We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ooty trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maruthi Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Maruthi Cottages to your Saves list
Maruthi Cottages
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   167A Cornation Avenue,, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 77 Ooty B&B and Inns
Chennai
1 review
“Ooty trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My Oooty trip was fine, i have blocked a 2 bed rooms for my stay but due to renevation they have issued a cottage to me. Which is very cheap compared to my booked room. Stay was quiet good, but the lot of improvement required. Thay are listed below..
1. No car parking
2. No Room service
3. No Veg foods available/served in cottage (only non -veg served in room)
4. Toilets were not clean
5. No room Cleaning availble for all 3 days of my stay
6. No proper Hot water set up

Apart from stay, my OOTY trip was fantastic.....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    3
    9
    10
See reviews for
32
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Maruthi cottages located near to botanical garden, location wise you can easily access good restaurants, hotels. i have stayed with my family in two bedded cottage during the month of november. it will be like a two bedroom flat with a kitchen. dont expect the rooms will be like 2/3/4 star hotels. kitchen and heater will be charged extra. few switches will not be working. but the service they provide will overshadow every other things. i have taken my 1yr old daugter, the care they gave was priceless, they gave kettle for making hot water, they prepared food for my daughter seperately. they dint charge for this kettle and my daughter's food. no free breakfast here. they will charge for tea and other items you will be having there. if you are going with your family and taking a kid then i would defnitely recommend this. Thanks to Mr.Madhu and Mr.Santhosh for the service and the support they have given during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

One of the best in ooty circle with your family.attractions are near by,and easy access from the cottage.its neat and clean(indian standard).if you are looking for a hotel kind of service,you are in wrong place,coz its just à cottage.so spend minimum time in the room and more time outside.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

It was a horrible stay at Maruthi hotel...First of all the room was so dirty and smelling fouly....blankets were dirty....no room service was available....we hv to call them again and again for anything we need.....no drinking water...not even glasses to drink water was served alongwith water when asked for...none of the electricty plugs were working...bathroom toilet flush was not working...hot was was not available, you can only say lukewarm water was available....it is a total wastage for money...nobody should visit that hotel again......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I really liked the homely feel in the cottage. Things were very clean and neat. The rooms, specially the hall rooms were very good. Good services by Santhosh and Sekar, they were very polite and humble.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

PLEASE do not go for this Hotel. This the worst place to stay in the whole Ooty. I had made a booking through Make My Trip for this Hotel 2 rooms for 2 nights (26 May to 28 May). I had made full payment to makemytrip people and they had given me a written confirmation of my reservation along with all the facilities that I will be getting in this hotel. On reaching the Hotel I was offered 1 room the hotel and 2nd in the near by hotel. When I complaint to MMT of the same, the owner of the hotel Mr. Ravi, told me that he owns 7 hotels in Ooty and its not possible to provide accommodation in the same hotel. The room that was offered to us was in stinking. They had sold the rooms to other parties in spite of our advanced booking. This is clearly a case of cheating. Ultimately when I asked for the refund they clearly refused. While this was going on we requested the hotel to provide us wash room facility, as we had ladies and small children with us. The hotel told us that we could have wash room only after checking in the rooms. This behavior and that too in hospitality business! Now I am planning legal action against make my trip and Hotel Maruthi cottage.

Room Tip: You could find some nice Hotels near by, which are not listed on Travel Planners site.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Room service and cleanliness is very bad but location is good and hotels are nearby, rose garden and botanic garden and tea factory very near Room service and cleanliness is very bad but location is good and hotels are nearby, rose garden and botanic garden and tea factory very near



  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maruthi Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maruthi Cottages

Address: 167A Cornation Avenue,, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maruthi Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Maruthi Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruthi Cottages India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maruthi Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.