We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at savoy on our ooty trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel Ooty

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Hotel Ooty to your Saves list
Savoy Hotel Ooty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77, Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Muscat, Oman
1 review
“stay at savoy on our ooty trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Found this property truly amazing if you are expecting nice heritage to experience
they scored good on staff behavior , and service quality
Food was also quiet good if not great , property is nicely done and facelifted not to ruin the heritage value
the only Low was some of the services and firnge benefits whch you enjoy in 5* were not there
Another improvement area is the wifi services which i guess cud be made avaiable on non charegable basis

Room Tip: you can ask for the family room which has 2 beds and 2 baths its close to reception as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Ooty, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking your time and writing a review about your stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you found the hotel and our services to your liking. We have noted the suggestions which you have given and will try to work upon the same. It is such feedback from guests like you which helps us in identifying our strengths and working on our weaknesses

I once again thank you for choosing Savoy Hotel Ooty for your stay & look forward to having you once again with us

Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    191
    64
    18
    9
See reviews for
181
155
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

2 of us ladies were there the nights of February 5-6, 2014. We stayed in the Villa Flora section built in 1929, at least the sign says so. There is a small ante room with couch and coffee table that closes off completely from the large bedroom which features a working fireplace should you so desire. Next to the fireplace was a small space heater we used instead. It was a little noisy but quite effective. There is only one unoccupied electric plug mounted in the bedroom mounted on a side table draw face. One other in the ante room.
The large bathroom is all marble with the open shower and separate marble clad bathtub partitioned off by a glass wall with a glass door inserted. Very Italian. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied. The staff was solicitous and friendly. I got a good WiFi signal in my room but for once I didn't try to logon or inquire if it was free. Sorry.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Ooty, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking your time and posting a review of your stay with us.

We are glad that you found the stay comfortable & found the services to your liking. It ois such feedback which encourages to do better

We look forward to having you once again at Savoy Hotel Ooty

Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a team offsite at Taj Savoy and it was a memorable occasion. Visiting pristine and clean Ooty in December enjoying the winter was a great experience. Taj Savoy is within the city, close to Charing Cross. But the disadvantage is we were forced to eat only at Taj since there are no good restaurants outside near it or generally in Ooty town. Othrewise, the British style of cottages, the staff, the landscaping were all wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Ooty, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your experience at The Savoy Hotel Ooty on Trip Advisor and for appreciating our hotel.

The team & I are delighted to read a positive review of our product,food & facilities.

Thank you once again for your recognition & we hope to have the pleasure of your continued patronage to our hotel.

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

An interesting hotel with an amazing history. Staff are welcoming and very helpful. There was a great choice of dishes on their menu and the food was very good. The gardens are well kept and a nice place to walk and relax. It was quite cold when we stayed and a great addition was a hot water bottle to warm the bed. If wanted guests can also have a log fire lit in their room. A very enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: The cottages were lovely to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Ooty, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest

It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us in Ooty. We thank you taking your time to give a feedback about our hotel

I am happy that you found our services excellent. The entire team is happy to get such a motivating feedback from you, which I am certain, will help us strive us for even further excellence.

I thank you once again for your time & I look forward to having you once again at bThe Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel is a real treasure if it was cleaned up...oh the potential. Everything is dirty except the sheets and shower. I have stayed in many nicely maintained heritage hotels; this is not one of them. The hotel is old and so is the dirt. The food was very nice and well flavored...the food serving room was dirty. The juice containers were sticky to the touch. Even the hotel manager was in a rumpled suit of clothes. The grounds are well maintained but the outside tables and chairs were dirty. The staff was polite and attentive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Ooty, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest

I thank you for sparing time and posting your detailed review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I regret to note about the inconvenience caused to you with regards to your stay. Your feedback is really important for us and I have personally shared the same with my team to ensure corrective action. We are working on the points which you have mentioned about the upkeep of the hotel

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service. Such precise feedback act as a guiding light us on the path towards guest satisfaction

I thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Savoy Hotel Ooty.

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was the best Heritage Hotel I have been too and the best place to be on a New Year, We have enjoyed every moment in the Hotel except that the food was everyday the same except for a few changes. I would recommend the Hotel management to make changes to the Food category, apart from that everything was the Best.

Room Tip: The Suites are too expensive but worth for a Honeymoon, I would recommend for a Cottage or a Sunny S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Ooty, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Dear Guest,

I thank you for choosing Savoy Hotel Ooty for your stay & ushering the New Year with us.

I am happy that you found our services to your liking. We constantly strive to give our guest the best of the services and such positive feedback encourages us to do even better. I have shared the feedback regarding the food with my kitchen team & try to rework the same

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staad, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel is situated in nice surroundings and has a very colonial atmosphere to it. Reception was very matter-of-fact and despite the warm towel and hot toddy, it lacked the warmth and friendliness of other hotels. Our cottage was built in 1965 and was spacious with a separate dressing room and bathroom. There is no “service with a smile” culture and service was very slow. We found the hotel very run-of-the-mill.
Positive points:
There was an open fire place in the room which was lit upon request. There was also a hot water bottle service, also on request. Both services were much appreciated as it was fairly cold at night and in the early morning.
Negative points:
* There was a strong smell of drainage in the bathroom.
* You had to pay for WiFi.
* The bar was open from 11am to 11pm but there was never anybody there. We waited a good 20 minutes before anyone appeared.
* The buffet was mediocre, as was the service.
* We had the worst over-brewed cup of tea ever! Poor show for a tea producing region.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Ooty, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us & I do appreciate you taking time to share your recent stay with us.

I regret to note about the inconvenience caused to you with regards to your stay. Your feedback is very important to us. It is such feedback from guest which helps us in improving our standards. We will work upon the points which you have mentioned. It is sit is such precise & frank feedback from guests like you which help in in identifying our strengths & ironing out the weaknesses which we have.

I thank you once again for your feedback & look forward to having you back at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Hotel Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Ooty

Address: 77, Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
#7 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced high on a rising hill, the Savoy Hotel sprawls over six acres of landscaped gardens, offering colonial style cottages that were built between 1834-1865. Colorful flowerbeds merge to form a multi-coloured quilt around the cottages, adding to their gentle refinement and old English Charm. A quiet retreat, the Savoy Hotel offers a little pocket of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Savoy Hotel Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Ootacamund
Savoy Hotel Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.