We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to spend summer vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort to your Saves list
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Kundah House Road | Fern Hill, Ooty 643 004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in Ooty
Jamshedpur, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to spend summer vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We spent with kinds there at three days. During the summer vacation we were enjoy the climate of Ooty. Amazing experience. Wonderful room, heart-felt services, caring and comforting attitude. Wonderful place to spend summer vacation with family.

Room Tip: Mountain facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    243
    63
    27
    34
See reviews for
353
144
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Cleartrip is really great best deal & best offers really worth it. This is my first time and i prefer this to all my freiends too... I went to Sterling Resorts were all the services and food quality is great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Situated at the top of the mountain, you get the most of the clean air. The garden is so beautiful. We only stopped there for lunch so I was not able to see their rooms. The fish was very fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed in resort Aug2013 for 2 nights. Location is a major plus, little away from city but peaceful and scenic. Room interiors and maintenance could be better. Food was really good although service was pretty average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Sitrling Fern Hill resort is located little away from the city market, but the availability of autos makes up for the inconvenience. For people who want to have a break from the humdrum of the daily city life and enjoy peaceful time with nature, this resort is ideal. The food served at the Fern is varied and delicious. The people around are very helpful, accommodating, courteous and affectionate. The holiday activity center is a cozy place for kids to spend their time in fun N learn activities. My kids enjoyed playing chess, carom and TT there. The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped.
On the negatives, TV connection could have been better and Wifi connectivity in rooms would have been helpful. I personally think that holidays should take even these away from you...

Room Tip: Our rooms were way at the bottom of the resort. That meant that we had a good climb to the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I had gone there to celebrate a quite New year mixed with an extended week long chilling and the atmosphere and the ambiance were worth every moment.

I had plans to just relax, read books and catch up with family but it turned out to be an excellent adventure for me. The treks organised by them are amazing. In the 5 days i stayed i managed to go for 3 and in the end i wished to stay longer just so as to be able to go for many more. Mr Prikshit Sharma, manager holiday activities is an enthusiastic trekker,he can simply motivate you to just keep going on which in return helps u see spectacular views thanks to the heights and never imagined beauty of Ooty.. The best trek i would recommend is to the Hanuman caves and preferably beyond, even though each trek is in self an amazing and different experience but for those who have the stamina and love walking try going up to the top, its completely worth it. The calmness, the beauty and the views are to die for.Cairn hill and the Lovedale trek were my other amazing treks, exploring nature, seeing the train come on the tracks, walking on the tracks,walking through the jungles, the natural trails, walking on the cross over harnessed bridge all are amazing experiences which i shall cherish throughout..

The people at the food and beverages counter especially Mr Manohar were excellent. The spread for the breakfast, lunch and dinner were amazing. There was something for everyone there ranging from north indian, south indian, continental and chinese. The menu was well planned and thought of. The deserts were also of a varied range which were amazingly mouth watering.

The housekeeping staff also are very kind and sweet, Ms Punitha who was handling our rooms was always with a smiling face, forever ready to help. The various designs on display with the towels was an amazing sight to look at everyday.

The organised tours are also a must try, they have really been planned out well. The must visit place on any persons travel itinerary has to be Pykara. its a place with a lot of scenic spots especially the 6t mile, 9th mile and the falls.

The only bad thing abt tht place is the non existence of a gym, swimming pool and a wi fi connection.

But all in all i had the most amazing and awesome experience ever. Thank u Fern hill staff for making this one a memorable stay for all of us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great location, ambience and service, and a very fast responding staff team. Wonderful buffet breakfasts and dinners serving a mix of South Indian, Punjabi, and continental food - to satisfy tastes of all age groups in a large family. Our kids enjoyed their indoor playing arena, particularly chess and carrom. My wife liked their (on-going) initiatives to use solar energy. More landscaping work is on way. Making WiFi available throughout the campus instead of just reception is strongly suggested. The reception power-plug points need to be brought in working order.
The sunrise and sunset are both lovely - don't miss! The nearest approach by flight is via Coimbatore (about 3 hours drive) - so any future travellers arriving late in the evening - do plan accordingly!

Room Tip: Accept holiday cottages, other rooms have good view and ambience. Improvements are also underway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: 73 Kundah House Road | Fern Hill, Ooty 643 004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ooty
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
#9 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at one of the highest points in Ooty, this resort has an amazing view of the Nilgiris. Sterling Holidays Fern Hill is set in an alluring scenic location, surrounded on all sides by the ethereal beauty of the Nilgiri Hills. The resort’s sloping roofs and terracotta tiles are reminiscent of the quaint charm of a bygone era. With a heady mix of comfort and tranquility, spending time within the resort is as attractive an option as venturing into the idyllic mountainside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Fernhill Hotel Ootacamund
Sterling Resorts Ooty
Days Inn Fernhill
Days Inn Ootacamund
Sterling Resort Ooty
Ootacamund Days Inn
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.