We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for stay at ooty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponmari Residencyy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ponmari Residencyy to your Saves list
Ponmari Residencyy
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 D, Kotagiri Road | Charring Cross, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Ooty
Nashik, India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“good for stay at ooty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

i stay recently stay this hotel with my family for 2 night stay ,hotel rooms are good ,neat and clean bathroom also,service is good but food is so so ,location is also good near from market .worth for cost.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ootyooty, General Manager at Ponmari Residencyy, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear sir,
Thank you very much and I really appreciate your valuable feedback and your concern about our food and we will improve it. Your valuable feedback would prove that you had a satisfactory stay with us and hope to welcome you and your family & friends in near future.
Thank you. Rajendran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    86
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
93
64
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at Ponmari Residencyy in June 2013. It is in a nice location.. 5 minutes walking distance from market and Ooty botanical garden.. clean rooms with all basic facilities, reasonable tariff with good breakfast.. special mention for the very good staffs with smiling face and nice behavior..

Room Tip: ask them about the food items before ordering for lunch and dinner.. you may not like all the food..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ootyooty, Manager at Ponmari Residencyy, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear sir,
Thank you for reviewing Ponmariresidencyy in TripAdvisor and we hope you will recommend your friends to stay in our hotel.

with regards
Rajendran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed there on Jun 20th. Hotel stay and rooms are simply superb. Ayurvedic spa is nice. You can very wel stay there, but don't try to have food in the restaurant. Its WORST. I ordered Dragon Chicken, Veg Pulav, Chicken biryani , Paneer butter masala. To my surprise nothing was good. You will feel omiting sensation for atleast 2 days if u eat there.

Bottomline: Stay there - Avoid taking food over there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ootyooty, General Manager at Ponmari Residencyy, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear sir,

We have recived a review from you through Trip advisor , First we thank you for writing in Trip Advisor . We have gone through your review and we make sure it will not happen again and we have already taken proper steps to improve .

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

HOW WE REACHED PONMARI RESIDENCY>>>We were in Ooty to celebrate a quiet birthday of my wife from 25-27 June 2013. We had booked another place using an international booking portal. Tired and hungry, we entered this so-called Heritage villa Resort which had waesome Internet Reviews! But IT WAS A GREAT SHOCK... with the space, the food and the attitude: We Checked out within 2 Hours and lost about INR 8,000 of booking through the NET.

THEN AN ANGEL OF AN AUTO DRIVER took us to PONMARI Residency. It is a simple looking hotel. But right from your Entry, they take over your problems. Always Smiling. ALL OF THEM. Though we checked-in without a booking, they certainly did not over charge us. The Rooms are Good, the attitude is of eternal Help. Considering the tariff, The Breakfast Buffet was Good too.
Even after Checking Out, they found that our taxi (also booked through the NET) for the Airport was not forthcoming on time, the front office staff helped us communicate with the taxi driver in Tamil and did try to charge us and provide with their own vehicle! The hotel is value for the money spent. The Have Won Our Hearts! AG & AG

Room Tip: Their Deluxe Double (INR 2200 + Taxes) is a good choice. Otherwise, if you require, they have suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ootyooty, General Manager at Ponmari Residencyy, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear sir,

Thank you for your review in TripAdvisor. Happy to say that your have given good review about our hotel and we will maintain the same.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Ponmari in the 1st week of June. Room was average sized with a Doddabetta Tea Factory view. Hotel is located just 2 min walk from the Botanical Garden. Staff was helpful with the directions and site seeing information.

Breakfast was a typical south indian spread of idly, dosa and upma , nothing special to mention. Food was OK

We feel the hotel is a little overpriced for an average stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Excellent room, very clean & well furnished. Service was good. Morning Breakfast and lunch was good.. but while dinning we order Mutton handi which was too spicy.. But Overall its a good stay..Definitely recommend this hotel to all travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed in the family room (ground floor).We arrived pretty late around 10.30pm on 29th May 2013 and was greeted well by the hotel staff.

Room was clean but hardly any view. After the 2 double bed and 1 sofa +table, there was hardly any space to move around. Else it was clean. Cleaning staffs were good. Supervisor was good and prompt to solve any problem. (Got 1 of the electric charging point fixed in 30 mins once informed)
Bathroom was clean.
Hot water was available round the clock. Whenever there was problem with hot water, hotel staff helped us promptly on being notified.
Room service was in time.
Food was good (south Indian, north Indian veg dishes, club sandwich) except for the butter chicken (it was horrible, chicken was hard and not fresh).
Laundry was perfect. (They give back the clothes by evening if u gives them in the morning).
Parking space is ill less but manageable.

In all a good experience with Safe and clean stay with good hotel staff. Hotel location is also good. It’s near to the market. Recommended for stay.

Room Tip: Family Room was clean but hardly any view(ground floor). After the 2 double bed and 1 sofa +table, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponmari Residencyy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponmari Residencyy

Address: 26 D, Kotagiri Road | Charring Cross, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ponmari Residencyy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Ponmari Residencyy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponmari Residencyy India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponmari Residencyy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.