We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel Ooty

Save Saved
You added Savoy Hotel Ooty to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savoy Hotel Ooty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77, Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 70 hotels in Ooty
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Being the Taj, theres not much I can say except - very very good stay. The rooms are the same as they would have been 30 years back - they have kept the old world charm in other words. (nothing fancy at all - a few things could do with renovation - doors and windows for one) The bathroom was perfectly renovated though and supplies were a plenty. Stayed in a suite which had two bedrooms and one bathroom. There was a fireplace in the dining area of the suite.
All said and done we loved our little cottage suite. Service was great. Staff was very polite. The dining room was very nice. Dimly lit, wooden panelled walls. Took you back in time. I am happy that they have not converted the hotel and made it ultra modern. I would definitely go back. Missing my holiday at the Savoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    170
    59
    16
    7
See reviews for
155
140
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The wooden floors in the rooms need a desperate upgrade as they make sound as you walk on it. The staff was very kind and polite. The food offered in the restaurant, in-room dining was very good. Everything from toy train tickets to taxi for sight seeing was readily available. Being a TAJ I expected a good service and I'm pleased to stay I did get that kind of service. We had a very nice time in Ooty and I found the staff very polite and helpful. However the hotel definitely needs an upgrade especially the wooden floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oosterzele, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Difficult review: top character (colonial) but average service. The rooms are indeed old fashioned but that is part of the character, the dimly lit dining room with paneled walls is also part of the character. In Europe these small edges and lack of perfect maintenance would be considered a minus but in India this is OK, as the rates are also non European.
Perfect climate in the hills, chilly in the evening, sunny during day time. I know why the English moved their colonial capital to Ooty during the hot season.
But, but, but: mediocre breakfast, average Indian buffet, the entire wine list was ONE (yes, one) bottle of Indian red wine. The bar is not heated in the evening and the cocktails contain hardly alcohol, if any.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colintraive, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went up to the Taj one day for lunch as we had thought of staying there. In the end we picked the Gem Park as it has a pool (see review!) We were made welcome and shown into a dimly lit dining room, we were the only diners. The paneled walls with inset mirrors matched the piano.
Service was good but the food was mixed. Starters were fine if ordinary. My husband took a lamb curry for his main course but unfortunately he did not stipulate 'off the bone'. When it came it was not only full of bone but seemed to have been butchered with a machete and was filled with bone splinters. My fish curry was good. Alcohol was served here so we could have a beer. We took a peek at the bungalows, they looked a bit tired.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Being among the oldest hotels in Ooty, this place is well maintained as a Heritage site. Although
considering it to be a TAJ property, the hotel below average. The location is good and is very peaceful. The hotel staff are very active and that was a plus plus point.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Not easy to review this hotel fairly, as a real mixture! It is a 'heritage hotel' (protected status etc) and has much more character about it than most. The good initial impression fades on closer inspection - rooms are old fashioned (which could be fine) but frankly grubby in the corners, and not that well equipped. Our room was large but tatty - others in our group had more updated rooms (walk-in marble showers etc) but ours had a shallow bath with no real shower, just a shower head which immediately fell off. Towels were good, beds large and fine - hot water bottles were very nice! Grounds pleasant enough but full of European plants (the hotels "Garden Walk" was disappointing), and rather messed up now by work for the updating. No pool. Our group deal unfortunately included three set dinners - no real choice - and breakfast rather limited. OK but frankly not good enough for a Taj hotel. Lunch was not cheap and not that good. The dining room is dark panelled - I liked it, others did not. Staff and management generally OK or better, but most service was slow or poor.... some of our group had really bad service eg. 'misleading' answers given to questions, no early wake-up call as requested, etc. We wanted drinks in the totally empty bar - had to go and ask for a barman at reception, then waited about 15 mins for drinks!

Ooty itself was disappointing, chilly in evenings and little to do except visit old British places and enjoy the train down to Coonoor (which seemed nicer).

Despite enjoying the heritage aspect, this is not a hotel I would want to stay in again,.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay on Wye
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and found it all rather mediocre. The food and beverage manager introduced himself to us on one of the evenings when he was either duty manager of the hotel or the dining room, and gave us his business card...as to what I would do with it, I do not know. Would have much preferred if he had taken care of his management role...when I ordered muesli for breakfast ( it was on the menu), I was informed it was not available. So I thought I would have the bacon ( or ham) and eggs and sausages...what looked like an English breakfast - but was informed that they do not serve bacon or sausages in Tamil Naidu. As to what it was doing on the menu, I do not know.

Wi-fi is the most expensive I have ever experienced....160 rupees for 30 minutes...approx £2.00.

Ooty is over 2000 metres above sea level, so it will get cold there. Rather romantically, they will provide an open fire in your room - ie they bring along a handful of sticks and pour some diesel on them and set them aflame...This saves them installing central heating. When the sticks burn out within an hour or so, you have zilch but a small fan heater to warm your room.

After our first shower there, I noticed that the shower water was not draining away....bad maintenance...they did fix it rather rapidly.

Not a place I would return to...Ooty is generally very dirty and its only redeeming feature was our guided walk in the hills.

A swimming pool would greatly enhance this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Savoy Hotel Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel Ooty

Address: 77, Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
#7 Family Hotel in Ooty
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel Ooty 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced high on a rising hill, the Savoy Hotel sprawls over six acres of landscaped gardens, offering colonial style cottages that were built between 1834-1865. Colorful flowerbeds merge to form a multi-coloured quilt around the cottages, adding to their gentle refinement and old English Charm. A quiet retreat, the Savoy Hotel offers a little pocket of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Savoy Hotel Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Ootacamund
Savoy Hotel Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.