We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel Ooty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Hotel Ooty to your Saves list
Savoy Hotel Ooty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77, Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Chennai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good for family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, very good atmosphere, food also very good, we actually planned our vacation to kodai for 4 days, but discontinued within one day due to bad service, not satisfied with hotels and visited taj savoi ooty and had very good stay, planning to visit again this Summer

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    191
    64
    18
    8
See reviews for
180
155
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were 3 families who checked in together , and must admit , this was one of the best stay ever in a hill station . The property is well spread with lush greenery all around . The children infact were so fascinated with the wide variety of flowers that they got motivated to learn the names of all the flowers grown and took us all on a guided tour around the place to voice their learning .It was a very good experience as it made the kids learn the natural way .
They also had cycles for the room guests ,which all of us made complete us of !!
The food was brilliant and the spread was awesome .
truly a heart warming place .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Ooty, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Anand,

I thank you very much for your time to give a review about your stay with us.

I am happy that you found our services to your liking. We constantly strive to give our guest the best of the services and such positive feedback encourages us to do even better. I thank you for the compliment given to the hotel & team, this will surely go a long way in motivating the team & encouraging us on the path of guest satisfaction.

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels..com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

After having an experience at Monarch, Fernhill Sterling resorts, Fernhills palace, Highland Ooty, tried taj savoy here.

Taj Savoy is definetely the best place to settle down for holidays here. Stayed for three nights here lately. The hotel is actually 175 year old colonial cottages converted into a resort. Here is the feel:

Location : Aptly located few kms away from the hustle bustle of town, this property is nestled into hills. On downside, there are few ugly houses getting built day by day around this lovely place. But once you are in the savoy, you tend not to look at the sores.

Room : I took a suite that comes with a double bed, room big enough to host a dinner party, an adjacent small room intended for study and leisure. The washrooms are better than most of hotels here. Nothing to complain here. The decor is kept minimal maybe to preserve the old-bungalow feeling live. There is a cool sofa set outside the rooms, in the corridor overlooking the main garden area. You are tempted to spend most of your day here sipping a cup of coffee or a shot of black label.

Staff : Pretty efficient, courteous and smiling! Though a manager at front desk named Anirudh seems to find it expensive to smile. Met GM Mr Vibhakar. A veteran in hospitality, he is also active in local council for city development. Thorough gentleman who was to be found at even odd hours too roaming around the hotel and greeting guests. Room service and house cleaning is of TAJ category as always. House keeping guy also lit up the fireplace in our room which was great as well as beautiful relief from the chilly winds.

Facilites : Resort features a health club too including a modern treadmill, bench press equipment among others. Not fully equipped but just sufficient enough for your daily fitness regime. A small stereo is provided in the club that when stuck at some cd-track, needs to be slapped once to go again. The club overlooks a small garden and could have been placed somewhere else with a better view from the treadmill.

The club is adjoining to a spa. Went for a 1500 INR ayurvedic / kerala massage. Its male-to-male and female-to-female only, keeping in mind the conservative minds amongst indian minds. Mind it! anyways, the guy was great and humble, well trained and knew about the body muscles and their roles.

Internet is available here which is a nice surprise as many hotels do not feature wi-fi in their hotels, and if they do, very limited to ballroom or lobby area only. Its chargeable though which i found very obnoxious of TAJ. After getting a bad temper learning the weird "packages" of internet, I decided to check out very next day. but pleasantly enough, Mr Anirudh (expensive-smile-guy) informed me that not only i get internet free but also 20% off the tariff!! Now who wouldn't be flattered!

Dining hall- The restaurant is well appointed with a graceful ambiance. Menu is complete with Thai, Indian, Continental, Italian, Chinese, Japanese cuisines among others. Try the local cuisine called badaga, they are really hot and spicy cooked in various herbs. The portion served for one dish is sufficient for two at least if not three diners. That rules out sometimes possibility of checking out other dishes at a go or result in wastage of food.


Choosing a good room : You must avoid the rooms that are close to reception, lots of disturbance here. Be calm and relax in the rooms on the backside of hotel or in those set on right side. They give you a nice garden in front of your rooms with tranquility you desire in such places.

Amazingly nice property.

Room Tip: Try to select a room on back side of the reception that comes with a secluded area and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Ooty, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for taking your time & posting a detailed review about your stay with us.

Your positive comments have been shared with the team & this will go a long way in ensuring that we meet the expectations of our guests. Guest feedback is invaluable as it helps to continually improve our guest satisfaction. I thank you very much for the positive feedback given by you and this will definitely encourage my team to perform even better. It is such feedback which motivates us on the path of guest satisfaction.

I once again thank you for choosing Savoy Hotel Ooty for your stay.

