excellent service by total staff . Chef Joseph was very good and he has seen that what ever we need is available . Overall we all had a unforgettable family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Goyal,

Greetings for the day !!!!

I thank you very much for your time to give a positive feedback about our hotel.

I am happy that you found our services, to your liking. Also you celebrated your Dad's 75th birthday with your whole family. We have also noted your comments about chef Joseph and certainly he will duly recognized for his services.

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar,

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Last weekend we stayed at this property for a night. We had booked a 2 bedroom suite and got suite 308 which was very comfortable and well maintained keeping the quaint heritage in mind. Even the walls and the roof were left the way they would have been in the 1800s. The bathroom was very very clean and maintained and gave that 'Taj' hint. In fact as said by many reviewers, you don't miss the views that other hotels provide once you are inside the gates. You can spend a very quality time by just lazing around at the lawns around. The bar had that old world English charm but was not well stocked. Only bare basic options.

The real downer that spoilt the experience was the food. We had reached at around 5ish in the evening and were hungry after a heavy breakfast and a skipped lunch. The first thing after checking we did was order some mix Pakoras, some cutlets and a Margarita Pizza along with tea and coffee. The service was quick but the quality of the snacks left us shocked. Pakoras were super oily. Infact in one of those, I saw oil dripping. Apart from being oily, the preparation was not upto the mark and you can find better pakoras at a roadside tea stall. Presentation was good tough. Now comes to Pizza and cutlets. Surprisingly, they too reeked of oil. This experience spoilt the mood to the extent that we starting looking for options outside somewhere. However, everyone was so tired, we decided to stay back. The snacks we ordered again with the drinks too were below average and nothing to talk home about. No good options at the bar which had barely an option per category.

We went to the dining room for dinner and started of with a soup which smelled like a corriander soup rather than tomato. The paneer, chicken and mutton gravys too didn't taste what they were made to. Infact we had to call the chef and tell him about this. He offered to cook a mutton dish specially for us but that too did not impress us.

The breakfast was a typical 3 star affair with basic bread, cereals and fruit spread with two live dosa and omelette counters.

Overall, a great property capable of being a destination in itself is spoilt by the food which can send the guests out looking for options.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Mr. Vinay Rathore

Thank you for sparing time and posting your detailed review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us at Savoy Hotel, Ooty. We have always been earnest in our endeavour to extend the very best of services to our guests. But nevertheless, at times, in spite of our sincere efforts, we fall short of expectations, and it is only through your valuable feedback on our services which in turn helps us to improve our standards.

We have taken a note of your feedback on meal experience was not satisfactory and was below expectations, we are embarrassed to note that we did not live up to your expectations with our service and the food served, please accept our sincere apologise for the inconvenience caused to you .

we have taken this up seriously with our Executive Chef to brief and train the respective staff accordingly in reworking and taking corrective actions in our preparations and

We request you to kindly not hold anything against us and do give us another opportunity to present the best of the experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Savoy Hotel on your next visit to Ooty and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed @ taj savoy for 3 nights 02 july onwards..on my honymoon trip..weather is awesome and worth going... misty mountains are cool and breeze is very soothing here..house keeping is great..prepared a good bed complimentary... full marks for ravichandran..house keeping man..he got a tip from us as well... superior garden facing room is very good..property is1920's old ..hotel is 1857built..maintained property..but hidden taxes is the biggest hole in your pocket..they ll charge tax for service and complimentary breakfast too..there u will think twice..is the decision to stay there worth??? In my case i went in off season...so no rush..one more point road leading to hotel is very narrow..and poorly maintained...garden inside is beautiful..u can relax and share drink there calmly....

Room Tip: garden facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Ankur,

Greetings for the day !!!!

I thank you very much for your time to give a feedback about our hotel.

I am happy that you found our services, to your liking especially our house keeping associate Mr.Ravi Chandran who done the room decoration arrangements for your stay and certainly he will be duly recognize for his services . Also we have noted that the Value Added Taxes & service taxes charges, charged in your room account for the B/Fast We would like to mention you that B/Fast is complimentary but taxes for the meal plan to be chargeable which to be paid to the government. Hence the charges applied.

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar,

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

old world charm! quaint accommodations! the property is beautiful although no views but u wont miss that once u r inside the gates! the service is great but the quality and taste of the food is very average. i would go there again just for the property.

Room Tip: cottages are better than the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Savoy Hotel. We are happy to know that you like the old charm of our property..

We are concerned to note that you found the food is not your expectation. We are working at improving the food offered and assure you that you will find our food improved on your next visit.

We thank you for the patronage and look forward to your stay with us again.

With best regards
Vibhakar

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Last week we had a very comfortable stay at Taj Savoy Ooty...we stayed in a suite (3 rooms + bath) and a real wood fireplace ! The whole suite was kept in excellent condition, the bathroom was extremely clean and well maintained. Service was prompt and courteous by all staff right from reception and security, to the restaurant. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Shenoy,

Greetings for the day !!!!

I thank you very much for your time to give a positive feedback about our hotel.

I am happy that you found our services, to your liking. Also we have noted the positive comments about the cleanliness of bathroom & wood fire place. We constantly strive to give our guest the best of the services and such positive feedback encourages us to do even better.

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar,

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Hotel is very good. Its like a Heritage Hotel. I love the cottages which has in-built bonn fire place. Also its away from the noise of the City and If you are looking for a peaceful and Luxurious place. This is the place to go. The food is awesome. Ask for the Danish Pastry its yummy delicious and the evening Snacks and Bar is worth to spent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Rachit,

Greetings for the day !!!!

I thank you very much for your time to give a positive feedback about our hotel.

I am happy that you found our services & food to your liking. We constantly strive to give our guest the best of the services and such positive feedback encourages us to do even better.

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards,

Pathyil Vibhakar,

pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty

Address: 77, Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
#3 Business Hotel in Ooty
#6 Family Hotel in Ooty
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced high on a rising hill, the Savoy Hotel sprawls over six acres of landscaped gardens, offering colonial style cottages that were built between 1834-1865. Colorful flowerbeds merge to form a multi-coloured quilt around the cottages, adding to their gentle refinement and old English Charm. A quiet retreat, the Savoy Hotel offers a little pocket of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Ootacamund
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.