We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay with family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort to your Saves list
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Kundah House Road | Fern Hill, Ooty 643 004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
bangalore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great place to stay with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

our family stayed at this beautiful sterling property during march 2014.we had a lovely view of the valley from our bedroom which had a large balcony. room was spacious and well heated(was quite chilly in march).
my daughter loved the kids play area and had lots of fun. the buffet has a great variety.
would love to visit again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    234
    62
    27
    33
See reviews for
341
137
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have been to ooty with my family of 30 people we all stayed @sterling fern hill from 25-29 of may 2014.we had a memorable holiday.i have been staying in sterling for the past 20 yrs,but this time i could see a great change. the resort is under make over and the food is too good.Mr.Dominik cooperated a lot and the staff are really helpful.i definetly suggest this property for those who want to have a pleasant noise free stay.

Room Tip: rooms near car park are really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I had gone with my family , booked 2 Junior Suites. Hotel staff were very helpful. Neatly maintained rooms and premises. Great food ! Location of resort is perfect , but the approach road was bit bumpy though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had a memorable stay at Sterling Fern Hill resort from 23-27 June 2014. The property has been renovated and is probably one of the most wide spread resort at the most beautiful Fern Hill which is close to 4 Kms away from bus stand. Fantastic scenic beauty all around and the resort itself offers a lot of recreational options for the family especially for kids. Staff is very sincere and always ready to listen. A special word of appreciation and thanks to Mr. R.S.Manoharan (Sr Captain-F&B). He was always ready to support and extend services to our needs especially at odd hours and special meal requests for the kids.
We strongly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Away from generator and parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I was at OOTY-Fernhill for 7 nights 15th may to 22th JUNE 2014. My experience was pure awesome,

The Fern Hill Locations is beautiful,
good and quiet locations,
rooms are neat and clean

Excellent and memorable stay Home Away from Home

Room Tip: 1106 Has Good View 1107 Has Big Balcony And Good View As Well
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

good and quiet locations, restaurant view is excellent , rooms are neat and clean, Breakfast was good and tasty,staffs are helpful, especially front office and restaurant, will be excellent for Honeymoon couples.!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhimavaram, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Once we reached the hotel asked for our rooms we were told we did not have any booking. This shocked us since we were holding the booking confirmation voucher and even then they said it was not booked. Later after some investigation we were told the reservation details did not flow through from their chennai reservation office. Same thing happened at our previous destination which is again a sterling property by the lake in Kodaikanal. something wrong with their reservation office and we have been kept waiting and second guessing what is going to happen to us. The worst case was the hotel was fully booked. After some arguments we were given two rooms instead of three which were originally booked. we were asked to adjust into those two rooms. Very upsetting after paying the full amounts for three rooms weeks in advance we were treated like this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: 73 Kundah House Road | Fern Hill, Ooty 643 004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ooty
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
#11 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at one of the highest points in Ooty, this resort has an amazing view of the Nilgiris. Sterling Holidays Fern Hill is set in an alluring scenic location, surrounded on all sides by the ethereal beauty of the Nilgiri Hills. The resort’s sloping roofs and terracotta tiles are reminiscent of the quaint charm of a bygone era. With a heady mix of comfort and tranquility, spending time within the resort is as attractive an option as venturing into the idyllic mountainside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Fernhill Hotel Ootacamund
Sterling Resorts Ooty
Days Inn Fernhill
Days Inn Ootacamund
Sterling Resort Ooty
Ootacamund Days Inn
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.