We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shinkows

Shinkows
Down the rd. from Higginbothams and St. Stephen's, Ooty, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 72 Restaurants in Ooty
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Though they claim to be the best chinese restaurant in Ooty, the food they serve hardly tasted Chinese. The quality of food is really Pathetic. Try some other restaurants for good food.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    37
    29
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Oldest Chinese I know in India”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Really old Chinese restaurant with an Indian twist to taste.still extremely popular though and we shall be back for sure in the future. Service ambles along and food is reasonably good

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stuck in time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have been to Shinkows a number of times growing up in Ooty. And i can see how the place has deteriorated over the years. The food is quite bad. I mean, if a chinese restaurant can get a Chicken noodles wrong then its really sad. This is one of those places which is part of Ooty's heritage so to speak and may be one can go there to tick it off the list but definitely not for the food although quite reasonably priced.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A Brand called Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Shinkows at Ooty, needs no introduction. For it is a destination that all regulars come to while in Ooty. No great ambience, but the food is top of the world. Try the pork roast or the beef roast. The prices are most reasonable. We had a full meal and the price came to less than Rs 250 i.e. $5.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Been there with my family. Had American Chopsuey, fried rice, chilly beef and some chicken. There was good quantity and food was very tasty. The service was fast. The ambience is the same since so many years and gives a nostalgic feeling....feels nice to have it that way.

The washrooms require urgent renovation and hope they do something soon.

Would love to come back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinkows also viewed

 

Been to Shinkows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinkows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.