We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places in ooty. Very helpful and courteous staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mahindra Derby Green

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Club Mahindra Derby Green to your Saves list
Club Mahindra Derby Green
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   29-49, Baikey Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best places in ooty. Very helpful and courteous staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had a 5 day stay at the property; though ooty is a little difficult to reach from delhi, but it was almost worth the effort.

Highlights for any traveller
- helpful staff including the chef
- lots to do for everybody
- not the best in terms of room size and quality of furniture, gives you a 3 star hotel feel.
- wide variety in food, specially the evening extravaganza
- the family center was one of the best and engaging

Keep it up
-

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Varun,

Thanks so much for your review and we are glad to have received your detailed feedback regarding your stay at our resort. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our resort staff will be thrilled to know that you enjoyed the activities and the dining experience our resort offered. Please continue to provide us feedback regarding your visits to our resorts as it enable us to serve our members better. Thanks once again and looking forward to welcoming you at our other resorts soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    185
    55
    16
    4
See reviews for
238
102
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bhubaneswar, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Its an Awesome experience to spend few days over Derby Green OOTY,,Just enjoy our Anniversary for couple of days,Nice location..best food....wonderful hospitality,,,,Everything was Just WOW....Ooty is a superb Hill station and such Heritage property increase the beauty of this place,,Must.. hav a visit

Room Tip: Front Row,,for a best View..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi,

Thanks so much for your review and we are absolutely glad to have received your detailed feedback regarding your stay at our resort. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our resort staff will be absolutely thrilled to know that you enjoyed the hospitality and dining experience at our resort. Please continue to provide us feedback regarding your visits to our resorts as it enable us to serve our members better. Thanks once again and looking forward to welcoming you at our other resorts soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed in a standard room and the room was so small u touch the walls when u stretch yourself ! The room neither has a window and has wall right outside the door ! It was kinda claustrophobic . And the staff try to be friendly but they r not. And if u retired and too lazy to stay out of busy town they u may consider or else AVOIDABLE.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hi Rohit,

Having read your review, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The only club Mahindra Property which is located in town centre, you can walk down to bus stand, market and even railway station. If you are a good walker a few of the attractions of Ooty are within close proximity.128 year old heritage(? ) property, but all the rooms are newly constructed, I could find nothing from heritage, except land.
It is a very popular property with members, always full. One reason: excellent climate another: you don't depend on Club for food. All kind of food is available in Ooty Even if you don't like anything else in Ooty, the Club and its beautiful gardens will keep you happy.

Room Tip: nothing to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hi Amir,

Thanks so much for writing in! We are glad to have received your feedback regarding your stay at our resort as it provides insights as to what our members really like. Our resort staff will be absolutely thrilled to know that you enjoyed your overall stay at our resort. Thanks once again and looking forward to welcoming you at our other resorts soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

For starters the location is great and the Honey tea served on arrival is fantastic.

The real truth. If you are not a member please don't come here as u will be treated like an outcast.

The room was extremely small and they charge 1800 rs for an extra bed which is outrageous.

On the brighter side some of the staff was very polite and helpful.


I'd definitely give this place a miss.

And after this experience I will never become a club mahindra member and advise others too not to.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Colin,

Having read your review, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Well an overrated place

Positive points :

Amazing service and the staff is friendly has an excellent view of ooty and they have amazing activities fin the evening for family

Negative Points :

Nothing great in the room , tiny rooms and glass door with no privacy , food is overpriced so i guess no guests actually eat there at their restaurant

the room and the place is average nothing that out of the box that i would pay so much to stay there

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Nikhil,

Having read your review, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

we like thank whole team of CLUB MAHINDRA DERBY GREEN , OOTY for making memorable holiday of this yr. i really needed this holiday. this holiday was one of the best holiday .

special thanks to few people



Mr. Sarang Arora - who help me get better room
Mr. ...... - who daily clean my room - sorry i forget his name
Mr. Sujeet - wonder chef
Ms. ... fun center - she is whole rounder staff of the club mahindra... wonder experience of learning salsa and Jive dance
the host at fun activity - really enjoyed housie and other fun games
the bell boy was also best staff
evening snack was one which i like most. sp - ginger tea and samosa


if i forget any one... please convey the thnx message


one request : need to increase some more food item in la carte menu



room no 1028. the best room. the best reosrt in ooty - club mahindra derby green





again very very speical thanks to all staff of club mahindra



regards,

Abhishek

Room Tip: choose balcony room - 10289 best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Ooty resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the ambience but also the activities our resort offered. We'll certainly pass along your compliments to our resort team. Please continue to provide us feedback regarding your visits to our resorts as it enable us to serve our members better. Thanks once again and looking forward to welcoming you at our other resorts soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Club Mahindra Derby Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Derby Green

Address: 29-49, Baikey Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ooty
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty
#5 Family Hotel in Ooty
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Derby Green 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Club Mahindra Derby Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Derby Green India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Mahindra Derby Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.