We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway to The Nilgiris” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Destiny Farmstay

Save Saved
You added Destiny Farmstay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Destiny Farmstay
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Muligoor Village, Ooty 643001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 74 Specialty lodging in Ooty
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway to The Nilgiris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were looking for getaway to the Nilgiris and were not very keen on the usual tourist places in ooty, so went further into the hills and valleys.
And what an experience it turned out to be!!! The farmstay is near Avalanche dam around 22kms from ooty . It was a bit difficult to find the place but we had the detailed roadmap sent by the hotel after reservation. The last 3-4 kms of road was really different. From the Parking place to the resort ( 2kms of Forest road) you have to go on 4X4 army truck provided by the resort.But once you reach Destiny , you realize that its worth the pain. The landscape is just amazing with a valley and lakes. The farm has around 10-11 horses, cattle, spa, BBQ , fishing pond, vegetable and flowers plantations etc.
There are lot of activities included like Trekking , horse riding, fishing , Bon fire, musical night etc which you will find very enjoyable.
The restaurant is a decent one serving Indian, Chinese and continental . They don t serve drinks. Now the rooms, all the rooms have same view , have a viewing deck. The standard rooms didn t have heaters or fireplaces. The place is located in a valley and it gets windy and chilly quite often. We got one room heater which was chargeable . The rooms are decent but still can be improved, at least we found a bucket in the toilet which was not looking very clean. Overall rooms and service can be improved but the location and the overall farm experience makes up for it.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same view , luxury rooms are equipped with fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    88
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
156
66
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

It was a special moment for more than one reason. I was turning 34 and spending the day with my wife for the first time after our marriage recently. One of my friends had visited the Destiny Farmstay last year and I have been waiting to go since.

I usually pick up the phone and call my now trusted Vacation Planners, Indus Outback Experience. I picked what I believed was a good package at Destiny Farmstay, the Monsoon Package. It was after all the Off-Season and people usually head to this part of the world in summer. We didn't make too much of it, packed some warm clothes and hit the road. I had the Map from the web site and with the good 'ol navaigation skills we reached the point where the directions take you to Avalanche in Ooty. The place is 25kms. from the Ooty Bus Stand and it takes 90 mins....why? Well, coz you are heading deeper in to the forest area in no man's land and in no man's land, nobody cares if you are arriving in a Mustang. On a serious note, the roads are pretty pathetic. And that actually works in Destiny's favor...how? Read on...

If your car has survived up to the point where you can park your car at Destiny's Parking lot, give yourself a pat...actually give yourself a short massage coz you are about to now climb in to a discarded Military truck that will take you up to the resort through the most painful ride of your life for another 2kms. Once you reach the spot however, you are truly in another world....the stuff made for poets, if you like. This is where it all begins, the thrill of living the farm life and the not-so-thrilling price that comes with it.

I'm just gonna try and fast-forward from here. The location is fabulous, the fresh air every morning is nothing like I have ever experienced. The staff is a combination of people from North-East and the locals. The North-East chaps are pretty friendly and you can strike a good conversation in Hindi or English. If you do not know Tamil, chatting up with the locals is not easy. The range of activities includes the ones that are complimentary like Fishing (it's ridiculous that you can do that only in the morning from 9:30 to 11), Horse-rising (girls like horses...you know) and Monkey-Crawling (best part). Then there are paid ones and honestly I don't know what was so great about the Zipline which lasts for 15secs for 250/- bucks. You also get the 30-Minute head massage complimentary...

Now comes the part which I truly believe is a the low light from the trip. The food, that wether you like it or not (we liked it btw...) comes from the expensive Restaurant. The Average Price for an items starts with 250/- bucks and you are very likely to get a bill of not less than 700/- bucks for 3 items off the Menu for a single meal. The quantity is nothing to boast about. If you happen to have snacks with hot drinks (which obviously you will need at 10 degress weather) your daily bill for Lunch/Dinner and Snacks runs up to a really cool 1500/- I must amdit the B'fast was really good with lots of choices and they do not cut corners simply coz it's complimentary. Oh! did you just realize why the horrible drive up and down works in the favor of Destiny? Yea...you are STUCK!

We had a blast for the 3 days we stayed there and did most of fun activities and had nice long walks up and down the estate and simply could not stop marvelling at the location. It was time to check-out and we saw what I thought was the reason why customer service is still catching up in India. On our final bill..there was Room Service charge of 120/-...this was apparently when we were "offered" (we did not ask) for our food to be brought to our room on Day 1 when our backbones where settling in pace after that god-forbidden drive up the jungle.

Anyway, I think I tried to be resonable in my review and offer other fellow travellers an insight in to what you should do or do not if you happen to plan a visit 2200mtrs. above sea-level. Have a good one!

Safe Travels.

