We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel Ooty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Hotel Ooty to your Saves list
Savoy Hotel Ooty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77, Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
1 review
“Amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Everything in the hotel was above expectation. Friendly staff, amazing views, well maintained heritage property and the unforgettable hospitality of the taj. 24 hour hot water was a boom for us especially since we went with our toddler. We opted for a superior room with garden view and it was worth it. The buffet breakfast had good variety. Had a pleasant stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    191
    64
    18
    8
See reviews for
180
155
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were at this hotel in Ooty in summer this year - group of 6 adults and 5 children aged between 3 to 14 years. Pleasant property, rooms were decent, food and weather were excellent! Our package included breakfast, lunch and dinner and it was almost unbelievable that none of us fell ill or suffered any gastric discomfort inspite of eating the hotel food on all the three days....special mention for the carrot idli....amazing! Kids loved the basic pancake with maple syrup. Evening games around the Bon fire were ok....gym and play space were good....thanks for the bicycles and badminton court. Service by hotel staff could be a better and proactive.Overall had a good time, value for money.

Room Tip: Pick the cottages facing the lawn near the main gate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed there for a weekend. The location is good, right in the centre of the city. But it is not worth the money they charge. I faced the below problems.
1) Housekeeping was pathetic, they forgot to place bath towels in my room!
2) There was no water bottle, and even after asking, they took more than half and hour to get me a bottle of water.
3) The beds were not as comfortable as expected from a Taj group of hotel.
4) Bathrooms were not neat.

Not worth the money they charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Was at The Taj Savoy, Ooty last year October. The stay was good and so was the food. The fireplace was burning and the feel at the Bar took you back to the RAJ era.. You might end up feeling that you are in an European country-side. However the housekeeping staff could definitely be improved and the quality of service definitely has scope for improvement. On a whole a great experience but Taj standards its's a BIG let down...

Room Tip: Stay at the front facing suits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a family vacation at this hotel and we all really loved it and kids truly had great time. The Taj hospitality, friendly staff made our holiday a great one. The rooms were comfortable. Food was nice. Location was nice too. There were activities for kids and families in the evening and we enjoyed a lot.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Being the Taj, theres not much I can say except - very very good stay. The rooms are the same as they would have been 30 years back - they have kept the old world charm in other words. (nothing fancy at all - a few things could do with renovation - doors and windows for one) The bathroom was perfectly renovated though and supplies were a plenty. Stayed in a suite which had two bedrooms and one bathroom. There was a fireplace in the dining area of the suite.
All said and done we loved our little cottage suite. Service was great. Staff was very polite. The dining room was very nice. Dimly lit, wooden panelled walls. Took you back in time. I am happy that they have not converted the hotel and made it ultra modern. I would definitely go back. Missing my holiday at the Savoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The wooden floors in the rooms need a desperate upgrade as they make sound as you walk on it. The staff was very kind and polite. The food offered in the restaurant, in-room dining was very good. Everything from toy train tickets to taxi for sight seeing was readily available. Being a TAJ I expected a good service and I'm pleased to stay I did get that kind of service. We had a very nice time in Ooty and I found the staff very polite and helpful. However the hotel definitely needs an upgrade especially the wooden floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Hotel Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Ooty

Address: 77, Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
#7 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced high on a rising hill, the Savoy Hotel sprawls over six acres of landscaped gardens, offering colonial style cottages that were built between 1834-1865. Colorful flowerbeds merge to form a multi-coloured quilt around the cottages, adding to their gentle refinement and old English Charm. A quiet retreat, the Savoy Hotel offers a little pocket of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Savoy Hotel Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Ootacamund
Savoy Hotel Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.