We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wonderful trip to Destiny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Destiny Farmstay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Destiny Farmstay to your Saves list
Destiny Farmstay
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Muligoor Village, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Our wonderful trip to Destiny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We visited Destiny in December 2012 for a couple of nights and we were a big group. It was fun and the property is well equipped with a lot of activities and interesting stuff for kids and adults alike. Fishing was great fun, horse riding was exciting, the men in our team had a good game of cricket, there was a movie being played for the kids in the afternoon, table tennis was great and the food was very good. Rooms had a very good view and we had a blast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at Destiny Farm resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you enjoyed the various activities our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon
Regards
Guest Relations
Destiny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    101
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
182
76
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We heard about this place from a friend of ours and decided to try it out. It is located in Emerald Valley, about 21 km from Ooty towards Avalanche. The property, consisting of 128 acres amongst hills and dales, is located within a forest reserve area. After crossing the small town of Emerald, the driving gets hairy with pot-holed and water-filled roads from recent rains. The resort itself cannot be approached by private vehicles as the road leading to is in forest land. So you park your car at the resort's parking lot, from where you transfer yourself and your belongings to an army truck like contraption, for the final 2km 20 minute bouncy ride to the resort. It was at this point that I got an inkling of what army troops at front lines have to endure if they are dependent on supplies coming through a mud track like this.

Fortunately, one well thought-out aspect is a staffed lounge that is present adjacent to the parking lot for the comfort of visitors with rest rooms, water, telephones to the main facility, and a menu to pre-order your lunch or dinner, while you get driven in and finish up the check-in formalities.

We had booked a luxury room in the main facility, and it was quite large and spacious with a closed balcony with a panoramic view of the adjoining hills. The furniture was old and rustic, but sturdy, and went with the overall theme of a farm and adventure resort. The room, in fact, is spacious enough to accomodate at least 4 extra beds quite comfortably. There was quite a welcoming party when we finally arrived at the resort, welcome drinks were served immediately, and check-in formalities quickly completed.

There are 2 outdoor activities directors on-site and a few activities are included in the room package that includes breakfast for 2. There was trekking, horse riding, fishing by a small pond, artificial and natural rock climbing, ziplining, trammeling, monkey crawling, outdoor camping, etc. It is a paradise for drinking in the outdoors, and kids can participate in several activities as well. There is an audio-visual room where cartoons are screened every afternoon, barbecue with a bonfire on the lawns every night, and a dance floor in the evenings as well. If the day gets rained out, you can always snuggle up in your room with hot drinks and a hot book, or enjoy the spa facilities on offer (at a price, of course).

Destiny is managed by the Little Earth group, and the menu at the restaurant seems to be exactly the same at their properties in Ooty (I stayed in Kings Cliff as well). It severs authentic Indian, Asian, and Continental cuisine.

The housekeeping staff were fast, courteous, and friendly. The rooms were clean and tidy, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Driver accommodation is provided at the main parking lot, and they are normally driven back and forth to the main facility in the army truck for their meals, or they can request it to be served at their accommodation itself. This has some logistical issues as the resort gives preference to their customers and staff for the truck trip, and drivers needs can suffer as a result of this. They need a better system to work this out and provided and ensure that basic amenities for drivers like water/tea/coffee are available at all times along with timely meals.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest
We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our guests really like. We are glad you liked our food and house keeping services and hope you enjoyed the various activities at the resort .Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at a Littlearth Resort soon
Regards
Guest Relations
Destiny Farm Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Visit to this place was long pending and finally we managed to go to this place in april.
We drove down to the resort from bangalore, drive was great.
Not much tea estates enroute as it was off season.
The last 2-3 kms stretch to their parking lot is pretty bad.
Once at the parking lot we were picked in 4WD trucks.
It is around 20 min journey to the resort.
As soon as we reached there we were served welcome drink (not so great)
then we checked into our rooms,these were standard room type.
Rooms were very spacious and great.
Well maintained. View from the room was really good. ideally if you are there after the initial rains then you can see the lake sitting in the portico, which was missing as the lake had dried out.
There are plenty of activities, we did picnic by lake/ziplining and horse riding.
it was really enjoyable. Service is great. food is good, go for a la carte.

It is very well maintained property, worth visiting in proper season.

Room Tip: all standard rooms are good, dont go for deluxe or the higher ones not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Guest Relations Executive
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts and Theme Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

super location, the drive itself is an adventure
The food is good quality but improvement needed in breakfast buffet
The service and the people are very very good, really helpful and always smiling bunch of people esp sanjay, sangwan, aditi and the manager SK, amjad
The spa is fantastically placed away from the resort at a silent secluded place, well maintained but the steam in the spa is pathetic, avoidable
lot of activities for all-kids, adults..disco nite, bonfire, karaoke nite, zip line, painting, horse riding etc etc
Their toileteries are all organic and smells beautifully
Best part is No mobile network (maybe limited) and No TV..

Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: The steam room in the spa is really really bad, avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at Destiny Farm resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you enjoyed the various activities as well as the location and ambience of the resort. We are touched that you have remembered and mentioned so many of our staff by name .Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon
Regards
Guest Relations
Destiny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Back from a wonderful vacation. The biggest advantage of the Destiny farmstay is Location, Location and Location. Its a slice of heaven and no matter how good a photographer you are, no pictures can do justice to the beauty of pristine, untouched virgin Nilgiris that surround the property. So beautiful, so pristine, so pure that I still have a hangover.. Hope this hangover stays for a long time so that I can continue to feel the fresh oxygen in my lungs :) It wont be an exaggeration to say that it almost gives a wild west ranch feel and you feel like you are in Europe. A sharp contrast to the severly commericalized Ooty, this place was just the kind of stay we wanted. Cosy, beautiful mountain landscapes, farm animals, fresh produce, adventure, relaxed, rejuvenated are some of the words that will come to your mind after staying here. My 7 years old son is very hard to please and was very upset that we were going to the mountains for the break (he is a beach buddy) but the moment he reached here, he said ,"wow, this place is beautiful." From being angry, to saying that he is having a good time to finally saying he was having FUN and a GREAT TIME, Destiny Farmstay bridged the gap very fast.

Here is a very factual evaluations with pros and cons -
Pros-
1. Location is the biggest selling point. Its surrounded by the pristine, unpolluted nilgiris and has the Emerald lake flowing nearby.
2. Its a true farmstay. lots of activities for children and adults alike. Rappling, zip lining, monkey crawling (river crawling), fishing, horse riding, children activities, craft zone etc. Almost all the activities are on chargeable basis except the horse riding during morning and evening hours.
3. You will be cut off from the rest of the world. No TV, no mobile connection, no internet. They have a wifi zone where if you are lucky, you will get mobile connection too. It might sound odd, but you will thank them that they are helping you to reconnect with your inner self sans the modern tech.
4. Rooms are nice and spacious. Bathrooms are very clean and modern. They have a sit out outside and then a patio in front of the cottage. All the rooms face the valley. You can just sit there and do nothing.
5. Professionally managed. Very courteous staff. Will like to make a special mention of Ms Aditi, Ms Buela and Mr Kareem. They ensured that our stay was comfortable.

Cons:
1. Access road to teh farmstay is very poorly made and is in need of maintenance. Also, there is a 20 minute drive to the actual farmstay from the parking slot, which can be reached only in their military style trucks. Because of the terrain and the sheer size of the truck, the ride is very uncomfortable. It will be prudent to either make the transfer in a 4 wheel drive SUV/ jeep or on horse tonga.
2. Food needs improvement. However, on the second day of our stay there was a new menu and the food that we ordered from there tasted good.
3. Kitchen team looks understaffed because they are usually delayed in filling an order.

All in all a must visit place. Its not cheap because everything is chargeable here but its one of the best. Tip - You are cut off from the rest of the world. So if your child is finicky about certain brands of eats or drinks, do stock it and bring that.

Room Tip: All the rooms have beautiful view. We stayed in Std rooms and its attached to the main building. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest
We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our guests really like. We are glad you liked the location and ambience of the farm . Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at a Littlearth Resort soon
Regards
Guest Relations
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts and Theme Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Cosy, wild west themed rooms, overwhelming mountain landscapes, clear blue skies, green valleys with blue lakes, fresh air, graceful horses and farm animals, ripe organic veggies, finger licking good food, the nicest folks – they all live in Little Earth’s, Destiny Farmstay, Avalanche. Which may seem like it is not in our country, but surprisingly easy to get to. 2.5 hours from Coimbatore and 45 mins from Ooty, this should be part of your DESTINY soon!

Recommended by a colleague, whom I am grateful to, and after my own due diligence I zeroed in on this fantastic destination. Most places go right with location, activities, decor, but score minus somewhere else, especially food. But, this place was an all-rounder and a gastronomic delight, with cuisines from across North and South India, Asian and Continental, cooked by a specialist chef who knows just how to please connoisseurs of food.

Each room has a breath-taking view and interesting name tags. Ours was Butch Cassidy and there was also a Buffalo Bill and a Calamity Jane. The place is highly recommended for family with kids as there are activities for all to do: long stretches of green meadows to play outdoor games or just stroll, the Fight Room for indoor games, a well-stocked library with books across genres, etc. So everyone is happy. The ever so sprightly, Dipkul from Himalayan Mountain Institute (HMI) is all set to give your stay that edge with his activities – zipline, monkey crawling, trekking, camping by the lake, fishing, etc. The team at Destiny were very hospitable, always looking out for us throughout our stay. The Unwind Spa has to be a tick when your there. I took the Sea Salt Body Scrub…Rejuvenation!

The Ooty Nilgiris is still beautiful, but if you want something much more and not the run of the mill, you should visit Destiny Farmstay. And you can live the ‘home on the range’ life… “oh give me a home where the buffalo roam...where seldom is heard a discouraging word. And the skies are not cloudy all day.”

Room Tip: All the standard rooms have the same view and are good.But if are either a large family or want a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Reservations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and interesting review on Destiny .You really seem to have got the exact flavor of what we have to offer at Destiny and that really means a lot to us. So glad that you enjoyed the food , service and activities that the resort had to offer.The staff at Destiny will be really happy to receive your note of appreciation.
We look forward to welcoming you very shortly at either Destiny or one of our our properties
Thanks and Regards
Meeta
Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went for a weekend trip to Destiny Farms and would like to mention that the experience was totally awesome ! Right from the sceinic beauty, activities and the hospitality, everything was great.The only thing that the management should try to improve is their restaurant service and the food.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with kids, book the luxury rooms. The standard rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Guest Relations Executive
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts and Theme Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destiny Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Farmstay

Address: Muligoor Village, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Destiny Farmstay 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Destiny Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destiny Farmstay India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destiny Farmstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.