We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woooaahh !! Its indeed a Gem !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Destiny Farmstay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Destiny Farmstay to your Saves list
Destiny Farmstay
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Muligoor Village, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Woooaahh !! Its indeed a Gem !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

'Destiny Farm Stay' trip has been active in my 'To do' list for a very long time. At last, I made this happen last week. I must say this is truly a gem and full of surprises.

Destiny is located approx 30 Km away from Ooty town which takes approx 1.5 hours in a car. The last 2-3Km stretch to the parking lot is not so good and it eats up a major portion of the first 1 hour drive. BTW, the taxi/your car cannot go until the resort, but they have a safe parking area and a huge truck/Van picks us from the parking area and takes us to the resort. Please note, this final stretch is so bumpy that you need to be very careful when you have aged people along. I guess the resort can arrange a jeep on request for this situation.

As soon as we reached Destiny and were taken to our room, I was zapped by the view that they have from the room. We opted for the standard room which was the cheapest compared to the other categories. But I guess the std room has best view that any other rooms and it also has a balcony area unlike other premium categories.

Destiny has a set of complementary activities that comes with the package and bunch of chargeable activities as well which could make us engaged. The major "advantage" of this farm stay is that the mobile signal here is very week and there is no TV in any of the rooms !! They have a routine 1 hour early morning trek to their another property "Sundance" which is indeed worth a walk. They have an Unwind Spa which we did not try. The food at the restaurant is a little over priced and not bad at all. but not so great either.

We spent a lot of time walking in and around the property and enjoyed every bit of it. They have two stables, cattle shed, huge cabbage farm, potato farm etc etc which is a real treat to our eyes especially kids are gonna love it.

Considering the time it takes for someone to enjoy the beauty of the Destiny, the list of activities they have, my recommendation is that we must stay at least 2N/3D to enjoy it very well. 1N/2D is just not enough. And yes, remember Destiny is located in a remote area and much disconnected from all the major tourist spots. So, site-seeing is not possible. Don't even think about it !! On top of all, each and every staffs there at Destiny are very helpful and have a smile whenever we approach them.

Oh yes. Another great thing we really liked here is the way that the in-house animals are treated and fed. I am sure there are lot of efforts going in to this to keep this reputation consistent. Each and every staffs there deserves a pat on their back for their excellent job !! If I get a chance, I would love to come back here again. Its truly a paradise !!

Room Tip: There is no doubt that the standard room has the best view than any other types and it is perfect fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    107
    28
    3
    4
See reviews for
200
84
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Awesome vacation it was !!!!!Kids had lot of fun..The staff is very friendly and food is great. The room was too good and view form the room was breathtaking!!!!We went there by a sleeper bus from Bangalore and arrived Ooty at 7 AM. Tha cab booked by their travel was waiting at the bus stop and was freindly too.. Although the standard checkin time is 12.00, the staff was so friendly to send the army truck to pick us up by 8.30 AM.. Reached the place and had breakfast as suggested by them , the breakfast would get over by 10 AM.. We ate like we were hungry for days and went for a walk to explore the place, went to the lake ..loved it..in midst of nature..quiet, can hear bees humming once ina while, pollution free....came back by 1.00PM.. The staff was so freidnky to have switched on the hot water boilers for the 3rd time on our request...followed by lunch..horse riding.kids at the play area and indoor games...next day went for a short trek..was not too bad to go with kids...then after break fast did monkey crawling.. and spent the reast of the day with other complimentory activities...checked out next day...

Overall it was a perfect vacation!!!

Room Tip: any room is good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Your kind review is very encouraging for our team.We are so glad that you enjoyed the ambeince and service rendered by the staff
Thank you and hope to see you here again soon!
Best regards,
Guest Relations Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Dear All,

I would like to share my heart touching experience , we were planning for a holiday and after lot of search one of my friend recommended us to Destiny we were really happy with the photos and thought that hope our kids will enjoy.
We reached destiny as per plan passing Bandipur and Ooty and moment we entered all our tiredness went to rest and we were really happy in the fresh air , warm and good people and a such a beautyfull senic view which is like a poster on the wall.

In our two days of stay we became so close to NATURE and Beautyfull people in the resort so good that you feel that why cannot you spend your life their,
Nature srounded with Hills and Lakes with Greenary all around , The words are less to describe this place.
I suggest every single person and a family , a corporate group and people of all age and likes should visit this place and have a real heart touching experience.

I wish every stafff their Mr SK a real soft and good person, Sanjay a soft and lovely guy, Mr Chanchal and Raghu simple and very friendly smile and Mr Khan the creator , Rajisthani touch on the horse ride and every single similing face all around the resort in the beauty adding smiles to your life.

All the best and hope to see you all soon again.

