We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best short break from Bangalore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Destiny Farmstay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Destiny Farmstay to your Saves list
Destiny Farmstay
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Muligoor Village, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best short break from Bangalore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

the proximity of Ooty to Bangalore makes it the best place to visit if someone is looking for a break & a road trip. Avalanche is a place near Ooty & Destiny is near the Emerald dam. The place is so beautiful... early mornings are like Scotland.
It is inbetween farms & has all sorta activities like trekking, fishing, rock climbing, early morning walks, rappelling etc.
Food was decent & the fire place in the rooms make it really nice & cozy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    107
    28
    3
    4
See reviews for
200
84
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

It was out of the world for us. Great location, setting, servce, activities and food. It was brilliant and beyond our expectations. The location is just stunning and it was great to just sit out of the room and view the scene. Little bit of fishing, going around on horseback, pampered with good food and lovely staff, made our 3 days stay worthwhile. A great opportunity for kids to be a part of nature. A must visit place. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We booked this hotel based on reviews here in TripAdvisor. Our decision turned out to be good.

Location of the resort is amazing. Very good views from the rooms. They have two different buildings. One building is having hill view and other is having lake view. They have two different types of rooms - Deluxe and luxury. Only difference is Fire place in luxury rooms. But, deluxe rooms are better as they have a separate sitout area and also balconies outside. Complementary horse riding provided is nice. Nothing much to do except watching the hills and lake. The lake shown in the web-site is electrically fenced and doesn't belong to resort. Resort people are charging for lake trip. We didn't opt for it. We tried it ourselves. We could reach the lake with out any problem and had very good time there. There are some open gates in between the electrical fence. During nights, BBQ by bonfire is also very good.

On the negative side attitude of resort manager is bad. He made a sarcastic comment on our ignorance on distance of other building. Room service is very very bad. They rarely attended the call and always forgot our order! It is better to avoid rooms in other building that is having hill view. That is building is a little far from restaurant! Food in the restaurant is OK. Complementary breakfast provided is very bad. On our second day of staying breakfast improved a bit because resort owner is around!
Avoid taking your own vehicle. Around 2 kms of road before reaching resort parking is pathetic. I thought my car will breakdown. It is better to ask resort people for parking your car in their other property in Ooty city and take a taxi!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Our experience at destiny can be summed up in a single word 'Perfection'. One of the few eco-friendly resorts that exist in a world filled with seemingly sincere offerings. The staff are warm, friendly and helpful, yet value your privacy. For the adventurous types the activities are aplenty. Or if you want just relax and move into your 'nothing box' this is the place to do it. The picturesque view is something that you will always cherish.

If you want to go to destiny you better be prepared to be unplugged from your mundane everyday world. Its best experienced without our day to day technology. The BBQ by the lake that they offer is fantastic and a must try option. If you're not a do it yourself kind, they will also provide you with professional help.

If you have kids, they'll enjoy the geese, fishing in the lake and the horse rides. They also have a full fledged dairy & other animals.

All this said, can't wait to go there again!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

It is difficult to believe that a place as beautiful and stunning as this and with such a concept as this, exists in India. Superb location. Fantastic, expansive views. Wonderful isolation. Great bunch of activities. Great rooms -esp the deluxe ones. It is the kind of place that will make you very sad when you have to leave.
There are just a few things that can be called downsides - a) This place is commercial. If you are looking for isolation and reconnection with nature, avoid it on the weekends when the noisy, corporate crowd from Bangalore/Chennai drops in on their sponsored team jaunt. This crowd usually has little genuine interest in a silent communion with nature. b) Food is expensive, especially if the buffet is not there, which is the case on weekdays c) The lake is rain-fed and if the monsoons are inadequate there might not any lake views to be had d) As of Aug2010, they were still buliding one more block, that would make a total of 30-40 rooms. Personally, I am not sure if the ambience of this place will still be preserved with that kind of a scale-up, but let us hope for the best.
All in all, definitely a must-see and a must-stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Another amazing place suggested by www.lifeisoutside.com .......
Destiny farmstay is simply out of the world...the owners are very friendly people and ensure your stay is memorable..... Got a discounted rate from lifeisoutside and went there with my wife... We both fell in love with the place and we wished we could stay longer..... Its a place i highly recommend...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

The main reason we went here was to give my daughter the experience of living on a farm, and we loved it. The view is superlative! The rooms are comfortable and cosy, though I wish heaters were not optional but included in every room. The staff were very courteous and compliant. My daughter freaked out on the horse rides, camp fires and stuff ( so did we!). The makeshift disco at night was a big hit. The food was good, though the buffet breakfast could do with some more variety. The a la carte menu doesn't have too many baby-friendly options, which should definitely be remedied. Some more south Indian dishes on the menu would be welcome. Overall, it was a great stay and would certainly love to return....

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destiny Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Farmstay

Address: Muligoor Village, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Destiny Farmstay 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Destiny Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destiny Farmstay India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destiny Farmstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.