We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable farm stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Destiny Farmstay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Destiny Farmstay to your Saves list
Destiny Farmstay
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Muligoor Village, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
“A memorable farm stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a very beautiful place. Spending time there was a great experience. The place offers good scenic views and we enjoyed trekking around. Would have also loved to extend our stay! The restaurant is awesome.
Only criticism is regarding the ventilation in the rooms. It can be made better. Barring that, all in all a memorable experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    101
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
183
76
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is easily one of the most beautiful resorts one would see. The entire place has been so tastifully done that anyone would believe if I labelled the pictured as a landscape in Switzerland. However that is where my positives unfortunately stopped. The rooms that were shown to me were not up to the mark. If I am paying the price I was paying, I expected to see much cleaner rooms. The restaurant was a bigger let down. In spite of it being a farm stay, the menu did not mention anything made from the fresh produce. The restaurant was dirty and the service was ordinary.

Room Tip: The new block is much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, General Manager at Destiny Farmstay, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest
Thanks for posting your review of your stay at Destiny and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location!!
Let me begin by apologizing for your stay not being satisfactory or up to the mark. You have given us specific points that we have failed your expectations on and we have made a note of each one of them. We will definitely pull up our socks on all the aspects you have mentioned. Do come back and stay with us at Destiny and allow us to leave you with a more positive impression of the place.
Kind Regards,
Jeffrey Kendall
General Manager Sales & Marketing
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts & Theme Hotels,
E-mail:jeff@littlearth.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A place is far far away from the city that looks like heaven. This is one of the most romantic places I have been to. I had been to Destiny in June 2011 along with my husband.
Initially we had decided to stay there for 4 nights. But the place, people and food forced us to extend our stay. Its over a 100 acres and almost everything looks picture perfect. The view from the room is out of the world.
The best thing about this place is that there is no TV and no mobile network. And still there are a lot of things you can do. You can go fishing, horse riding, wall climbing etc. There are many small and beautiful lakes around this place. And there are very nice people (Bhaskar & Vishal) to attend to every need. Also, the food in the restaurant tastes yum.

If you are looking for an awesome place to spend time with your spouse / family / friends, this is THE PERFECT PLACE.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view. The rooms on the top floors are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

About 30Km from Ooty, a few km from Emerald Dam, is this amazing treasure trove. Nestled between verdant hills, snuggled next to a lake, is a farm that has stables, cows that provide milk, fields that provide the vegetables, poultry, sheep, geese, fish etc. The views are incredible on the eyes for us city folks. It is quite unbelieveable that there still are such pristine places left in India. Perhaps I should keep this secret to myself. :-)

Our kid loved the rock climbing, monkey crawling over the pond, horse-riding, feeding the animals, watching the milking and playing over the safe campus. The parents actually have time to relax! There are bonfires and dances, and the play room and library. Despite the fact there are a lot more activities than I named here (zoomering and lord knows what other new fangled stuff), the place has a really dreamy feel about it, like everyone's taking a well-deserved nap.

It is obvious that a great deal of thought, and attention has gone into the care of this property. This group always has great chefs at their various properties. But I was very impressed by the staff they had at this site. They have Dr. Brijesh and some good management putting in some real effort to make this place thrive and it certainly is thriving. And as a parent, it is with gratitude that I compliment the owner on picking very mature instructors with whom I felt completely safe leaving my kid for even the most perilous mountaineering activities.

Kudos!

Room Tip: The luxury rooms seem to have the fire places which you definitely need in winter and these are much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Amazing location, tucked away in the Avalanchi valley, beautiful 100+acre estate and nice rooms. NO TV, which is a big bonus in our book.

Great experience for kids and adults to reconnect with nature and the farm life, with sprawling vegetable farms and herb farms with opportunities for hands-on farming activities, stables offering riding tours around the large estate, fishing and trekking.

Fun adventure sports as well, with zip-lining, rappelling, rock climbing and other activities on offer.

Go for a proper destination holiday with family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights during Divali : it is a remarkable experience. From Coimbatore it is a 3 hour drive to Ooty and from there 1 hour to the parking lot. A 4x4 pick you up for the last 2km stretch which can be very bumpy but you can easily walk it, when it is not too muddy. At arrival I got 2 girlandes of flowers. I had a lovely large luxurious room with view on the lake and the mountains. On the room complimentary bottles of water and juices + water boiler for coffee and tea. The kingsize bed is great, attached to my room was a verandah with 2 leisure chairs. there is no desk, if you would like to work. It is extremely quiet, you are really in the nature with cows, horses and large agricultural fields with fresh beans, carrots, potatoes. There is no TV and internet only at the reception area. The breakfast and dinners are great with Indian and Continental food: choice from Thai, Italian or other with salads, soups. At breakfast fresh homemade jam. The staff is very helpful and always smiling. You go there to relax and rewind.In the morning hikes are organised and during the day there are various activities. The SPA is great and the place to rewind: the oil massage was great.

Room Tip: Luxury room is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We reached Destiny farmstay with lots of expectations after reading the reviews on-line & based on our previous stay experience at Sherlock Holmes but we were in for sheer disappointment. While the experience with service & food were good, the whole place needs a face lift in terms of basic infrastructure. I was booked into a Deluxe double room and when the room was opened up for us, it was stinking due to a drainage leakage and smelling musty but with a drop dead view of the valley below. Based on the complaint, 2 housekeeping staff attended to the bathroom immediately but i was not feeling comfortable as the bathroom door was without a latch,the hinges coming off & the stinking smell not completely gone. Hence, i changed to a luxury room but things were not better there as well with the latches on the main door missing, hinges of the wardrobe not working, latches on the bathroom door missing etc. There was nothing much i could do as it was late into the evening & decided to tolerate the inconveniences. I was booked for 2 nights but we decided to check out after 1 night as i was feeling spooky about the whole thing and the hotel charged me for 2 nights anyway without any remorse. Also their card swipe machine was not working & we had to literally empty out our purses to settle the bill in cash. One thing is for sure, the Little Earth group has a fantastic property & if the group could give some more attention to the maintenance of whole infrastructure, it would be a wonderful experience. Overall a very disappointing experience

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destiny Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Farmstay

Address: Muligoor Village, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Destiny Farmstay 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Destiny Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destiny Farmstay India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destiny Farmstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.