We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty to your Saves list
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77, Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence 2014
delhi,india
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“a good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

stayd here for a night , its no doubt a good hotel. A little on the expensive side for what they provide , but still a good option if u can affford it. a very peaceful location , but food is just ok.
Nothing of TAJ quality though
a good place for children, as they can be free and enjoy em selves

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    222
    70
    19
    10
See reviews for
205
179
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed with my family in the month of August 2011 in superior room . It's like a small English style cottage with beautiful garden in front of it. Staff is good and friendly . The cottage is fixed with a fireplace though it is not enough for heating up the room ( It was a good time pass for my daughter ) . However electric heater is available with no extra cost . Bath is very clean and hot water is available round the clock . Breakfast was fine and coffee maker with different types of coffee and tea were kept in the room. I can suggest this hotel as good family hangout to anyone .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was our first visit to Ooty as a couple, we wanted to make it memorable and after doing a bit of research zeroed in on Taj- Savoy. The hotel stands up to its 'TAJ' tag-line, the room was very neat, pretty large, clean bath rooms, excellent service, great food and very secure. Its not far from city and provides a perfect environment for you to relax and get some peace of mind from the hustle bustle of our city life. Hotel provides nice scenery and an ambiance for some captivating memories. We arrived here at 07:00 AM on Saturday, though the check in time is at 12:00 Noon we had requested for an early check-in, they agreed to provide us as per availability, luckily for us the hotel manager was very polite and give us a room so early. We were in a package with complimentary breakfast and it was very lavish, they arranged a cab for us for Ooty sight seeing and the price was a few hundreds more than outsiders, the car was also clean and driver was very good, he know english very well and was very friendly. Lastly they also arranged for an Auto rickshaw for our way back to the bus stand. Overall it was a fantastic experience in Taj -Savoy, we stayed there for 2 nights and throughly enjoyed our trip.. am sure we will return back soon ..:))

Room Tip: Ask for room with garden view or on the front side. The cab service for sight seeing are well priced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

If you like thick stone walls, cosy fireplace, tiled roof, gardens when you step out of the room, this place is it. Very charming hotel, stayed many times here before. When making a reservation, ask them for room is the front of the hotel, the rooms in the back are not great. The food is ok, not very good, manageable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Location slightly secluded and overlooking the city. It is good as it ensures some quiet time at the property. Cottages are well maintained and are a treat to stay in. The construction is colonial style, dating back to the 1840s, but reasonably well maintained. Had a fireplace lit up in the room in the evening. Was a good experience as it was cool and rainy outside.
Breakfast is good. Had some good samplings of variants of Dosa there. Chefs took personal care during breakfast.
Overall very good place and lovely experience.

Room Tip: Book a taxi to go around the city in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I had travelled to Ooty with family (wife and one daughter) on 15.08.2011 and stayed at Savoy Hotel, Ooty from 15.08.2011 to 18.08.2011 Room No 305, called Superior Room.
My impressions:
Terrific place to stay with gardens and sit-outs in front of the cottages.
Provision for lighting fire in the rooms itself along with room heater.
Good housekeeping.
Okay food, though we had food only on the day of our landing there (15.08.2011). The taste of the food was not to our liking, and we adjourned to Nahar Heritage Hotel at Commercial Street (near Charing Cross) which has a excellent vegetarian dining room (though parking is a problem at times) for all our food needs.
The Savoy is said to be of Taj Group, but the evidence is too little. Bathroom does not even have a tooth brush, shaving cream or shampoo, or a hair drier.
Facilities for drivers is too little and too congested. Parking facilities appear to be short.
Still, on the whole, a good hotel to put up our feet for a few days and relax.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is an absolute gem of a hotel tucked away in the hill fort town of Ooty (a few hours drive from Bangalore).

We arrivede in Ooty late one evening and didn't have a hotel arranged. Having gone round a few which would put the Bates Motel to shame, we finally decided to Google the poshest hotel in town, which turned out to be the Savoy.

Much to our surprise the prices were very reasonable, especially if you booked the Deluxe Suite (which can fit four people in two bedrooms, both with en-suite, plus a separate lounge area). The rooms are plush and luxurious with thick carpet and real fires which the staff will light for you on request. The building itself is an old Colonial mansion built in about 1830 and simply oozes character.

The restaurant served some of the nicest food I've had on this trip so far - it's the first place where I would have felt comfortable ordering absolutely anything on the menu. Service was pretty quick and all the staff were really friendly and helpful, especially given the late hour we showed up.

All in all I'd love to go back and spend more than a single night there!

Room Tip: Consider the deluxe suite if there are three or four of you - it's great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty

Address: 77, Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
#7 Family Hotel in Ooty
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced high on a rising hill, the Savoy Hotel sprawls over six acres of landscaped gardens, offering colonial style cottages that were built between 1834-1865. Colorful flowerbeds merge to form a multi-coloured quilt around the cottages, adding to their gentle refinement and old English Charm. A quiet retreat, the Savoy Hotel offers a little pocket of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Ootacamund
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.