We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Hotel In Ooty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Accord Highland Hotel Ooty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Accord Highland Hotel Ooty to your Saves list
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 / 278, Doddabetta Junction | Kotagiri Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excelent Hotel In Ooty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Last week i have goon to ooty with my family and i have booked the hotel through Travel agent.
Hotel is 4km from the city, once i entred into to the hotel staff at the reception has welcomed with a drink and mad a quick check in and the room which given to us is tea estate view my family liked the room very much. The manager in the front desk Mr. Mahalingam helped us in all ways he guided us about the city and make us to feel as like our home.

After some time we ordered for a snacks from room service they delivered within 20min its a quick service.
.
By afternoon we gone to the restaurant name called season in that north indian foods are good and excellent the staffs in the restaurant from manager to service staffs are good and friendly.

The is a huge Lane area in the hotel were my childrens played games and they enjoyed very much.

There is bar which has newly opened named zodiat is good i ordered a natural child beer and enjoyed my evening.

They offered food to my driver on complimentary.

I will suggest the peoples who goes to ooty can stay in this hotel it is very good and value for money. .

Room Tip: room no 103 tea estate view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    82
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
136
86
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
fife
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

I have just returned from a holiday in India and stayed at a few hotels.

Accord Highland Ooty

We had great expectations of this hotel as it was advertised as a new hotel, but this was not the case. It was not even refurbished to any decent standard and is probably a lethal hazard to the clients. The hotel is completely unsuitable for tourist in its present condition. It has no amenities and is five kilometers out of Ooty. when we asked where the bar was, we were shown outside, down a set of stairs to a converted disused building at the end of the garden, which is connected to three other derelict buildings. This converted shack had grubby seating for maybe 20 people, for an hotel of that size. This was open until around 11.pm, but with no lighting, it was a perilous journey back to the main building. Should you take the shortcut through the emergency exit at the end of the building, the stairwell was more in keeping with Beirut than a 4* hotel. We went back to our room and ordered two beers from Room Service, after waiting 25 minutes we cancelled it and went to sit in the entrance hall and ordered it from there.

The majority of our party never had a shower, as the hot water for the shower never worked until we were leaving. There was no heating in the rooms and if asked, they would provide an electric fan heater, which we were told not to turn up more than the first setting. This explanation became obvious when the attendant brought our heater and switched it on. All the hotel electric went off. After three attempts, he eventually managed to get it to work without blowing all the fuses in the hotel. This problem was not confined to our room, but to every room that had a heater provided.

This disturbing and potentially lethal problem culminated in our room heater burning out and filling the room with acrid smoke, had this happened through the night, we would have died in our sleep and you would have had a serious problem. We might have been woken by the smoke alarm, but that was not working.

On a positive note the evening meal was rather good, but the breakfast was like something from 'Faulty Towers'. I waited 20 minutes for tea and they brought me coffee, I waited 25 minutes. for a mushroom omelet and was given a mixed one instead.

On the second evening I specifically ordered chicken with no bones, when it arrived, it was with bones and still had blood in it when I cut it open. Another diner, at our table ordered fish and chips, which arrived with under cooked fish as well as the French Fries.

I have also sent these comments to the tour operator that sent us to this hotel (Archers Holidays) and they should take steps to ensure that it never used again.

The disappointment and anger that my wife and I feel after this visit to this Hotel will stay with us for a very long time and we will always remember the name, but not for anything good.