Room Tip: Choose the Standard Rooms...easy on the pocket, close to the restaurant, business center with compli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We happened upon Destiny Farms while browsing the net for a place to spend a couple of days and then we remembered that a friend had stayed here about two years ago. The place takes your breath away, if you love nature then this is the place for you to visit. NATURE in her finest garb. We had visited Ballestrand Norway last year in the summer, it was gorgeous and when we saw Destiny early in the morning with the mountains draped in mist, we felt we were back in Ballestrand. Imagine a mix of, a bit of Norway,a bit of Ireland, a bit of Scotland and you have Destiny Farms in India.
There are plenty of walks and since it is in the hills, all walks are uphill and downhill. There is a beautiful stream tucked away behing a hillock and as you walk along you come upon it rather suddenly, it takes your breath away.
The Farm and the Resort is run very professionally,with qualified staff.
The accommodation is excellent and the food very very good. They have a mix of Continental, Chinese and Indian and for each, they have separate trained Chefs. The prices are very real and the rooms are also well priced.
The service is truly great. The biggest advantage they have is their staff who are friendly, helpful and most importantly they seem to be very happy with their job, they are always happy and smiling -- a tribute to Vijay Prabhu the owner, as the staff have only glowing statments to make about their BOSS.
The farm is an hours drive from Ooty and the road is fine until one turns away from the Emerald township. This road needs to be looked at rather seriously by the local authorities. Destiny really needs a good approach road. You park your vehicle in the Destiny car park and move into a Destiny vehicle. Once inside you get a feel of what JAILBIRDS have to endure when being transported from the courthouse to the Prisons. Good experience if you do not mind being thrown from one end of the vehicle to another. There are no seat belts and the last half hour ride is very very bumpy. Seat belts are now compulsory in India so I wonder how Destiny is going to manage that one. Persons with arthritis can get their joints well loosened travelling in this vehicle and on this road.
HOWEVER once you arrive at Destiny everything is forgotten because the place transports you elsewhere entirely.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perintalmanna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Destiny was simply fantastic. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. The food was varied and delicious. The facilities were great,particularly the activities area. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The location was superb. Definately a must do.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Destiny Farmstay is the best way to enjoy the Nilgiris...tucked away in the the most spectacular parts of the Nilgiris away from the touristy spots. Excellent Food, and accomodations with lots to do and enjoy. Definately a must do.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

About an hour away from Ooty (and a 3 hr drive from nearest airport Coimbatore), Destiny Farms is a piece of heaven on earth. Picture perfect and right in the lap of nature, it is the perfect family getaway, weekend with friends, or if you need to just get out of the rat race that consumes us city folks.
As soon as you enter the farm, you are transported into an alternate world thats green, peaceful and calm. The views from the farm (360 degree) take your breath away!
The rooms are lined such that all get the same view so don't fuss too much about the rooms. All rooms have en-suite bathroom and a pvt sit out. They are well maintained and spacious enough for a couple or a small family. We had booked 3 rooms in a row and loved the stay.
The food is fresh, tasteful and served in a restaurant with a great view. There's plenty of activities for the kids (horse riding, trip to dairy farm, play room, activity area, fish pond etc etc).. Evenings, the farm organizes bon fires for families to get together and socialise a bit.
COme and stay here for at least 2-3 days to really enjoy the farm.
Tip- Go for the morning trek they organise for a very basic fee. Its well worth the huffs n puffs!!

Watchout- the last 30 mins is a very rough drive. You need to park your vehicles a few kilometers away from the property after which 4WD or army trucks take you to the property through a pretty rough terrain. Quite adventurous and fun if you have kids above 2-3 yrs age and no old or sick people.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view, a private sit out and ensuite bathrooms with hot/cold water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Out of all the hotels we were scheduled to stay at on our roadtrip, we were most excited and looking forward to this one. After all, how often does one get to stay at a farm with various farm animals, gorgeous scenery, loads of activities, adventurous access road, amazing continental food, et al (all gleaned from previous Tripadvisor reviews)? And this place did not disappoint on any count.

The drive to the farm, or to be precise, to the parking lot of the farm, was every bit as bone-crunching and gasp-inducing as we expected. And our aches disappeared just as quickly as we were promised once we reached Destiny and took in the scene. Its nothing short of a mirage in the midst of absolutely virgin territory. And the views! Valleys, a pond with ducks, quaint and charming wooden buildings, farm animals and cattle grazing on the hillside...

We had a luxury room in a charming end of the resort. Large, clean with a fireplace and a separate sitting area. The large verandah outside afforded majestic views of, what else, the valleys! When we arrived in the afternoon we were surprised that the room had neither an AC nor a fan. The reason became apparent after sunset...it was freezing cold, right in the middle of the Indian summer! We had to ask for the fireplace to be lit which the kids loved.

The reception and lobby area are done up in warm wood with comfortable couches and a fireplace in the centre. The eclectic artwork on the walls adds a unique charm to the place. The restaurant affords beautiful views and serves surprisingly good food. I say "surprisingly" good because one does not expect to find such authentic continental fare in this remote location. And the service is very good...all the staff we interacted with were warm, ever smiling, good communicators and always willing to help.

The activities include horse-riding (more like a walk around a small park on a horse), a visit to the dairy processing unit (big hit with my kids), bonfire and a host of adventure activities.

While I would (and already have) highly recommend this place to friends, I couldn't help but feel that it was overpriced. For what was essentially a back-to-basics experience, I did not expect to pay prices at par with star rated city hotels. For rooms which, though beautiful, were fairly basic. But then, I guess the basics do come at a steep price nowadays! My recommendation is to go for a day, just for a different stay experience. Go for longer only if you are craving peace and quiet...

Room Tip: The new wing, though farther away from the restaurant block, has much larger rooms and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Destiny Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Farmstay

Address: Muligoor Village, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 Specialty lodging in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Destiny Farmstay 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Destiny Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destiny Farmstay India/Ooty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destiny Farmstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.