We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort to your Saves list
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 Kundah House Road | Fern Hill, Ooty 643 004, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Excellence experience. The location while not easily accessible, once in was a great place to be. The staff was really extraordinary which includes room service (who despite the hectic tourism still did more than expected with no qualms). The kitchen and food was very good and variety was provided to tourist. The staff at restaurant was once again exception in their behaviour. Their attitude towards children was ver warm and friendly. While the place was under renovation, nevertheless, there were quite some open place for children to play around.
Family loved this place a lot.

Room Tip: No swiming pool or fitness entre around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    222
    56
    24
    30
See reviews for
324
130
2
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This is my 3 rd trip to fern hill.highly impressed by the improvement after the refurbishment.rooms r neat n excellent views from almost all rooms n cottages.Check in took some time due to busy season,but overall experience was gud n it's a real value for money place to stay in Ooty.The road to the property is in very bad condition and the sign boards in the way is not so clear.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmadnagar, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I visited this property on 30th December, 2012 along with Family.. Having traveled from Sterling - Kodai by the Lake our expectations were too high but .... Check in process was too slow - we had to wait for 2 hours. We were allotted rooms at a very remote place in spite of having enough inventory.. I fail to understand with what intention did that Front Desk Executive allotted us that room. Rooms are too small but nicely kept. Food was good but very limited choice. 31st Evening was bad as they dint offer Alla Card just 2 Veg items were offered and pricing was multiplied by 3 times. Wonderful celebrations on 31st Night. Sterling team was good. Property location is very good its actually on the Hill and the road which takes you to the resort is very narrow / creepy. Its an old property of sterling huge premises.

Room Tip: Ask for cottages near by reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was with my family at Fern Hills last week of April and this was our first experience with Sterling Group.It was one of the best ever stays and the place was so silent and complete feeling of relaxation.

We were welcomed with a drink in the reception and got a two bed room studio.The resort is well maintained with beautiful gardens and lawns.

Rooms were spacious, clean and well maintained.Food was very tasty and service was very fast.

Overall our stay for two nights was awesome experience at Fern hills.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed at Fern Hill with my family recently in the month of May 2013. What made our trip to the Nilagiri District so memorable was no. 1 the Resort (which is in Ooty), no. 2 the drive around Coonoor & Wellington and everything in between; and no. 3 the drive back home via Pykhara Lake. Very often you find a great looking hotel or a resort but sadly very bad service, disinterested staff and F&B options. Not so at Fern Hill. It's been an all-round magnificent experience - well done, spacious rooms, luscious green environment, genuinely friendly staff offering great service and good food, albeit quiet costly which is quite understandable. It may sound clichéd but it was our 'home away from home'. Go there!

Room Tip: All rooms offer great views and sense of space. Ask for a room in the main resort building. Alternat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I went to Ooty after a long time for a holiday during first week of May2013. Sterling Fern hill is one of the best hotel/resort with a very beautiful view of the city, good place to relax. The service was good and the staff were courteous. I loved the food, it was good and with variety like any good four or five star restaurant. They have activities planned for each day so that the guests can participate and have some fun. Overall an amazing five day stay in Ooty and definitely would like to thank Sterling Fern hill to make my stay memorable.
Thanks,
Vibha.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our stay was for two days.Perhaps the best thing about the resort is the location and its surrounding. Beautiful surrounding hills with a typical Nilgiri hill atmosphere. Rooms were fair sized and fairly maintained. Service was a bit disappointing. On the second day morning we had water in short suppy in the bathrooms and had to have the water manually brought in by the the staff. ( Not sure if this is a one off incident ). The Breakfast Buffet was elaborate. The dinner buffet had variety but was overall disappointing. The Restaurant settings and atmosphere was nice and would recommend the out door seating which allows you to enjoy the beautiful natural surrounding as well. There was provision for born fire but unfortunately did not get to experience it. Overall would say an average stay but had potential to make great stay with some attention with the service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: 73 Kundah House Road | Fern Hill, Ooty 643 004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
#12 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched at one of the highest points in Ooty, this resort has an amazing view of the Nilgiris. Sterling Holidays Fern Hill is set in an alluring scenic location, surrounded on all sides by the ethereal beauty of the Nilgiri Hills. The resort’s sloping roofs and terracotta tiles are reminiscent of the quaint charm of a bygone era. With a heady mix of comfort and tranquility, spending time within the resort is as attractive an option as venturing into the idyllic mountainside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Fernhill Hotel Ootacamund
Sterling Resorts Ooty
Days Inn Fernhill
Days Inn Ootacamund
Sterling Resort Ooty
Ootacamund Days Inn
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.