Regards
Om Jain
omjain@gmail.com

Room Tip: rooms will be only to sleep as whole day you would love to spend with nature. Anyway the luxury roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our services/facilities and give complimentary comments on the same. Your kind comments are very encouraging for our team.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit in the near future.
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Destiny farm stay was the best part of our trip to Ooty and Coonoor..The unmatched panorama of the Nilgiris takes your breath away at the very first sight...The rooms with balconies facing the expanse of the beautiful nilgiris set the perfect place for a wonderful morning tea. From hills to valleys, agri tours to short treks, horse riding to zipline, barbecue to disco, each and every activity was perfectly timed, planned and executed by their extremely efficient, warm and deligent staff.
There is lots to do for the kids and lots to do for the adults and to top it all, food is outstanding..
Perfect place for a perfect holiday.. cheers.

Room Tip: Standard rooms with balconies provide a better view than the premium rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for taking time to give your positive comments on the ambience and activities conducted by the staff of the hotel. We sincerely look forward to the privilege of serving you again.
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Destiny farms is the place where you can have a quite and peaceful holiday with lots of activities to do for bot adults and children. It is located not far from the overcrowded ooty and is surrounded by hills with no human habitation in 2 km radius. you feel the serene beauty of the lake and the view is breath taking. Horse Riding is fun at the riding grounds for kids. zip line, river crossing spa etc are the things that you can do at the farm but trekking around the place is a thrilling experience. I would strongly recommend going for the 3 hour trek which takes you to the forest and a hill from where you can have breathtaking views of the emerald lake. The food was very nice and not very highly priced. the food menu is extensive and the chief chef was always eager to try out new recipes for us. He even made us foolka roti, gobi ki sabji and bhindi ki sabji. the barbeque in the evening was well arranged with the dj playing good music in the disco. The rooms on the ground floor are the best place to stay as they have a sit out for about 8-10 people. The chief manager Mr Shantha kumar is a very helpful and friendly person. In short it was an awesome experience cut off from the rest of the world (no TV, no newspaper and no mobile).

Room Tip: room on the ground floors are the best as they have a sit out
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Your kind review is very encouraging for our team.We are so glad that you enjoyed the location, services and food of the resort
Thank you and hope to see you here again soon!
Best regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

One of the most enjoyable holidays my family (wife and 6 yr old son) and i have taken in a long time. And thats why a long review to show our appreciation. :-)
For starters, we planned our holiday well in advance and hence the entire experience from reservations to our stay and until check out was smooth and stress free. On the day of our arrival, we received atleast 3-4 calls enquiring about the progress of our journey to the resort and once we reached Ooty we were advised on the route to take to get to the Resort. And i think that takes some effort considering that it was a long weekend and they were sold out. Personally, i prefer such resorts which are located out of town and in the wilderness so to speak. And while the approach road is a bit tardy, i feel it adds to the feel of the place. And personally speaking, i think the roads should be left the way it is as it will delay the inevitable commercialization and over crowding.
From check in to check out, the staff were helpful and extremely courteous and through the orientation session we had in the beginning, there was absolute clarity in the do's and dont's and the activities available and the timings. The views are just breathtaking something that is non existent for us from the city.
Also, the helpful staff reiterated that not only is the place for families but also very kid friendly. My son was able to go around the property and explore all by himself and enjoyed every bit of his stay there so much so that he now wants to go back to spend his 2 month summer vacation. My wife and i had a relaxed time and very happy to see our son have fun too. We tried our hands on most of the activities - Zip lining, fishing, horse riding, barbeque etc etc., and had tons of fun. We only had to call the reception or activity centre and inform them about the activities that our son wanted to enroll in and the staff would take care from there on. Absolute bliss.
On behalf of my family, i would like to thank staff and management for such a lovely experience and by the looks of it, we will be back soon and for a longer stay. Already recommended the same to most of my friends. Cheers

Room Tip: The views from all rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a detailed and very interesting review about our resort.We are really happy to have provided a wonderful holiday to you and your family.
Your kind comments will be passed on to the entire team at destiny
We look forward to serving you again soon
Warm Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Good place for 2~3 days outing if you enjoy nature. Cut off from the world. I will jolt down my reviews in to following points;
1. Getting there:
Make sure you follow the route map given in their website so that you dont get lost. Also, if you car has a very low ground clearance, I suggest use an SUV;). Getting there is quite a task but when you get there you feel its worthiness.
2. Hospitality:
I have traveled across the globe, been in many 3/5 star hotels (what we call as!)/ business suites, but the hospitality here is something all above that.. I would say one of the best in class that i have ever experienced. Ever smiling and friendly staffs are seen here.
3. Accommodation & Food:
Good accommodation. Food is good too. If you are a vegan, make sure you order Goobi Manchurian & Panner kadai masala :).
4. Activities:
You have trekking, monkey crawling, tent pitching there. But if you are bugged with city life, I suggest just stay and enjoy the nature by the balcony or in the tent.
5. Getting there:
If you are travelling from Bangalore and back, make sure you take the hairpin curve(36 hairpin) which is a ghat section as the road is good and free of buses. The other road which is not so steep, is pathetic and can cost a fortune for getting your car fixed:(

Overall was a very good stay and I suppose you enjoy getting & being there.

Room Tip: Any room is good here.. Dont worry on that at all and leave it to the staff to take care:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destiny Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Farmstay

Address: Muligoor Village, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Destiny Farmstay 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Destiny Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destiny Farmstay India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destiny Farmstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.