Warm Regards
P VIbhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed with my family from 12th-15th Oct., 2013 in family suit no.308. The hotel has been functional since 1829 as I was told. It is truly reminiscent of British Raj. The suit was very good with all facilities. Service was prompt and excellent. Food was fantastic.Buffet and breakfast spreads were vey good. The bar offers ecellent brands of liquor. The garden is vast and really well maintained. You may simply enjoy the hotel garden and relax without moving anywhere. We really enjoyed our stay there and will like to stay again on my next visit. It is the best in Ooty. A really fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Ooty, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Shyam,

I thank you for taking your time & posting a review about your stay on TripAdvisor.

I am glad that you found the services meet your expectations & you enjoyed the stay with us. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team & they are delighted to know your opinion about the services. It i such positive feedback which encourages us & motivates us on the path of guest satisfaction.

I thank you once again for your time & I look forward to having you once again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty.

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Positive:

The Food, Lawn, Fireplace & Front Office Staff

Negative:

Location (No views), The bar (no stock and too small), Room service and expensive for what they offer

I would recommend this property only if you have no other hotel in Ooty with no views. I expected more but wasn't satisfied. Lack of value for money.

Room Tip: Choose the superior rooms behind the main office
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Ooty, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Arindam,

Thank you for sparing time and posting your detailed review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I have made a note of the feedback shared by you with regards to your stay with us. I am glad that you found some of our services to your liking. I have also shared the feedback about the stock in bar with my Food & Beverage service team and will ensure that our bar will be well stocked. It is such feedback form guest like you which help us to introspect ourselves and work on strengths & iron out our weakness.

I once again thank you for your feedback & I look forward for to seeing you once again at the Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

For those looking for a posh reception with a fancy lobby and sprawling swimming pool are in for a surprise. The Taj Savoy Hotel has rooms that are reminiscent of the villas of the British empire. The rooms are spacious, has a lovely fire place and has a modern yet rustic feel to it.

The garden area has a wide array of flowers and is also the place where small get togethers are held every evening with the guests of the hotel. Most of the rooms overlook the garden and are provided with iron chairs in the sit out area where people generally have their morning tea and catch up on the newspapers.

The staff are very friendly and helpful at all times. Distance to the main city area is around a 05 minutes auto rickshaw drive. Autos are easily available right outside the resort and they all charge as per the standard rack rates.

Indoor activities like carrom, chess, table tennis and other activities like cycling and horse riding do keep the children and guest equally entertained.

On the whole the trip of mine was quite a pleasant one

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Ooty, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for your time to post a review about your stay on TripAdvisor

I am happy that you found our services to your liking. We constantly strive to give our guest the best of the services and such positive feedback encourages us to do even better. The housekeeping team is delighted to know that you liked the

I thank you once again for your time and the feedback & look forward to having you again at The Savoy Hotel Ooty

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

It's an old heritage building converted into a hotel like many hotels in Ooty. This one is probably the best among them. Don't get fooled by the approach road, the property is very good. It's not a huge, lavish, glass building like you would imagine of Taj property... but this is apt for the place like Ooty which has lots of history behind it. Well maintained lawns, clean rooms (though old styled , it gives an amazing heritage stay feeling), clean bathroom, very good service by each and every person in the hotel. Booking online to check-in to check-out was very smooth. The superior room was very spacious and the entire property has many well maintained garden just outside every room with a lovely sit-out area.

Food was good, though the breakfast was repetitive, the other options were very good. The dinner buffet was outstanding. Cost was in par with any Taj menu but the food's quantity, quality and taste was good, but the cost is still a touch high when compared - cannot go higher than this for sure.

The activity room options, kids activity room could be improved... Cycles needs service and more kids cycles with side wheels would be required. The cycle track inside the property is good for the kids to use, the security at the gate would ensure kids do not go out gave us a good satisfaction on the safety of the kids. The play area's location is also very good near the rooms and lawns.

I was with my family and I enjoyed the stay and I did visit Gem Park and Monarch... will rate this better than these and would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Savoy Hotel Ooty, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your time in posting a detailed review of your stay with us

My horticultural team & the kitchen team is delighted to know that you liked the garden & the food prepared. Guest feedback is invaluable as it helps to continually improve our guest satisfaction. I thank you very much for the positive feedback given by you and this will definitely encourage my team to perform even better. We have also taken a note on the suggestions which you have given and upon improving the same. Your comments have been shared with the team & this will go a long way in ensuring that we meet the expectations of our guests.

Do come back to The Savoy hotel Ooty for your next holidays. Looking forward to see you soon.

Warm Regards
P Vibhakar
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Hotel Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Ooty

Address: 77, Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
#7 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced high on a rising hill, the Savoy Hotel sprawls over six acres of landscaped gardens, offering colonial style cottages that were built between 1834-1865. Colorful flowerbeds merge to form a multi-coloured quilt around the cottages, adding to their gentle refinement and old English Charm. A quiet retreat, the Savoy Hotel offers a little pocket of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Savoy Hotel Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Ootacamund
Savoy Hotel Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.