We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“normal stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort to your Saves list
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Kundah House Road | Fern Hill, Ooty 643 004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
chennai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“normal stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

we stayed in sterling fernhill ooty, the resorts is built up very nice and at good location but the maintainence is very poosr and service is too slow. food is normal. but it is economical

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    222
    56
    24
    30
See reviews for
324
130
2
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

i visited ooty from october 9 to 11, 2008...we had booked this hotel from a travel website , as it was RCI affiliated we thought it would be a good place to stay and spend our vacation.at first look i liked the location of this so called 'resort' but the truth came reckoning a bit later , as we checked in around 1pm( we drove from bangalore) we realised the room booked for us originally was as they said ' not prepared yet' so were shifted to another one(didnt matter) but after seeing the condition of the room and other rooms ...i would say it DID!
the rooms were smelly and looked like we were the only person in them since the last bug's generation died here! some roaches still running around trying to find their hot-seats (for a possible later attack: u better be care full buddy(roach grinning) lolz)...
after somehow settling down, we wanted hot water for bath ...wich it turned out was a distant dream( the boy had to fetch buckets from far as they said they were having some issues with hot water supply...maybe??)
the restaurant was ok, service was slow(i had got used ti it by this time..what else cud i expect....but surprisingly i somewhat liked the food more to my surprise)...the city and nearby attractions more than made up for this hotel, as well as the weather...pretty nice!
but i wud personally not suggest this hotel to anyone for the low quality and high costs.
+ve : good location, food was ok
-ve: bad condition of room and bathroom, sluggish amenities

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

I arrived at sterling OOty fernhill on 30th at around 7.00pm. I was allotted room no.1427 but when the bell boy walked in it was not ready and I was allotted room no.1431. After a long journey we just stretched ourselves. Half hour later we just unpacked and tried using the toilet when we found the flush was not working. On informing the same was repaired within 1/2 hour. Latter in the night when heard the tap on the wash basin drip we tried closing it and to our horror found that the spindle of the tap was worn out and you need to cleverly close it to a certain point, which we mastered after a few tries. The TV provided was a old videocon WITHOUT REMOTE. When we pointed it it was replaced. Latter when we looked at the Sofa provided it was torn and tattered totally stained and next day a white sheet was provided to cover this up. When we looked under the sink it was stinking and was dirty with the trash bits from the previous occupants still there. The refrigerator had the same tale to tell. Blood stains on the wall greeted us in the room while fungus filled mould welcomed us in the bathroom. There was no foot mat at the bathroom door. The muck under the electric panel seems to be lying there from the time this resort was built.
It is most irritating to find people walk into your room one by one fixing things, when all those things should have been in place even before the guest steps into the room. It is also irritating to ask for things like soap, towel, tissue etc. I feel there is no process in place or proper orientation & regular trainings being held.
You may be thinking that I am exaggerating these things. Please find photographs of all these enclosed along with.

  • Liked — My Exit
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

I am a member of Royal Goan Beach club,which has a exchange programme with Sterling Resorts.I was a member of Sterling once and exchanged my membership with Royal Goan,as Sterling was in a bad shape.
I had requested for any resort in South india,and was given a week in Sterling Fernhill. We a family of 4 adults & a child ,reached the resort on 29th oct with a lot of apprehension about the time we would have in view of the the poor reviews we had read. We were pleasently surprised at what a great time we had. Though we were booked for 7days,we planned to stay only 4days.Inview of the Nice time we stayed the whole week.
Our honest appraisal is as Under
Location : wonderful
Building and surroundings ;Very good
Resturant : Fantastic
Rooms : Good , all systems were working. Furniture requires updating, the management has informed us that the renovation is being done.
Room Service : Good. We have to understand that in a hill resort the staff have to travel up & down the hill,which is a laborious task & can take some time. The staff is polite & cooperative.
We have travelled Extensivly,Patience & politeness is a virtue.
You can make people do wonders for you.

R.Bellare

  • Liked — Exellent location
  • Disliked — furniture requires updating
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madras
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

I am still traumatised by the horrendous experience my family and I had at this pathetic excuse for a resort.I booked this resort thru RCI India who. as I later found out, haven't the faintest idea as to what goes on here. The rooms were shabby,the linen soiled,the hot water geysers did not function properly,the carpet filthy but the worst was my wife finding a worm in her food.The coup de grace was seeing a huge rat scurry across the patio.Avoid this place like the plague.

I have sent a stinker to RCI and asked them to explain how they can subject their clients to this trauma;they are equally responsible for they failed to exercise due diligence in this matter.Not only did I squander my week, It was like being thrown in hell.Avoid this resort like the plague.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — food,rooms,lack of hygiene
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderbad India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2005

I happened to stay in this place for four nights, mid oct, 2005. The check in was fine. The rooms are in BAD shape, real shady. Here are the details -
The sofa (-- bed) in the living room was so dirty , I was not sure whether to allow my kids to use the sofa or not. I had asked the resort folks to change the sofa, but the response was – “we do not have any spare ones” :( ok, I asked him to get a clean linen and cover this sofa , thanks god, he had a spare linen.

The bathroom was next in line. It was so dirty, I had to call the maintenance guy and ask him to clean it up and personally supervise. The shower curtain was damp and had lost its original colors.

The ceiling in bathroom and bed room – both were damp and were dark.

The resort folks had provided us a hot plate (electric stove), which I do not think was cleaned for years.

Over all - even though this place is situated in a nice location, I think it is not worth staying there at the expense of your health.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2004

What can I say but the words ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE in CAPITALS. I spent 2 nights in the Sterling Fern hill in September 2004
The hotel is situated in a nice place with good views. The reception and ease at handling the paper work was satisfactory. The rooms were just atrocious. Cold, damp no hot water running, dirty, whel what can I say it needs a complete overhaul.
The restaurant was ok and the service was reasonable.
Avoid this place like the plague unless you are fond of staying in cold places in the company of cockroaches!

Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: 73 Kundah House Road | Fern Hill, Ooty 643 004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
#12 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at one of the highest points in Ooty, this resort has an amazing view of the Nilgiris. Sterling Holidays Fern Hill is set in an alluring scenic location, surrounded on all sides by the ethereal beauty of the Nilgiri Hills. The resort’s sloping roofs and terracotta tiles are reminiscent of the quaint charm of a bygone era. With a heady mix of comfort and tranquility, spending time within the resort is as attractive an option as venturing into the idyllic mountainside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Fernhill Hotel Ootacamund
Sterling Resorts Ooty
Days Inn Fernhill
Days Inn Ootacamund
Sterling Resort Ooty
Ootacamund Days Inn
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.