An extremely disappointed,

Mr & Mrs W Mc Knight

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Had been to Ooty last November (2013), and specially after reviews from colleagues on Ooty ,i was not too excited. However, after almost 8 hours drive from Bangalore,coming to this place in itself was rejuvenating. The hotel is around 5 km from the town of Ooty , which was little frustrating , as i thought it would have been better to be 5 km before ooty rather than after , as it added more time to our already long journey from Bangalore. But the moment we got down to check in , the cool breeze of the hills refreshed us. The team at reception was warm and quick to get us into the room.
The entrance hall was pretty decent, so we expected the rooms to be too. Though i had checked online as i always do, but i am prepared for surprises, in terms of acceptance.
But the room was great with a wonderful view, the only problem was there was no hot water during afternoon, which was a dampener. Though. the staff provided us with three buckets of hot water when we requested.
Also, they provided us with the extra bed at no additional cost !!
The service is great , with staff always smiling.
I liked the food at the restaurant, however the rates are at higher side with.
The breakfast spread in the morning was good with multiple options. The morning view from the restaurant is amazing, with sun shining through the window.
The also have a small park for children and by one year old had a great time there. However the park area was not well maintained. to my and my baby's surprise, we were visited by band of monkeys in the park!
Most of the places to visit in Ooty are nearby, and also at 5 km, even the town is not that far.
To sum it up, i would say this place truly gives you the feeling of a hill station. Nice and quiet with amazing views and good friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baroda
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

yhis is located in a beautiful location on top of the mountain far from the main town,although they claim to be a 4 star but its an average hotel,food is not great,but the service is good we had a early morning flight to catch and they packed our breakfast at 5am in the morning,roomd are average,and the drawback of this hotel is that it does not have a lift ,so you have to climb 2 floors to get to the room after a tiring day .
they have entertainment progremmes in the evening.mr ramlingham teh manager is very helpful.

Room Tip: if you dont have your own vehicle than its fare from teh city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We went for a Christmas vacation tour to Ooty and nearby places. This hotel is closer to the Dodabetta Peak and the scenic mountains of Kottagiri are the best attraction for a vistor which you can enjoy from the Garden area.
The hotel rooms were clean and the staff was polite which I think is a big plus.
They seem to forget orders placed in the restaurant and room service which I think needs improvement. Also the restaurant food which is served as buffet is very spicy and you need to go for a-la-carte menu if u have kids and don't want hem to have spicy food. The overall food quality and variety is good and nothing worth a special mention nor a complain.
It is a bit expensive in terms of paying 400/- for the Taxi ride to reach hotel or to go down to the market.
The nearby places and attractions close before 5.30pm.
To enjoy the place and ooty attractions you should vist during the off-season.
We found the manager - Mr Mahalingam to be well spoken and receptive.
I think they can offer a free drop to the market and pickup twice a day to add to the value and make up for the high price.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Im vicky,
I was there on Highland Ooty on 31st eve... it was a beautiful evening. Had a fine xperenice on the dance floor.. but they had arranged an elaborate buffet on a open lawn wr the food was cold .u ave to understand the climatic condition on mid nit in ooty it was freezing like anything. . But v couldn't ave an option tat v should ave our dinner in tat open lawn tat too a cold roti n currys.. and one Mr Mahalingam had promised me tat he would send the photos of new year eve.. already a month got over still he s sending the photos. .. overall serive s good but there s no planning or response. . To handle a customer.... altogether poor.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I visited the Accor Highland Hotel from Jan 23-25 2014. The overall stay was wonderful. The staff and services are top notch. The food is superb! I was so impressed that made it a point to go and compliment the restaurant staff for the quality of the food.

Room Tip: I had booked 124-125 rooms and sunrise view is something that you cannot miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Accord Highland Hotel Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accord Highland Hotel Ooty

Address: 4 / 278, Doddabetta Junction | Kotagiri Road, Ooty 643001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
#3 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Accord Highland Hotel Ooty 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Nilgiris Mountains, the hotel stands tall with all elegance and style. A contemporary structure with a traditional feel, Highland Hotel Ooty is one of India's most popular hills 5 Star Hotel, located at 2640 meters above sea level in the Nilgiris Hills of southern India. The brand new hotel is designed for maximum comfort loaded with LCD’s, Wi-Fi , direct dial phones,safe deposit lockers, in room Iron & iron board, Tea/ Coffee maker & a mini bar. Some other services provided by the hotel are 24-hour room service,, laundry service, purified water, Travel Desk, Business Centre ,valet service, doctor on call, foreign exchange facility etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Accord Highland Hotel Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Accord Highland Hotel Ooty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.