We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellissimo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kluney's Mystique Ville

Save Saved
You added Kluney's Mystique Ville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kluney's Mystique Ville
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Near Kalhatti Water Falls | Seegur Ghat Road, Ooty 643215, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 72 Ooty B&B and Inns
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bellissimo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

This was my first trip to anywhere in the Hills in India.

After an amazing drive through the National Reserve of Bandipur and Mudumalai, this Resort is a perfect compliment to unwind for the rest of the trip in the Nilgiris Hills. For starters, this place is located just off the Hairpin Bend # 15 when going towards Ooty. I have never heard of such a location before. It's unique in the sense is that the township of Ooty is half-way up and Masinagudi is half-way down, so you are basically cut down from all the manifestation of human population.

It's a quaint place, only 5 years old with 11 rooms and a staff of less than 10 people. The furniture, the rooms, the recreation areas, the gardens and plantations remind of a Rishi Kapoor / Neetu Singh movie set. The highlight is the Kalhatti Water Falls which is visible when you pull off the curtains in your room. At this time of the year, it is not a sight to behold though randomly during the day, you might get a good view of the water coming down. Besides the Water Falls, the Resort does a list of host of other activities but we didn't really explore much...Fishing and Horse-Riding if you like.

It's built on a estate that is surrounded by mountains and at an elevation of 1500mtrs. you are always in the company of clouds, mist and fog. Early mornings and late evenings seem to the best time to get enveloped in near zero visibility. If you are a photographer, get your telephoto zoom lenses to capture some distant view of the hills and the humming birds sucking nectar from the flowers that are plenty in the perfectly manicured gardens. There are trails leading you to the tea plantations and generally around the estate. We were also lucky to spot a Sambhar Deer in the dead of the night near the resort gardens and we were told spotting an elephant, deer and a bison is a common occurence. There is also a swimming pool but I'm not sure if you fancy a dip at that altitude.

Coming to the stay, the rooms were clean with basic furniture, a TV set and a double-bed with an option to order an extra mattress. You might find the BIG mattresses a bit uncomfortable on the first night. Our package with the Hotel had B/L/D inclusive and snacks were extra. You can order the food in your room with 10% extra charge. There is a pool table, a large reading/relaxation room overlooking the hills, a tread-mill and some very basic recereation facilities. There is a common room/restaurant to have B/L/D. Breakfast is buffet and has a combination of South India and Bread/Butter/Omlet variety. The food can be ordered off the menu and we found the quality good but yes the quantity could mislead you. For eg: a bowl of rice that feeds 2, as per the staff, can actually feed 4.

We found that the Hotel also arranges for Forest Safari in the Mudumalai Reserve for a group of 6-7 pax in a jeep that will cost 3500/-

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and found it a perfect alternative to the hustle-bustle of Ooty. We were 6 people in 2 rooms with extra bed and we got a package from Indus Experience at 3600/- per person. It makes sense to book from a third-party company that arranges trips like these coz one - you can get last minute reservations and 2 - you get the whole package versus b'fast only options.

Hope the review was useful and you have a fabulous time in the lap of nature in the company of family and friends.

Room Tip: Booked via Indus Experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011 via mobile

Please avoid this place for it is not worth a bit for the money spent and the staff especially the so called GM of this place is a physic, I really wonder how the owner Mr. Verma or whoever it is has kept this kind of staff even pathetic is not the right word to describe him and the whole team of the front office` my piece of advice to the owners is to dump the whole lot in the lake including Jessica Ramesh and that portugal GM

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

This is a very good resort with clean rooms, excellent food, excellent service and a very good location away from the city. I booked a Vintage room and had a very good view of the Kalhatty Waterfalls from the room and not to mention the picturesque surroounding. The resort staff are very friendly and helpful. You will not regret staying there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I choose this place as I wanted to be away from the crowd . It was really a good choice as it was tucked in the forest away from the hsutle bustle. Our room had a view of the waterfall and it was really very soothing . They arranged for the taxi to pick us from coimbatore and therfore was very easy to get to the place . We requested for room heaters and it was provided as it gets a bit cold in the night, Getting hot water for bath was not a problem as they have water boilers but you have to check the timings on when they would switch it on.They have a common drawing room with glass windows overlooking the valley and it's a great place to relax and enjoy . The food and service was quite good. They have an inhouse guide who took us for trekking around the jungle adjoining the forest and near to the waterfall. In the evening they arranged for a jungle safari to madumalai forest and the guides were excellent in spotting wild life. As It's away from the main city , I would recommend this place if you are nature loving and want to be at peace with the surroundings . You could still visit all places surrounding ooty as the cabs will be arranged every easlity by the staff. They have a pool table and nice restaurant, the landscaping is also excellent. We got the room at for 3k + taxes and it was really worth the price. The front office staff were also very helpful in arranging for things .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW DELHI
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

A tranquil place very neatly kept. View was good. The rooms were very neat and airy with one wall all of glass windows. All our rooms over looked the valley (room no. 208, 209, 210) with a a 360 degree view. The gardens were nicely manicured with a lot of flowers
The place was waited by polite college boys who were having their vacations then. The manager Mr Suresh was a simple man who gave us a good bargain @ Rs 3000/- per room with B/F. Food was great and with typical north Indian taste. The best I go on my whole trip. There was no haggling for money for any additional service. If they have it you get it.
The swimming pool was empty under repairs. But location wise if it is working it would be superlative.
The resort is located at a motor able distance of 30 to 40 minutes from Ooty. Go there if you have your own vehicle. Gate located on the main highway though the resort is about 300 m away down.
If you want to stay put and relax. this is the place. But if you want to go sight seeing every day to places around Ooty give it a skip.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kluney's Mystique Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kluney's Mystique Ville

Address: Near Kalhatti Water Falls | Seegur Ghat Road, Ooty 643215, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kluney's Mystique Ville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Kluney's Mystique Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kluney's Mystique Ville India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kluney's Mystique Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.