We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome stay and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Destiny Farmstay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Destiny Farmstay to your Saves list
Destiny Farmstay
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Muligoor Village, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“awesome stay and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went to Destiny farms in the last week of July amidst all the rains but the trip was wonderful. the trip to the resort is a little tedious due to the distance from Mettupalayam as we took the train, but once you get a glimpse of the place , you forget all the journey troubles.

the rooms were clean and nice , the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, food was particularly awesome, once does not expect so much of variety in such a far away place, the property was fabulous as well.

no TV and internet in the rooms and so if you are one who cannot do without these two then you need to think but the walks on the property and other activities keep you occupied.

the library has a decent collection of books and is a good time pass.

very good stay and a definitely recommended one if you want some solitude.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our services/facilities and give complimentary comments on the same. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit in the near future.
Warm Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    101
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
182
76
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Travelled with family in August and the stay was a very overwhelming experience. The propery is away from ooty, situated close to avalanche lake and emerald lake. The location is to die for. The food was good. No issues at all. Staff was courteous. Rooms are decent and clean. Will not pick on small issues as the location just makes one forget everything. They have lot of activities for individuals and groups. N a good place for secret vacation also ;-) as no crowd to bother one. Limited mobile connectivity. Wifi in their library and some closeby area.

I will recommend this to anyone who is looking for a good time away. Not for people who want to visit all n sundry tourist places in ooty.

My year and a half kid enjoyed the sheep, ducks, cows, fish and horse experience....so cheers to the quacks, the moohs, the neighs and the baa's!!!!

Room Tip: We had standdard room on the ground floor, they are good...it has open sitout area. Each of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Destiny Farm Resort .We thank you for taking time to give your positive comments on the ambience and food of the hotel. We sincerely look forward to the privilege of serving you again.
Warm Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Booking

Well, the booking experience was seamless and the Monsoon package is a good deal.

Reaching There

The property is located in a valley and at around 35 kms from the town of Ooty. Hence, reaching there is a challenge even if you have your own vehicle as the roads are narrow, or just not there. However, the drive is very scenic. The rental or private vehicles need to park at a pickup/parking area, which also houses driver lodges. An Army pickup truck makes hourly trips to the pickup area to take guests to the main property.

The Property

The farm property is designed beautifully and is based on European designs, example, the fences. The rooms also have a colonial feel. They were not able to conduct most activities due to the rains, but for a lazy bum like me, it was a blessing as I could just put my feet up and relax.

Food

Pickup whatever you like. It's fresh and amazing.

Facilities

I liked the library the most.

Who will enjoy most?

It's not that great place for grown ups or elderly. However, if age is on your side and you like peace over touristy stuff, this is the pace to visit and stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you really want to be far from the madding crowd then the place to be is Destiny farm stay for the following reasons. (1) Superb location (2) Pleasant weather (3) Pleasing Hospitality (4) Multiple activities (5) Good Food. Plan for a stay of 2 to 3 days and on arrival get the guidance of the office staff and plan out your programme. Trekking is the highlight among all the activities. Best place to keep your family and you happy.

Room Tip: Choose room nos. 22,23 and 24 which is a bit away but has a very good sit out and a wonderful view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for taking time to give your positive comments on the ambience ,food and activities of the resort. We sincerely look forward to the privilege of serving you again.
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you like serene calm holday into the forests this is a must stay. Away from the hustle and bustle of the hill stations in India, this place boasts of a holiday that gives a truly international feel. Excellent hospitality of the General Manager Mr. K. H. Brijesh who went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and of his team. Southern courtesy at its best in an all nature surrounding with trips into the Nilgiris Jungles on horseback and treks. The farm had agricultural produce as well as domestic animals and well arranged visits.

One must be prepared to spend time at the property as Ooty and Coonoor are distant to travel to in terms of time taken to get there. In fact it was the commute that disturbed me on arrival as I was not well informed by my booking agent on the time required to get there and I was pretty quick to express my discomfort. It is at that stage that Mr. Brijesh took over and thereafter I felt like I was a personal guest to them. My opinion change 180 degrees from someone who wanted to pull up his sleeves and fight to someone who was completely bowled over by their attitude.

Five stars to the property, the activity manager, the courteous staff and the luxury offered. Commute is the only tough part but it is pardonable when one considers that it is in the jungle and they cannot change the access much due to conservation of the forests and laws on that.

Room Tip: all the rooms are very scenic and there is no need to take the higher cateogary rooms for superior v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at Destiny Farm resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the service but also the various activities our resort offered and that too after being initially taken aback due to the location of the property. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon
Regards
Guest Relations
Destiny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Destiny was a different experience all together from all my travel experiences. Follow up was excellent from the start of trip and everything (food, accommodation, services, facilities, etc all were above par). Had a good time with my family. Since it was rainy season most of the activities were not possible. But still we enjoyed a lot along with my kid. Spa also was good there. SK, Anand,Mary and all other house keeping staffs were very courteous. DJ also was good. Overall a must visit place. I will be back to destiny :)

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are good with nice views. Rainy seasons will restrict you from many activities. So plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Your kind review is very encouraging for our team.We are so glad that you enjoyed the food, accommodation and services.
Thank you and hope to see you here again soon!

Best regards,
Guest Relations
Destiny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Destiny Farmstay is one of the amazingly different resort theme that I found in my entire travel so far. Location is superb amidst the Nilgiris surrounded by lake, water stream , valleys, farms etc. You will have tons of activities to do during your entire stay over here. Very good hospitality and excellent food though the cost of the food is little bit on the higher side. Overall its a wonderful place and I want to visit the place again. One suggestion I would like to give is that, make sure the weather conditions are perfect during your visit to the place. You might miss out on few activities if the weather is bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest
We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our guests really like. We are glad you loved the location and also the food and service. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at a Littlearth Resort soon.We hope that during your next time round, the weather will be extremely favorable and you will get to do all the activities on offer :)
Regards
Guest Relations
Destiny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destiny Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Farmstay

Address: Muligoor Village, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Destiny Farmstay 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Destiny Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destiny Farmstay India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destiny Farmstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.