We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Redefined!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bouganvilla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bouganvilla to your Saves list
Bouganvilla
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   262A Off Silverton Road | Fernhill Road (opp. HADP Tree Arboretum), Ooty 643001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hospitality Redefined!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked this place based on the ratings and reviews from TripAdvisor and boy this one really overshot my expectations. Mr.Thiagu, manager of Bouganvilla, made things so simpler and gentle that it's worth appreciating. Starting from making reservation, a warm reception, upgrading our room, arranging our sight-seeing to a happy send off..it's all exemplary hospitality.

Its a wonderful property, maharaja style room, well maintained and very homely. The look and feel of room is much superior than it looks in the photographs here.Its a great value for money with a serene surrounding.
The best part was the food which was really sumptuous and always kept coming.
The sight-seeing was well arranged with a driver who turned out to be a very cordial guide on-wheels, helped out carrying our shopping items without any invitation and covered as many places as possible.

It can scale few notches up by having a small library with some newspapers and make the fire place available inside the room to work.

To sum up, I personally felt that more than anything else it's the humble endearing behavior of all the staff which really made our stay memorable.
I would honestly refer this place to everyone who visits Ooty.

Room Tip: Any room in Bouganvilla!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Bouganvilla, General Manager at Bouganvilla, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you had a pleasant experience at Bouganvilla and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Your feedback is much appreciated.
Thanks & regards,
Bouganvilla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    31
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I searched for many hotels in ooty and read many reviews finally i saw this one 'Bouganvilla' read the reviews and booked. Once i reached entered the resort i felt i made the right choice of selecting this one such a nice place near from bus stand but still a very calm place. The rooms are excellent very clean and nice. Now about the food i can say really a mouth watering delecious break fast ,lunch and dinner i loved the quality and quantity which was way above our expectations. The staff is very humble and very helpful especially Mr.Thiagu, manager of bougnvilla and co-associate Mr.Anand will astonish us with their hospitality.
Special thanks to Mr.Thiagu who upgraded our room :) for our comfortable stay. Over all i will say its an awesome place for couples enjoy the view, food and not the last hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Bouganvilla, General Manager at Bouganvilla, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you had a pleasant experience at Bouganvilla and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Your feedback is much appreciated.
Thanks & regards,
Bouganvilla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I chose the place based on its rating at TripAdvisor One of the best hospitality I have witnessed. Rooms were clean and hospitality really admirable. Value for money. Location was near yet far from city crowd. Keep it up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Bouganvilla, General Manager at Bouganvilla, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you had a pleasant experience at Bouganvilla and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Your feedback is much appreciated.
Thanks & regards,
Bouganvilla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I went to Ooty with my Mom and a friend of mine and chose Bouganvilla for staying. I must say that the place is really an awesum abode to live in. The rooms are neat and clean and on top of their comfort. The staff is very humble and guyz here know how to treat their guests with dignity and make them feel at home. The other quality they possess is the food - damn tasty it is. You can have a relishing breakfast served hot in the dining hall and also you can order for your dinner with all the dishes you want them to prepare and enjoy it in a Maharaja Style when you come back at the resort after the tiring day of beautiful Ooty sight - seeing. All in all a nice decent place to spend your vacation with your dear ones. Ideally best for families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Bouganvilla, General Manager at Bouganvilla, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you had a pleasant experience at Bouganvilla and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Your feedback is much appreciated.
Thanks & regards,
Bouganvilla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for three nights with our three children and it was an absolute pleasure. The hotel building is newly renovated and very well equipped. We stayed in the "super family suite" which had an attached separate sitting room which we could use while the children were asleep without disturbing them. The bedroom was very comfortable with enough space to add extra beds for our children and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is well equipped and very clean. The hot water pressure was a little lacking, but the manager is looking into this.
The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The chef is very approachable and was eager to accommodate the tastes of our children. We enjoyed both breakfast and dinner at the hotel throughout our stay.
The hotel is very clean with a comfortable loungeroom and lovely outdoor space on the lawn. The wi-fi internet is a great inclusion with good speeds. The cable TV in the room was also great entertainment for the kids when it was raining.
Mr Thiagu and his staff were very helpful and were willing to do anything that we needed. The rates for the hotel were also exceptionally good value.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay here if we return to Ooty!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Bouganvilla, General Manager at Bouganvilla, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you had a pleasant experience at Bouganvilla and look forward to serving you again in the future.
We have taken care of the water pressure issue that you mentioned.
Your feedback is much appreciated.
Thanks & regards,
Bouganvilla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

a very pleasant experience with friendly&helpful staff as well as great service.Food was delicious quantity was beyond our expectation.Room was clean with all facilities for a comfortable stay.It was like home away from home It was easy to move around as the bus stand is only 1 km away.main attraction is scenic beauty around.very good for a short break to refresh yourself.city tour can be arranged from the resort itself.I thank Mr. Thiagu&his staff for our comfortable stay.we stayed there for 5 nights though we planned for only 4 nights.The owner/manager has taken care of every minute details of a guest's comforts.With internet connection we never felt handicapped in view of communication.we will always remember the excellent south indian platter served as per our choice.the stay was peaceful enough.We will suggest all our friends & relatives to stay in Bougan villa if &when they plan to visit OOTY.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Bouganvilla, General Manager at Bouganvilla, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you had a pleasant experience at Bouganvilla and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Your feedback is much appreciated.
Thanks & regards,
Bouganvilla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ample room space, Splendid location, Delicious Food, Great service and amicable rates are the attractions of bougnvilla.
Bougnvilla is just 1km from ooty bus stand; hence it’s easy to move in and round the city.
Resort looks clean and great with adorable lawn and ethnic scenario.
We stayed in executive room which was very comfortable with basic amenities, 24hr heater service,TV and wonderful lights with complete wood work. System with high speed internet and daily news paper available in common hall.
Complimentary breakfast had tasty, delicious and unlimited south indian dishes.(Idly, Uthappam, Pongal, Upma).
Dinner was severed as per our choice. We had chappati with chicken curry, veg curry, omlette, rice, rasam and curd. Chicken curry and veg curry was delicious. Quality and quantity was beyond our expectation.
Last but not the least, service was fantabulous. Especially Mr.Thiagu, manager of bougnvilla and co-associate Mr.Anand will astonish us with their hospitality.
Mr.Srinivas did best room service while cooking folks Mr.Pannerselvam,Mr.Lawrence and team made us feel at home with their delightful food. As overall, we visited bougnvilla based on good reviews and we experienced the utmost service and had a peaceful and remarkable stay at bougnvilla. We recommend bouganvilla to anyone who wishes to visit ooty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Bouganvilla, General Manager at Bouganvilla, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you had a pleasant experience at Bouganvilla and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Your feedback is much appreciated.
Thanks & regards,
Bouganvilla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bouganvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bouganvilla

Address: 262A Off Silverton Road | Fernhill Road (opp. HADP Tree Arboretum), Ooty 643001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bouganvilla 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bouganvilla is an old colonial style bungalow that has been renovated to include modern amenities yet retains the old world charm. It is conveniently located 1km from the Ooty Bus stand and railway station. Bouganvilla is luxury that feels like home. It is an excellent place to relax and unwind and take back pleasant memories of your stay in Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Bouganvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bouganvilla India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bouganvilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.