We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Team and a Nice Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mahindra Derby Green

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Club Mahindra Derby Green to your Saves list
Club Mahindra Derby Green
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   29-49, Baikey Road, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Pune, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super Team and a Nice Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This property was earlier the Das Prakash Hotel which was acquired by Club Mahindra few years ago and refurbished.So it was quite surprising the find a CM resort so near to the main ooty town actually walking to the bus stand and Train Station. That being a good or bad thing can be debatable.We were picked up from Coimbatore by the resort organised vehicle which had pretty good drivers extremely safe, we used their services extensively for sight seeing and the return to Coimbatore. Coimbatore airport to resort one way approx. 2400/- Rs.
The resort itself is set on the hill side so there is a lot of climbing especially to the room we had got, it had a better view though. Most of the rooms are accessible by the Electric Buggy ( yes manufactured By the Mahindra Group /Maini) the room allotted to us was not accessible by the buggy though, This was a good way however to build up an appetite for the superb food, yes it was by far the best club Mahindra resort food that we have experienced yet!! Probably because of Christmas they had theme dinners every night with born fires and entertainment programmes.
After 2 days of buffets we settled on the Ala Carte menu for the rest of the trip and it was much better between he three of us as the quantities per dish are quite huge. My son had a sick day and Mr Ramesh and Mr Ravikumar saw that we got special food for him.They have a adventure zone with zip lining and a Burma Bridge however we could not use it. We did however play Cricket and Basketball at the activity center which was fun. The spa seemed small however did not use it. We took a trek which CM had organised to Cairn Hill which is a must do.Walk to the Ooty lake is around 3 Kms after passing the bus stand which is unclean then the road has a foot path right till the lake. Half Day tour to Coonoor is a must do, the weather in Coonoor was far more colder that Ooty for some reason in December.
This was a relaxing holiday as we went forth with no set agenda, and were quite surprised how good it turned out. Guess that's a lesson for the future. In my opinion CM has a great team here hence a few slip ups are easily addressed by them.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our resort staff will be absolutely thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the ambience but also the dining experience and the evening activities at our resort. Additionally, our resort staff especially Mr. Ramesh and Ravikumar will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    145
    43
    14
    4
See reviews for
189
80
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Although reasonably priced and serving an excellent breakfast we were disappointed that WIFI access was not available in our room and the view from our room was of the busy market. We were most disappointed not to be given any assitance when trying to book a room at another Club Mahindra resort for later in our travels- despite the concierge informing us he would make enquiries within 30 minutes, we waited until the following day but had no answer. No apology or explaination provided (the only time we received a less than average service during our 2 week stay in India).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Priya,

Thank you for your appreciation, however, having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I travelled with my family during the Christmas week in 2013. It was a superb chilly weather.

The resort is in the city and you will see a bus stand, city view from the hotel rooms. Rooms (Hotel units) are extremely small. None of the rooms have balconies so you are either inside the room or out of your room. The doors are very small and clumsy design. It is very unlike any Club Mahindra resort I have seen so far.

Staff is very courteous and nice to talk to. They take care of you and the only good thing I experienced during my 3 nights - 4 day visit. Activities are plenty and children are engaged.

Food and preparations during Christmas celebrations were great but very pricey for the quality and club Mahindra increased the prices during that period.

SPA is good, clean and a "To Do". My wife rates it 3/5 which in my view is awesome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Ooty resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Club Mahindra Ootty does not meet any standards of the group.

It is located not far from the main bus stand.
The "Superior" room is so small that you feel that its just an Entrance to the Washroom. The Bed and the sheet was kind of shoddy. The cot itself was lacking strength and making lot of whining noise.

The Buffet Breakfast was Good.
If you have been to other CM resorts, this one does not even deserve a comparison!

Room Tip: The rooms of type "Superior" is nothing more than a Washroom with an entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi,

We are really sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced and can assure you this is not typical of our staff. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

At the outset let me state that I am a Club Mahindra member and this is not the first time that I am staying at Derby Green. Actually this is the second time we visited them. Impeccable service, polite and helpful staff, courteous and kind. Food is not exceptional in taste but the buffet is so large that variety takes precedence and you don't miss much. Facilities are decent, spa is good, gum is small though. Given the space enough for kids to keep themselves busy for few days. This time we spend the new year eve and must compliment them for the exceptional buffet that they had created. The charges were high and we thought for a moment if it was worth. But when we saw the items we were stunned. Each and every state was represented in dishes. Be it Bihar's litti to some varieties of sandesh to mishti doi, dhokla, vada pav, to bajra roti, laal maas and so on. Good job folks. They had put in really hard work and it showed. Again not exceotional taste but as i belief variety overcomes this.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the derby have a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi Neeraj,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Ooty resort. Our resort staff will be absolutely thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the ambience but also the dining experience and the evening activities at our resort. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Decided to spend the New year eve in Ooty and chose the Derby Green resort (stayed for 4 nights). It was simply fantastic. For those who cannot take the cold well the near freezing temperatures can be a sore point but the resort more than makes it up. Very well trained staff, awesome variety of food, great entertainment, and a very child friendly resort. Some of the rooms may not have a view but room nos 1028 to 1033 (studios) are the best. Mr Arun Kumar, the F & B operations head deserves a special mention for ensuring that every request in terms of food is catered to as per the wishes of the guest....and at amazing speeds. Right from the airport pick up to check-in to sightseeing to F & B....it was perfect. Keep it up. May not be a very big resort but it is a must visit and is definitely far better than some other large Club Mahindra resorts like Varca Goa etc which are "Gold Crown " but a complete let down.......Arun Punjabi

Room Tip: Call the resort a few days before the visit and pre block rooms in sequence nos 1028 to 1033 (Best s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff especially Mr. Arun Kumar will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Had a wonderful stay. The New year bash was awesome and the food fantastic. Good accommodation and courteous staff. One of the best restaurants in all of the mahindra properties. Well done. Keep it up

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Derby Green, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Ooty. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our resort staff will be absolutely thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the Accommodation but also the dining experience and the evening activities at our resort. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Mahindra Derby Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Derby Green

Address: 29-49, Baikey Road, Ooty 643001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ooty
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty
#5 Family Hotel in Ooty
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Derby Green 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club Mahindra Derby Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Derby Green India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Mahindra Derby Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.