We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sapphire Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sapphire Grand to your Saves list
Hotel Sapphire Grand
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Behind ICICI Bank | Near Union Church, Ooty - 643 001, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 77 Ooty B&B and Inns
Nellore, India
1 review
“Pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

it's been pleasure to stay in this hotel, rooms are good, neat and spacious enough, buffey breakfast was good, food also good, polite staff, good manager Mr.Duraikannan,
nice play area for children and rabbits and brids for children to have fun

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    40
    19
    8
    12
See reviews for
47
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We ( my husband and myself - both senior citizens ) had gone for a holiday to OOTY. We checked up the site and opted for this hotel after reading the reviews. Mr. Duraikannan is a suave and polite gentleman who took care of all our needs , including food for our return journey to Delhi. He is adequately supported by his staff. The hotel is very comfortable and neat . The services rendered by the staff is excellent and praiseworthy. The environment is lush and green, with ducks, rabbitsand birds to give us company.The hotel is located conveniently nearer to the markets ,Botanical gardens and Lake ,which is very beautiful. Hence we termed it as "service with a smile""

Room Tip: But check out the buses provided for sight-seeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Hi, We visited Ooty for a weekend gateway . The hotel is located in walkable distance from charng Cross, which is main place in ooty. it is an excellent small hotel,courteous staff and the food was also good. We had a free Pick up and drop from and to Ooty bustop. The rooms were neat and tidy and we had hot water till noon but not in the evening. The room service was also quick. The breakfast was too good, and it was complementary. The price of food is normal not very high. The staff were ready to help us any time. Overall it was a memorable stay and surely want to visit there once again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

The hotel is suffering from lack of training in room cleaning and poor equipment. It once was probably a good hotel. The hotel is modestly priced. But the less expensive rooms upstairs with hard surface flooring show evidence of roof leakage during rains and mold problems. Downstairs, the carpets on the floor can't be cleaned because the vacuum is not designed to clean carpets and has very poor suction (I tried to clean the rug myself, but the vacuum was too poor). The blankets were filthy and we took ours off, only to lay awake throughout the night freezing. The first room we were put into didn't have a top sheet, only a filthy blanket. Some rooms had glasses, others did not. The manager spoke good English and was willing to help, but seemed unaware of the cleanliness. The price quoted for transport using the hotel's vehicle was higher than that charged by the Taj property's Savoy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We have stayed in this hotel for more than three times. What is really pulling us towards the same hotel again & again is the team. Only GM Mr. Duraikannan seems to be highly exprienced there and is surrounded by a team of young people running the show. None of them takes the guest for granted at any occasion. They literally run for our calls. The hospitality is extremely good. They live upto their tagline that is "Pay like a subject and live like a king". It is not just worth the money we spent, it is actually more than that. Team sapphire, please keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Really value for money, experienced the value of customer service, tension free(no hidden charges) while settleing the cheque/charges............The bedrooms are good in size. The bathrooms could have been little bigger. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

I stayed here with mine and my friend's family for 3 days. Mr. DuraiKannan and his team made our stay memorable and I would surely love to come back and stay here again and again.
We all were specially impressed with the caring and helpful nature of Mr Kannan, Ezhel (the driver) and their restaurant team. The whole team served us with great care without pestering us for a tip even once.
They all were always ready to help us.
Once when another guest forgot to buy tickets for the toy train, Mr Kannan himself went to the station to buy tickets for them.
They all are good and honest people and definitely deserve an excellent rating.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sapphire Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire Grand

Address: Behind ICICI Bank | Near Union Church, Ooty - 643 001, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sapphire Grand 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sapphire Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sapphire Grand India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sapphire Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.